We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best choice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Basque - CLOSED

Auberge Basque
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had been looking forward to this restaurant but sadly the food and service were not the best we experienced during our stay in France. The atmosphere and outside seating were nice, but the service was quite erratic, and some of the dishes poorly cooked. It was expensive for the quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLovelyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place To Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have been meaning to eat here for quite a number of years and never quite got around to it but I am glad that we finally did because we had a very pleasant lunch. The food is very much Basque themed which means it has a touch of Spain about it. The house red wine was from Navarra in the Spanish Basque country, and was very good with a well rounded flavour although it was more expensive than most house wines at 5 Euros for 25 cl. The food portions are very generous and although the prices are a little on the high side they are comparable for the surrounding area and I would say that they are worth it for a special occasion. We did choose to eat full menus one at 20 and one at 24 Euros and they were good value for money. One main course dish would be plenty for a lighter and less expensive meal. Service was polite, helpful and efficient and the food was extremely tasty. We left feeling pleasantly relaxed and full of good things. The terrace is shady and comfortable and all in all I would recommend this restaurant for a taste of Basque food. If you like squid try the chipirones with chorizo. It was delicious and extremely tender, no chewy rubber rings here! The chocolate mousse with piment d'Espelette (Basque chili powder) was truly memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Service was good, friendly and quick, the food was very average.
I would have liked a wider choice on the menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I visited the place with my family last august. We had to wait extremely long, almost an hour for the food. starters were ok, main dish of veal chop was good, a dish of lamb chops eas very bad. the meat was smelling of old meat, very bad.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sergej s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Returned to St-Antonin Noble Val 15 years after our last holiday there, the town appeared to be very run down and as it was getting late for lunch we happened across the Auberge Basque. How lucky for us the, menu du midi was excellent, the service was superb. Would recommend this restaurant highly

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dujaks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge Basque also viewed

Varen, Saint-Antonin Noble Val
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
 
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, Tarn-et-Garonne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing