We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value and lovely hosts”
Review of Banana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Banana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incredible value and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We loved our stay at Banana Lodge. Can't believe how cheap it was for the level of room/bathroom/friendliness and overall awesomeness of this place. Definitely highly recommended and the town of Mishuali is so chilled, relaxed and friendly. We felt so welcome and safe and had the best time. Go there and see for yourselves

Room Tip: All much the same - great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very clean and spacious. Nice, comfortable rooms. A short well-lit walk on a clean road from city proper. Delicious breakfast and helpful owners. Definitely a relaxing place with easy access to swimming in the river or watching monkeys in the park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltoplosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I will for sure remember the Banana Lodge for ever! I loved the garden, especially the pineapples plants. Generally the whole idea of growing coffee, cacao, bananas, papayas etc is GENIUS....you can enjoy the garden swinging in the hammock, listening to the sound of river and in the evening sit by the fire and chat with other travelers and wonderful family/owners of the place. Its a short walk from town, offers great budget options for accommodation, great camping area, hot water and most of all pleasant, relaxing and friendly atmosphere. Thank you Ana and Eduardo for wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: Best camping area in Ecuador! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerdemundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Banana Lodge in a double room, which was spotlessly clean. The whole hostel appeared to have been built in the past couple of years -- looks new and they seem to be trying really hard to keep it looking new! Location right on the river with nice chairs outside to sit and enjoy it. We were impressed!

It is a short walk outside of town, but for us (30 yrs old and used to carrying the backpack), the walk from town wasn't bad. We took a taxi to get there when we arrived because we weren't sure where we were going, but walked the rest of the time (even at night; very safe).

We paid the extra $3 for breakfast all three days. It had coffee, fresh juice, eggs (delicious omelet like eggs with onions and ham actually; the last day he made fried eggs), bread and jam.

For those of you taking a bus to Misahualli from Tena, it leaves from outside the main Tena bus station (about 2 blocks away). We asked a police officer and he pointed us toward a yellow building; the bus (Jumundy) was parked beside it with a Misahualli sign. It cost $0.60 per person and seems to leave about once an hour during the day. The buses from Tena arrive at the square in Misahualli and if you walk straight down the road the bus is facing when it arrives away from the square, you'll pass the Banana Lodge on the right side of the road after around 10 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

pleasant , very good value ,possibility to venture Napo river & primary forest , nice breakfast , hot water ,clean ,safe ,good place to stay for family or single travelers, both english/spanish spoken

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanadyjczycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very clean, good breakfast.Host Ana speaks good english and husband Eduardo cooks a great breakfast for 3 dollar per person.They are both very friendly and Eduardo likes to talk about football so am I.It's only a 5 minute walk to the village where you can eat very good for a pennie.
It's was only 220 km from Quito, but it's feel you are right in de jungle.The village people are very friendly and we felt never scary, even at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed in Banana Lodge for 2 nights. The Lodge is a very short walk from the center of Misahualli village (or a $1 cab ride).
Rooms were nice, large and very clean, bathroom looked brand new, and the setting is beautiful, overlooking the river and the jungle.
The lodge is surrounded by a lush garden.
We stayed in the more 'expensive rooms', $15 pp including breakfast, but there are cheaper options as well.
They have free wi-fi, which is great.
The owners, Anna and Eduardo, were very kind and helpful - they arranged a 3-day jungle tour for us with an excellent guide who spoke flawless English.
We liked the vibe of the place - guests from different countries coming and going, sharing their stories around the fire pit, different languages spoken all at once.
During our stay Anna and Eduardo were hosting a few young volunteers from Germany and a Russian family interested in shamanic ceremonies, which Anna helped them organize.
I wish we could stay longer!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lyubag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Misahualli
10.2 mi away
Hostal Los Yutzos
Hostal Los Yutzos
#1 of 3 in Tena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.0 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
9.7 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Misahualli Amazon Lodge
Misahualli Amazon Lodge
#4 of 12 in Misahualli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sinchi Warmi
Sinchi Warmi
#11 of 29 in Tena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#12 of 29 in Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Lodge

Property: Banana Lodge
Address: Via al Pununo | 800m del parque central, Misahualli 150155, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Misahualli
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Misahualli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little family run hostel located in the green part of Misahualli, in a walking distance (800m) from the center. The name come from banana plants growing in the garden of the Banana Lodge. The garden has orange, lemon, guayava, guava, lichi, coffee and cacao trees and various tropical plants including pineapples. We have a majestic view to a curve of the river Misahualli where also you can swim and primary jungle. You can listen to the nature and smell it right here.We provide accommodation in comfortable rooms with mosquito protection, ventilation and private bathrooms with hot water. Delicious breakfasts are available. The guests can enjoy staying in a hammocks, make bonfire at night, exchange books, use free internet WiFi everywhere and guest kitchen. We also arrange comfortable and adventure jungle tours, indigenous craft courses, rituals of ayahuaska and spanish classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Banana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing