We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Provencal Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Madelene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malaucene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Madelene
Ranked #3 of 10 Malaucene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Provencal Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

A truly enchanting place to spend a Provencal holiday. La Madelene is spectacularly located in the countryside near Vaison-la-Romaine, and carefully renovated to appeal to sophisticated travelers seeking a unique experience. I joined a 4 day wine tasting course there at the end of September, and thoroughly enjoyed our carefully selected and planned visits to the domaines, as well as time spent exploring the house and grounds, and relaxing by the pool. Phillip and Jude’s warmth, hospitality, and passion for their house and the region were infectious, and set the tone for a relaxed, fun, and interesting stay. Meals at La Madelene were fresh, delicious, beautifully prepared and presented, and paired with wines carefully selected by Phillip. I highly recommend it as a base for exploration of the region, or simply a dreamy respite.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

La Madelene is a kind of deluxe B&B (run by Jude) combined with a wine tour (run by Philip). We did a 3-day wine tour, which involved an introduction to Rhone wines from Philip together with daily tours of vineyards (3 or 4 per day). In the mornings, Jude would lay out a lovely continental breakfast, and on two of the three evenings she cooked a superb meal. Lunch was out at local restaurants, as was dinner on one of the nights. Everything was included in the price (including the restaurant meals and some very nice wines over lunch and dinner). The rooms were very fresh and had en suites. One thing to note is that the tours are run with groups and you are staying in Philip and Jude's home. In our case, there were two other couples in the group (plus Philip and Jude). It was lots of fun for us, but you should be aware that you end up having meals and spending a fair bit of time with the group. So probably not a good choice for very retiring types or newlyweds!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

I enjoyed the most glorious stay at La Madalene in July. Everything about the house, a former priory i hear, is perfect for a relaxing break - which is exactly what I was after.

My room was a joy to be in (as was the huge shower), but with scenery like this outside you will not want to stay indoors too long. An early evening sat beside the pool enjoying the incredible view and drinking some even more incredible local wine is something I would highly recommend. Taking advice from your host Philip as to which wine to drink is also highly recommended as he is a passionate and enlightened wine expert - You will be in for a treat!

The meals we were served by Jude in the wonderful courtyard were equally good and, as ever, washed down with plentiful wine.

Take time to visit the surrounding countryside and vineyards and venture to the local towns if you want to see more of the area. There are some good restaurants around and also market days to walk around and shop.

All in all I enjoyed the perfect relaxing break and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

We spent about three days at La Madelene and after arriving wished we could have spent more time. The grounds are beautiful and the location, although out of the way, is very peaceful and relaxing. The hosts were warm and friendly. They displayed a true desire to ensure we were well taken care of and enjoying ourselves. The food was excellent, dinner was like having a home cooked meal in the French countryside. Phillip knew the region and the wines very well and enjoys sharing his knowledge of the domains. We were very pleased with our stay and hope to return again for a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin2735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

3-28-09 -

We stumbled upon this incredible bed and breakfast during our search for a place to stay and explore Provence (during our honeymoon - which included visits to Paris and Provence).

We've seen a lot of places pale in comparison to their website descriptions - this is not one of them. Quite the opposite, once we arrived, we immediately realized that Philip and Jude's home was better than advertised.

Their home (a 12th century priory) is a living work of art. And their renovation of it (the rooms, bathrooms, open areas, landscaping, etc.), which is a challenging endeavor for any home, really makes this place special.

Philip and Jude are smart and charming hosts. They are attentive to detail, and they give you plenty of space to move around and relax. (One example: they knew we were honeymooning and welcomed us with a bottle of champagne (which was super tasty) upon our arrival).

The rooms - the rooms are as good or better than any Four Seasons and/or Ritz Carlton resorts that we have stayed in. The difference is that at Philip and Jude's home, your room is located in the beautiful French countryside of Provence - literally in the middle of vineyards and cherry orchards. Honestly, we kept having to remind ourselves that we weren't hallucinating.

We took a one day wine tour with Philip during our stay which was informative, entertaining and relaxing. Philip's knowledge of the area, its history, and its vineyards is excellent. His knowledge of local restaurants allowed us to enjoy some of the best meals in the some of the most incredible settings of our entire trip. Philip - thanks again for the tips.

Jude prepared a four course dinner for us on our first night which was outstanding. Landing in the middle of Provence a long way from home after a day on the road (which involved some unexpected difficulty in deciphering French highway "signage") and dining with Philip and Jude at La Madelene (with no language barrier) was very nice. The wine Philip and Jude served with dinner was perfectly matched and was a treat.

Breakfast - it is served whenever you want, and it was very nice. Juice, milk, coffee/tea, muselix, breads, butter, fresh strawberries, apples. In the summer, breakfast is served in the courtyard, which is such a peaceful and relaxing space, with birds chirping and the sun shining - it is quite an atmosphere.

Our experience at La Madelene was well worth it - we hope to return with family and friends as soon as schedules permit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluetoothBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdg99
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

I went to Provence to visit friends in a cold late January, and stayed for a few nights at La Madelene, in the beautiful Provencal hills. The weather was somewhat bleak and rainy, and I felt a bit concerned driving through the hills in the dark and the fog but the welcome I received was so warm it made me very glad I'd made the trip. The house itself is a wonderful restoration of a 12th (?) century priory . Philip and Jude consumate hosts and i was put at ease in front of a roaring fire with a glass of vino from a local vinyard. Philip is very knowledgable about the local producers and he recommended a couple of great domains to visit as well as a really good local restaurant. Jude is such a good cook and meals in house were a real pleasure as well. Combined with comfortable beds, and splendid bathrooms, I'd recommend La Madelene highly for a short break exploring the countryside, or just the wines!

  • Liked — My hosts!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

A rapid train journey across France's sumptuous landscape took us to what can only be described as a gem in the Provençal countryside.

The welcome we received was not merely kept to our arrival, but extended for the duration of the trip. Each morning we were met with a strong feeling of warmth and welcoming from La Madelene's hosts with the most: Philip and Jude.

The stunning property had a wealth of charm and character which provided ample opportunity for a budding photographer such as myself to take some stunning photos. The residence and its surroundings were simply marvelous and made even the simplest of life's pleasures, such as a morning coffee on the terrace, that extra bit special.

We were fortunate to have glorious autumnal weather for the duration of our trip and took the opportunity of the sun's presence to experience some al fresco dining. The food cooked by Jude, was exquisite and her use of local ingredients and recipes was the icing on the cake.

Philip's knowledge and passion for wine meant we were treated to some delightful tasting sessions and always had a great bottle to compliment the delicious food on offer.

This is not my typical retreat - usually being a city dweller - but I must say that I have been converted to the laid back country lifestyle. For those who like country life: you will love it! For those who are a little more timid, I strongly advise you to give it a go. I simply cannot imagine this experience to have been any better. And if you are a city-lover like myself, why not sneak off to the nearby city of Avignon on a day trip, as it is only 45 minutes drive from the property!

All in all, a wonderful experience which I strongly recommend to groups, families, or solo travelers alike. I truly experienced la joie de vivre at La Madelene!

Bon voyage mes amis!

  • Liked — The homely feel and the overall welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Having to leave and go back to England
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malaucene
6.0 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Geraniums
Les Geraniums
#2 of 2 in Le Barroux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.6 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madelene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madelene

Property: La Madelene
Address: Route d Entrechaux, 84340 Malaucene, France
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Malaucene
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malaucene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential RHONE WINE TOURS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing