We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perect long weekend”
Review of La Madelene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Madelene
Ranked #3 of 10 Malaucene B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We are 4 couples sitting at Marseilles airport reflecting on the last 3 days. There is 100% agreement in the group; this was the perfect long weekend. We are all well-travelled, but Jude and Philip took us by storm. A late arrival on Wednesday did not stop Judy from serving a 5 star dinner with Philip's excellent wine choices. From that point on, until we left on Saturday, the quality remained at top level.
La Medelene is a stunning place in a beautiful setting. The rooms are all renovated to top standard. Jude continued to serve fantastic meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philip guided us to 8 wineries, all carefully selected to give us the full flavor of the variety among wine producers. From Philip, we learned more about wine than we have ever done before. On top of all this, Jude and Philip did everything they could possibly do to ensure that we had a comfortable stay.
We are all entering flight LH 1089 with big smiles in our faces.
From the group: Jude and Philip, thank you so much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

I am sitting here in our next location - an apartment in Bordeaux - reflecting back on our four fabulous nights at La Madelene. This was my first wine tour, and I certainly started at the top. Philip knows everything about wine and was happy to share his knowledge with the rest of us. Jude is a fantastic cook and hostess and was kind enough to accommodate my request for near-vegan food.
An example of their hospitality - we arrived too late to have dinner in town, tired and hungry. Jude immediately fixed a quick dinner of the best bread, cheese and salad I have ever had. On our last night there, my husband broke out one of his bottles of Chateau d'Yquem and Jude, with little notice, researched which desserts would be the perfect pairing.

Our days there flew by much too quickly. I cannot recommend La Madelene, and Rhone Wine Holidays, highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. And they're all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

La Madelene, Rhone Wine Holidays, and Philip and Jude are everything written in the reviews and MORE! It was hard to believe that they delivered on every point noted on their sites with perfection. The La Madelene was an ideal setting for a relaxing stay, just like visiting old friends, The dinners that Jude prepared were outstanding and wine selection top end. We will be requesting some of the recipes for sure. The Rhone Wine Holidays tours to wineries were better than expected with owners (or sons or daughters) greeting us and showing us around each winery and taking us thru their wine tastings. A perfect mix of small to larger wineries made for very interesting contrasts in both ownership, wine making, and their wines. Most of the wineeries would be impossible to get into without Philip.The lunches between our winery visits were well chosen and delicious. If not for some rain, the lunches would have been extra perfect with patios overlooking the valleys and mountains available to us. Philip is the wine expert everyone knows and respects (and who we would all love to be) while Jude creates the perfect home, food, and hospitality to make a wonderful stay. More could be said on all the small but important details from breakfast to appetizers and wine before dinners but I will stop here with a large thank you to Philip and Jude.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The highlight of a recent trip to France was a stay at La Madalene which included visits to a great cross section of southern Rhone wineries and a great education of the wines in this region. We were totally impressed with the lovely, comfortable rooms and our friendly accommodating hosts, Phillip and Jude. Each meal prepared by Jude was exquisite, elegant and paired with Phillip's excellent selection of wines. We were totally impressed with everything during our stay at La Madalene. Expect wonderful if you go there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Last year my wife and I organized a yoga retreat at La Madelene. With the wonderful support of our hosts Jude and Philip this turned for our guests and us in a magnificent experience. The rooms are tastefully designed and equipped with contemporary amenities and give this centuries old building new glamor. Surrounded by orchards and vineyards and beautiful large trees you indeed feel like in paradise. The Yoga Classes took place either on a large wooden deck adjacent to the building or on a lawn right beside the pool. The friendly reception and warm hospitality of our hosts, their open ears for any request were further key elements to make this stay memorable. But - and now speaks the food and wine lover in me, what convinced me the most of La Madelene's quality, was the continuously outstanding quality of the provided meals and beverages. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were indeed feast for the senses and exceeded my high expectations. I'm so happy that we managed to organize another stay at "La Madelene" this September again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individual style and great quality. The beds are very comfortable and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

SUMMARY
Our “3 Night Wine Tour” at La Madelene was nothing short of spectacular. It was everything we had hoped for and more. Philip and Jude could not be more gracious hosts. The property is lovely with huge, well appointed rooms. The setting in the Provencal countryside is beautiful. We ate like kings throughout the journey. The quality of wineries visited and access to the proprietors and winemakers was unparalleled. If you love wine tasting and touring, this experience should not be missed. And if you love Rhone style wines in particular - as we do - prepare to drink a lot of outstanding wine.

HOSPITALITY
We can’t say enough about Philip and Jude and how hard they work to make your trip special. Every detail of your visit is well planned and laid out for you. Yet you don’t feel like you are being served, so much as you are staying with old friends and enjoying a great visit. This is a truly proper B & B experience. Every meal is well provided. The best part of the journey is sitting at the table having a wonderful time with new friends while eating a great meal and sampling the fantastic wines that Philip has chosen for you.

THE PROPERTY
La Madelene is in a great spot. The countryside in the south of France is torn from a storybook. The drive from Avignon out to La Madelene was a revelation. Each time you look out the window of the car you see a landscape painting you might have on the wall of your home. The house itself is set among orchards and farmlands and still holds every bit of its 12th century charm. It is easy to visualize the monks tending the land around the property.
However, the rooms are spacious and luxurious, with large, modern bathrooms. Our room was very large with a separate retreat with a lounge and desk. The bathroom boasted a walk-in shower with a rain style shower head and a separate wand. Water pressure and heat were excellent.

THE FOOD
Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in the 3 night wine tour…and oh my, they may well have called this the 3 night food tour. Between the excellent restaurants we visited for lunch each day and dinner one night, and Jude’s own excellent cooking, we were extremely spoiled. My wife and I consider ourselves “Foodies” and we have eaten at great restaurants both at home and abroad. But never have we had the occasion to eat such consistently good food for three days in a row. Further, lunch and dinner each night were greatly enhanced by Philip’s excellent wine choices. The welcome and farewell dinners at La Madelene’s table were both nights to remember.

WINE TOUR
If the wine is the only thing you care about in booking your trip, then this is the right choice for you. Philip knows his stuff and has forged great relationships with many of the top vignerons in the Southern Rhone. We are big believers in primarily only buying wine that we have tasted. And we came into this trip being great fans of Rhone style wines, but mostly those produced in California. Our experience drinking actual Rhone wines had proved mixed and we did not have high expectations of the wines we would discover here. Wow! Did Philip ever show us the light. The wineries he selected for us to visit were exceptional, and we tasted more great wines than we could have hoped for.
We visited 4 wineries each day, two in the morning and two in the afternoon, always with a great lunch in the middle (with more wine, of course). This pace is excellent for experienced wine tasters. At each winery we met with a principal and were given tours of the property and production facility. A particularly memorable, but typical experience while touring with Philip, was driving up a rocky hill in Philip’s van with the vigneron and his two dogs (mom and pup) in the back, so we could hike in and visit the oldest Grenache vine in the vineyard (about 100 years old).
Another classic moment was while tasting wines with a young vigneron who was many generations into the family business and he mentioned that one of the wines we were tasting had made Wine Spectator’s top 100 the past year. Even Philip hadn’t known about this yet. In the meantime, the wine was available to us for 15 Euro per bottle, and this was maybe the 3rd or 4th best wine we tasted while touring with Philip (in my humble opinion).
Also, I can’t neglect to again mention the wines that Philip pulls from his own cellar to serve with dinners. Great wines and excellent references for areas we did not get to visit on our tour. Just as revealing and educational as the winery visits.
Final word on the wine touring portion: If you are a wine hobbyist, enthusiast, collector, snob…whatever, this is top notch stuff and you will appreciate it.

BOTTOM LINE:
Well, see above. If you don’t have a great time here, it is probably your fault.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DownforceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

As soon as we turned down the driveway to La Madelene, we knew our five night stay was going to be special. Aperitifs with Philip on the terrace each evening and full continental breakfasts each morning were just the beginning. Our room was wonderful with a heavenly king size bed, a spacious shower. We went on the 3 day wine tour, at the height of the harvest. Extremely knowledgeable Philip introduced us to interesting vignerons who shared their great wines with us. We went to superb eateries where we enjoyed amazing food. Jude is a sensational cook and she prepared some stunning dinners matched with selections from Philip's considerable cellar. Terrific value. And you couldn't have more generous, obliging and hard-working hosts.
Unforgettable. Thanks to Philip and Jude.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Davedeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaucene hotels
3.4 mi away
Le Clos Saint Michel & Spa
Le Clos Saint Michel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Malaucene
89 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maison Sule
Maison Sule
#5 of 10 in Malaucene
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Blueberry
Le Blueberry
#2 of 3 in Malaucene
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
3.2 mi away
Residence Nemea Les Mazets Du Ventoux
3.1 mi away
Ferme Du Gros Noyer
Ferme Du Gros Noyer
#8 of 10 in Malaucene
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madelene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madelene

Address: Route d Entrechaux, 84340 Malaucene, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Malaucene
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malaucene
Price Range: £128 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential RHONE WINE TOURS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Madelene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing