We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, noisy: best avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pettistree B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I don't want to be too harsh, but this place was awful. The "reception" was like an inquisition: I was told off for not telling them we had a dog (even though they describe themselves as dog friendly) and a huge fuss was made because we had booked an upstairs room not a downstairs room (er, I wasn't given the choice with my online booking ...?)

Anyway, the impossible situation with the dog ~ who wasn't allowed anywhere near the dining room ~ was resolved when I picked her up and carried her to our room, so as not to touch any part of the floor (even though she was allowed to sit under our table while we ate).

I was then told off for booking a family room and it was strongly hinted that we wouldn't use the second bed. Um, why not? We'd paid for it. I was then told I'd booked for 2 adults and a child ~ oh, that would be for the imaginary child that I have, silly me. There's something definitely wrong with the online booking, so you might be best to phone instead of booking online.

Our room looked nice and clean at first glance, but:
- the mattresses were the cheapest thinnest ones you could buy, and didn't even fit the bedframe. Horribly uncomfortable
- the pillows are about an inch thick and offer no support at all
- there's a dog kennels next door, so we were kept up all night by barking howling dogs
- our room was above a generator, which made a horrendous noise all night too
- the TV was hopeless because it buzzed so loudly you couldn't hear your programme
- the room hadn't been cleaned since the last guests (or ever?) because there was dirty cutlery and an old nightgown in the chest of drawers
- there was still brick dust behind the TV from when the wires were put in

EATING
The food was OK, it was edible but overpriced for what it was. For the same price you could get a superb ham ploughmans at Emmett's in nearby Peasenhall, or instead go up the road to The Greyhound Inn.
The dining room hasn't been hoovered in months, so don't look at the carpets if you're eating there: our dog was chewing something on the floor, and when I looked closer, there were dozens of dead flies and woodlice on the carpet, plus what looked suspiciously like mouse droppings. There was a thick layer of dust on the skirting boards too.

I don't like leaving bad reviews, but this place was just awful, and I resent having given them £60. We only booked there because we needed to be refreshed for an event the next morning. As it was, we got zero sleep and would've been better off camping.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Awkward_Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

The bed was like sleeping on a plank of MDF and it was the cloest rendition of faulty towers there is. It was ok, but could do a lot, lot better. The breakfast was ok but please have a decent coffee machine and not Nescafé sachets....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nprescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We only booked the week before and were simply looking for a base for a couple of nights. On arrival, around 6 pm we were shown to our room (room 2). It was on the small side but perfectly adequate for what we wanted and what we paid. Twin beds, comfy mattresses, duvets. The whole room was clean and comfy. One small downside, the TV screen was VERY high up involving a crick in the neck to watch. Breakfast was fine. Choice of 4 cereals, fruit juice, full English, toast and preserves. Bit disappointing that the tea was help yourself from and urn type, but was OK. Dogs in the adjacent boarding kennels noticeable during the day but didn't hear anything at all at night.
We would come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked one night in the Three Tuns when we found difficulty finding a room for a last-minute weekend tour of Suffolk. It sounded reasonable enough and appeared reasonable enough from the road. But once having paid and been shown to our room, we seriously considered walking out, with or without a refund. If there are two of you, avoid Room 10 -- it is supposed to be a double but clearly should be a single. The room was just wide enough to accommodate a double bed pushed up against one wall. There was no place to hang any clothing, except a meager hook on the back of the bathroom door (no hangars either). The mattress was comfortable enough, but was set up on what looked like a home-made divan that made terrible creaking noises every time one of us moved. The inn is next door to a boarding kennel, so don't plan on sleeping during the day, though the dogs are shut in at night and it is quiet then. We were regularly disturbed by the sound of a door banging in the wind; it took a while to locate it and it was a gate into a small yard at the rear of the kitchen. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. The coffee on offer was instant from those little packages you usually get in the room (there were some in the room), the tea was likewise just a teabag -- fill your cup with hot water and drop in a tea bag. There were four types of cereal available, but if you like "healthy" choices there weren't any. Juice was just juice from a litre brick, nothing special. We asked for poached eggs and were told there was only "full English breakfast" -- so we had fried eggs on toast (we're not really "full English" eaters). Afterwards I wondered what her response would have been to a request for scrambled eggs, as I understand that some cooks are afraid of trying poaching eggs, though if you run a restaurant, surely that is a simple skill worth acquiring? We felt that the staff didn't care and really couldn't be bothered. Yet clearly they must, as the place showed signs of recent refurbishment. I'd suggest that the owners/managers go visit a few other places and see how it CAN be done. A bit of effort could make this a reasonable place.

Room Tip: If you need a double room, be sure it is a double. Our room, and I suspect one or two others, are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laukel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

rooms very clean and tidy
overall could not complain friendly staff nice place to stay for a couple of nights food good just needs a few small tweaks on the food front good English breakfast shame they had run out of mushrooms and seem to only have one tomato between 4 people the food in the attached pub the night before was excellent and the selection of drinks available was good would go back if i was in the area again so all in all would say a good place for a couple of nights at a fair price and a good location

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseablueRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked via Booking.com from Australia on 6/4/12. We arrived on June 13th to be told no sign of a booking & hotel was full. In fairness they did make up an old room, back of the bar up some narrow stairs, but we slept on portable cots & had to share a bathroom with 2 other rooms.They gave us this for free. We ate dinner in dining room, big mistake, underdone salmon & soggy spinach, gave breakfast a miss.
We had a bad experience, but price was good for the room we thought we were going to get & staff helpful & apologetic.

Room Tip: Check to make sure they have your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veedee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My partner and I recently stayed for two nights mid-week. We had a discount rate and consider it good value for money. Two minus marks: a) The bathroom floor could do with a good bleaching and b) We could feel every spring in the mattress.
In addition, in order for the room to be cleaned, you have to put the 'Please clean the room' notice on the door handle.
Breakfast was excellent but, as there is no menu, you have to explain to the waiter exactly which items you require, e.g. Toast, egg, bacon, sausage, beans, mushroom and tomato.
We had dinner one night and consider the food good quality very good and at a reasonable price.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the general ambiance is one of warmth and comfort. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 3 Tuns Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Tuns Coaching Inn

Address: Main Road, Pettistree, Woodbridge IP13 0HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Pettistree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pettistree
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Tuns Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfortable hotel in midst rural Suffolk. Short distances to Ipswich or the coastal towns of Aldeburgh, Southwold or Walberswick. Our bar is stocked with local ales and our restaurant provides a wide selection of traditional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 3 Tuns Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Tuns
The Three Tuns Hotel Pettistree
3 Tuns Coaching Inn Pettistree, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing