We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of La Madelene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malaucene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Madelene
Ranked #3 of 10 Malaucene B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spent what was one of the highlights of our France trip at La Madelene. The renovated old building (rectory if memory serves) has kept its old world charm despite being quite modern and fashionable. The summer breakfasts under the trees were wonderful, the rooms and views great, and the service and assistance from the hosts perfect. We didnt take any wine tours, but used the b&b as a base to explore the lovely surrounding towns and scenery. Our 1.5 year old daughter came with us, and aside from the stairs, had a lot of fun too. The pool is great for summer lazing.

The only downside was not having access to a communal kitchen, but do not think this is hnormally offered at this type of establishment anyway. (access to a fridge was provided)

This is a very popular area for cycling, and great for running too (if you get up early enough to miss the heat)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geppetto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Gorgeous old farmhouse run by charming English couple. Beautifully furnished rooms with all the mod-cons, luxurious bathroom, breath-taking views. Fresh breakfasts served on the terrace. Great pool with views of the countryside. Excellent location - close to Le Barroux, Carpentras, and easy to get to Avignon. Stunning country walks / bike rides are a must. Highly recommend and would definitely go back. Perfect for families, couples, and groups of friends.

Room Tip: No fitness centre or room service available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkadots61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

From start to finish, La Madelene and Rhone Wine Tours were exceptional. Philip and Jude are hosts extraordinaire. There website is comprehensive, with Philip keeping on top of everything from our initial contact with utmost organisation, from transport to and from the Avignon TGV to the well chosen wineries on the tour. Everything was classy and top notch. Jude is an amazing cook and hostess. Philip is very knowledgable about the wines of the region.

Everything in the wine tour was included, from the beautiful breakfasts of fresh fruit, muesli, yoghurt and French breads and pastries to our picnic lunch in Vincent Rochette's beautiful biodynamic vineyard, our lunch and dinner at scenic local restaurants and Jude's wonderful dinners paired with Philip's exceptional wines.

The home is beautifully appointed with fine furniture and amenities...towels, soap, spacious shower, comfortable bed, large room, garden views, large pool and overall tranquility.

Philip kept us to a well-paced schedule at the wineries. We started and ended on time, with time to relax before dinner. He and Jude work very hard to provide the best for all of their guests. To say anything less would be selling them short.

My three nights at La Madelene were too short. I would like to return to this beautiful place to further experience the Southern Rhône.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CalEuroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Olive, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Thank you Phillip and Jude for hosting our group of two couples for four nights including the wine tour in June. What an incredible, multi-sensory experience! The wine tour (eight winery visits + two outstanding dinners at La Madelene, a picnic lunch at Bertrand Stehelin's winery, a lunch at the Pope's summerhouse ruins, breakfasts on the patio under a big tree, and a lovely dinner at the Pont de Ormes restaurant.) Our wine tour group ended up being 12 people total (thanks to Phillip allowing my husband and me to join the group at a later date), and what a lovely group it ended up being. This sort of place attracts people who are there to expand their knowledge of wine, enjoy French cuisine, and meet others who are doing the same. Jude and Phillip are attentive and gracious hosts who exceed your expectations in every way. We hope to return!

Room Tip: There is not a fitness center, but you can walk, run, and bike the whole area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiamaria865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I titled my review as hesitation for a selfish reason! la Madelene is a something I do not wish to share except with those that were there when I was. The big house is truly amazing and beautiful. Phillip and Jude went beyond description as host and hostess. The wine experience was both informative and intoxicating. The delicious meals by hostess and local restaurants, with pleasant company were outstanding! There wasn't one moment I didn't feel so very fortunate! we enjoyed this time with our friends and were delighted to meet new ones. We've traveled a lot, this is one of my top! Jackie

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiedomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Dear fellow travel colleague.
First things first: We spent a Yoga week in La Madelene with the best yoga teacher in the world who is simultaneously a rock star: Dawn Lintern - check out her classes in London. Second: Jude & Philip who run La Madelene are the kindest, most professional, helpful, well organised hosts and the cooking is a combination of Nigella, Otto, and others but in fact much better, it is simply Jude! Third: the location and the beautiful old and remote farmhouse - charming, simple but with beautiful decor let alone a brilliant old juke box safely stored away in the kitchen, so it is quiet and serene, but if you like, you could have a spontaneous boogie after a dip in the lovely pool, after playing boule or after cycling, hiking, sight seeing in the surrounding area, wine tasting. Fourth: if you think that is all: wrong. Philip is a somelier and knows all the fantastic domaines in the area who produce great wine. He is more than happy to organise well informed tours for you and he can recommend good wine to take home from your holidays. This is a place where you can make the world stop and start again, perfection. Enjoy the silences, the snail races, the poppy fields, the fresh cherries from the trees and very important, you can sleep furiously in very good beds for long hours.
Henriette

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrietteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I've been a delinquent on this but I owe it to our hosts at La Madelene to finally say a few words. My wife and I visited last year about this time and had an amazing one day and night stay (I really wish we had stayed longer). Philip and Jude hosted a fantastic dinner for us when we arrived, and at the time a couple of their friends were visiting as well - this led to a very entertaining evening of wine, food, and conversation. The following day Philip gave a tour to just the two of us and so we got a very personal look at some of the wineries in the area as well as an unforgettable lunch at a restaurant on top of a hill near an old bombed-out castle. Book this if your time and their schedule allows it!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malaucene
3.4 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
42 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel La Bastide
Hotel La Bastide
#6 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
15 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Geraniums
Les Geraniums
#2 of 2 in Le Barroux
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madelene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madelene

Property: La Madelene
Address: Route d Entrechaux, 84340 Malaucene, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Malaucene
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malaucene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential RHONE WINE TOURS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing