We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yvre-l'Eveque
CT, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Room to improve”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed there recently. The hotel has huge potential, but has a long way to go. The location is nice and quiet, food was good, but decorations, furniture and rooms need a lot of work. Hopefully one day it will be a nice place to relax

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    93
    53
    21
    9
See reviews for
41
114
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

first, no ac. that should be a clue. not enough fans for everyone who requested one. the décor is out of the 1950's.aqua and yellow chairs and very uncomfortable lime green couches. if you are looking for a true chateaux experience, go elsewhere. they provide a can of bug spray for each room. in the outbuildings, which were once stables there was a musty smell. In some rooms the tub was in the bedroom. food was decent. we have stayed at best westerns in Europe before that were refurbished in the style of a chateux, let me reassure you this was not. does not deserve a four star rating.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms here--maybe the one at the top. there is no fitness center or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank italian338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We selected this hotel as a late booking due to a late departure from Lacanau which meant that we could not make our Channel Tunnel booking.

We were travelling with a VW Caravelle van and a trailer with two dinghies.

Best Western at Lacanau helped us to find this place, the most critical features being parking for van and trailer and an accessible room. The hotel meets both criteria well.

The setting is superb with well kept grounds.

Disabled access is available from the outside converted coach house to the reception and dining area. There is a lift suitable for wheelchair use from ground level to the dining area.

The food was generally good, but the St Jaques were a little gritty.

Three rooms with breakfast and evening meal for three people set us back 480 Euro. Wine started at 14 Euro to over 500 Euro per bottle. The 14 Euro stuff was very drinkable.

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the converted coach house. we have no experience of other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked a one night stay here to break up a long drive at the last minute. I was skeptical because the last time we stayed at a “Chateau” type property our experience was very bad. This was not the case here. Very welcoming staff that seems to work well as a team. They have somewhat successfully decorated the dining lobby area in a trendy modern style that is light and bright. I’m sure it was a challenge to make rooms with bathrooms out of an old Chateau, but they did a good job and the rooms have character. We had a second floor room in the original building, or huge round shower was in the turret with a window. Room was clean and we got a good night’s sleep. The food was good as was the service. Beautiful park like grounds. It looks to me like you can even bring your horse there, as there were several horse trailers in the parking lot, and horses turned out in the pasture. Check with hotel on that however.
They might be stretching the four star rating as I did not see a pool or spa area and I think people who book based on the star rating system that go in for massages and that kind of stuff may not appreciate this fun property.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with kids, try to get a room in the main house. Our room was part of one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night. Unfortunately arrived late, and left early enough so we didn't have the opportunity to explore what looked like a magnificient park all around the hotel. We had a family room in the main building (the Chateau) - which had one large very comfortable double bed, and then two single beds (separated by a sort of wall about 5 feet high). For our third child they added an extra matress on the floor, which was absolutely fine. Fine, spacious bathroom and good breakfast. Our lot ate all of the viennoseries.

I would recommend the hotel. The only thing that was a little disconcerting was that they lost our reservation. I had booked our room a few months ago - and had made a change to the booking afterwards. The hotel didn't give a confirmation number or send an email to confirm. I phoned Saturday morning to check everything was ok, and they had no details of any reservation for us. Luckily there was a room available (at a more expensive price though).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le pouliguen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Located in the country side, 10km away from Le Mans in the middle of a beautiful peaceful and quiet parc, this lovely 5 star-small-castle, managed by a passionate team, really worth stopping by. Service was as good as home!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JePh911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Judging by outward appearances, you might assume the Le Mans 'Country Club' was pretty special. Bolt on some fairly fancy prices, the photos on their website and fact the Audi Le Mans team stay there in June and,w ell, you might even think it looked like a bargain! Trust me, it isn't.
In fact, after 6 days of touring around the region, this was by far the most disappointing venue we stayed in. How bad? Well, if somebody else hadn't been paying, I would have been straight out the stable door.
Stable door? Well, don't be fooled by the Best Western pictures - a large number of the bedrooms here are situated about 100 yards from the chateaux in what appears to be two rows of stables. There are no proper windows, just the glass in the door and a half-moon window above it, with net curtains over both. Eek!
The area outside our door was littered in cigarette ends, there were no flowers or a seating area in the vast open courtyard between the two rows of stables and the only sweet touch was a donkey in a field next door, who had obviously dug his own tunnel out.
When we arrived, the counter staff did not have a record of our reservation (this does happen but as I am a journalist for a national British newspaper on a travel feature, you expect they would know). Finally, we were found 'in the system' , handed a card key pass and pointed in the direction of the stables. The hotel car park was empty, nobody else was in the foyer - why didn't he offer to help us with our bags, or take us to the room?
At least the wifi in the room worked - it meant I could go online and book a restaurant in Le Mans, cancelling the booking at the Country Club itself.
Next morning, breakfast was almost pitiful. The pretty part of the restaurant was laid out for dinner, so we were invited to sit in an area with two other French businessmen who, judging by the look on their faces, also fell for the website images and imagined this might be a great place to stay.
I would ramble on about the rock hard bed (I like a hard bed but this made my hips ache), the security light that came on every time somebody walked past our room, and the lack of country-club style facilities but if you are truly crazy enough to stay here, then don't say I didn't warn you.
Pay less - stay somewhere in old Le Mans - and don't be fooled by the hotel's beautifully fabricated website...

Room Tip: Take a tent instead - it will be more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yvre-l'Eveque
4.9 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#5 of 41 in Le Mans
547 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#6 of 41 in Le Mans
445 reviews
5.7 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
75 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club

Property: Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
Address: Chateau De La Ragotterie, 72530 Yvre-l'Eveque, Le Mans, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Le Mans Country Club)
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans > Yvre-l'Eveque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yvre-l'Eveque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club Hotel Yvre-l`Eveque
Best Western Le Mans
Le Mans Best Western
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing