We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms set in beautiful park like gardens”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malaucene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine des Tilleuls
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malaucene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I enjoyed three nights here. The room was clean and a nice size with lovely decor. Plenty of room. It was in fantastic location, just 2 minute walk to the main street with shops, restaurants & bakeries. Our room had one side facing the street, but I did not find it to be noisy, the other looked to the grounds.

The grounds were truly beautiful, lovely and peaceful to sit in during the afternoon, many birds and trees. One day we bought we bought some things at the supermarket and had a lovely picnic at one of the many tables in the garden.

I would not recommend getting the breakfast. For 9€ a person you only get tea / coffee / juice, one croissant, 2 pieces white bread, 2 pieces brown bread + jam.

The pillows were awful. We ended up sleeping with just one small cushion each from the spare bed. And also as another reviewer said they wait until you are completely out of toilet paper before you get another roll.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reneeandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here on a Holiday Fellowship walking holiday. The continental breakfast was adequate to set us up for the day, and the town shops were only a few minutes walk, with a choice of 3 bakeries and a supermarket from which to buy our lunch supplies. The highlight of the hotel is the garden, which is lovely. the swimming pool was very welcome at the end of a hot day's walking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Owners lovely, pool great, environment tranquil. Rooms quite basic however but clean. Would have loved a fridge and a bit more toilet paper.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiejepsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had a family room which I have to say was the largest of any hotel we have stayed in France. Bathroom was new and modern (had a bath in as well), rooms clean with a arty mix of furniture. The grounds are beautiful, nice pool and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Lots to keep kids happy, swings, sandpit and pool. It does not have a restuarant but only 2 minutes walk from all the town has to offer. Private parking and if you are there to cycle it is on the main cycle route. Breakfast is an option, normal french style buffet.
Would stay again - town is very charming.

Room Tip: You could ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Malaucene where the hotel is located is an unspoilt,small French village 22 kms west of Mount Ventoux. Cyclists of all ages use this route to try and climb non-stop to the top. Good luck!
Many lovely cafes in the town and a market day as well.
Domaine des Tilleuls is a very pleasant small B&B run by a lovely,youg family,The Chastels. Its like living at home with them.
Beautiful large garden and swimming pool.
Unique furnishings.
Great base to visit the Vaucluse area or even further afield.
Cyclists heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This place is darling: spotlessly clean; charming in its rustic décor; a park-like yard with ping-pong, benches, tables and a pool; an accessible and helpful staff. The room provided for our family of 5 was perfect, with ample room for sleeping, comfortable linens, a spacious and clean bathroom, and plenty of room to store our things.
We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel. I don’t know exactly what is served, but, assuming it is your standard French petit dejeuner of bread/yogurt/fruit/juice/coffee, this price seemed a bit high.

We did, however, have a larger issue: because our room faced the main road, we were literally unable to sleep with the windows open. The traffic, albeit sporadic, made us feel like we were sleeping on the sidewalk, so we were forced to shut the windows. Even though it was July, we were lucky in that the heat wasn’t unbearable, but it would have been much more pleasant with some cool fresh air.

Check out Hotel Les Geraniums in Le Barroux. It is in the same area as Malaucene but located in a hilltop village. Although we didn’t stay there, I was considering it after some on-line research and am disappointed we didn’t choose it for its superior location (in terms of quiet!).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonfromcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

This was a nice hotel of its kind, though I would place it firmly in the two-star category not the three that it claimed. The English-speaking husband and wife team of Arnaud and Dominique Chastel ran the hotel well and they were charming and helpful. The rooms were kept clean, and the breakfasts were more than adequate. They did not have a restaurant but the main street was only a minute or two's walk away where there was a choice of cafés, restaurants and bars. The hotel provided a small range of soft drinks, beer and wine but the lack of a bar detracted from the ambience. On the other hand the large secluded garden offered sun and shade and a swimming pool, and was a pleasant and tranquil place to relax.

Most French hotel rooms lack storage space, and despite many of the rooms being quite large the provision in the Domaine des Tilleuls was minimal. Most guests would prefer one of the rooms facing the garden rather than the road (some face both). The cheaper low-numbered rooms in the old part of the house would be my last choice. At some times of the year you could find yourself sharing the hotel with a group of walkers (hikers) from a British holiday company - best to enquire before booking if this would trouble you.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Acripedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malaucene
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Le Blueberry
Le Blueberry
#2 of 3 in Malaucene
38 reviews
3 mi away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Des Pins
Hotel Des Pins
#1 of 6 in Bedoin
322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
749 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Tilleuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Tilleuls

Address: Route du Mont Ventoux, 84340 Malaucene, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Malaucene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malaucene
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular bed and breakfast 3 star hotel at the foot of the Malaucene climb to the Mont Ventoux. The hotel is stylishly decorated and the rooms are individually decorated in a classic by modern style. All rooms are en-suite. The hotel is sat in beautiful quiet grounds with a private swimming pool. The town centre which bustles with cyclists in the summer is just around the corner, as are a number of bike rental shop, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing