We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday is not the best day for Hammet House”
Review of Hammet House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hammet House
Ranked #1 of 5 Llechryd B&B and Inns
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sunday is not the best day for Hammet House”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having seen the documentary on the refurbishment of Hammet House and now having the opportunity of being back in the UK and in the area we decided to kick off our West Wales week with a night in HH.
The positives are that the hotel is beautiful. The refurbishment is excellent and our room (we treated ourselves and went for the 'Outstanding') was as the title suggested, Outstanding. The hotel is a fantatstic oasis of quiet, which is what we were looking for.
The hotel was a let down however in two aspects. Firstly, the person doing the check in that day had clearly had a long week as they truly did not want to engage us in any sort of chat or service during check in or the walk around. We asked questions which got no responses and when asked if the wifi was working(as we couldnt connect) we got a sigh, a huff and a disappearance. 30 mins later we found it was now working. I understand it was quiet and it was the Sunday after what I suspect was a wedding weekend but we expected someone who was at the very least personable, sadly the lady working that day was not it.
Secondly, Sunday is obviously the chef's night off. I suppose we could have been those guests that sent food back (lamb being pink is fine, being undercooked not so - however my husband just sucked it up) and my main was so underwhelming I struggle to even remember what it was. What I will say is that the young waitress was one hundred per cent of an improvement on the check in person. Bright, attentive, smiley and helpful.
So in summation, for what we paid, we probably would not come back again and it was all a bit disappointing but for anyone looking for a quiet retreat in lovely surroundings then this is probably the place, just maybe don't come on a Sunday!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the Outstanding. Fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear KarenJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hammet House.

We were very pleased to read that you thought the hotel & your room was beautiful.

We were though very concerned to read that you felt as if our receptionist did not answer your questions at check-in. Our front of house team pride themselves on providing excellent customer service, & endeavour to answer all queries in friendly, helpful & efficient manner. I am very sorry if our team did not understand your request or failed to answer a question. We endeavour to ensure that team members are always on hand to answer any queries from guests.

I am also sorry to read that you did not enjoy your main courses with us. Our waiting team always visit each table shortly after the main course has been served to check if everyone is happy - unfortunately if you do not bring any issues to our attention it means we are not able to adjust things for you. If your husband had mentioned that the lamb was too rare for his taste, we would have happily adjusted it for you.

I am pleased to read that our waitress that evening looked after you well.

We are always concerned when guests are disappointed with any aspects of their time with us, & appreciate any feedback that allows us to improve.

Unfortunately when guests do not voice any concerns or queries in person we are unable to address the matter for them. In this instance if you had mentioned to us at reception that you had a query we would have been happy to assist, & likewise if you had mentioned that your main courses were not to your liking we would have had the opportunity to make things to your taste.

Best regards,

Philippa Gale & the Hammet House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    105
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
313
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Literally just got back today from a 3 night stay at Hammet House with family (including baby). The staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and incredibly accommodating and efficient to every enquiry and our various number of specific requests.

A lovely location with a great acknowledgement and honour to the country house's historic past, however they have also created a very relaxing environment as well (rooms and social spaces) with really useful information about the local places of interest as well. Comfy rooms, excellent service and the food is just phenomenal (incredible menu where we tried most of it over three evenings). Keep up the great work, we enjoyed it and would certainly hope to be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteFromGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello PeteFromGloucester,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Our whole team were thrilled to read that you had such a great stay & enjoyed our rooms, food & service so much.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best wishes,

Philippa, Owen & the Hammet House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Read the reviews and nobody sits on the fence. This is a beautiful 15 bedroom country house. The people that are upset about sausages, bacon and a soft mattress really should try the Thistle in Caernarvon. Owen and his team try very hard and you can't fault the service. However the lack of wifi and very poor mobile signal in the area is something to take seriously. I would rather money was spent on this than the large smart TV's in the room. The mix of furniture didn't bother me but it did the wife. The " plastic furniture" gets far far more negatives than any positives so Owen time to rethink and maybe at the end of the season kick it into touch Dont be put off by any of the negatives it has a lot going for it and the location is excellent. Look for the offers and try it

Room Tip: When booking ring and talk to Owen or Philippa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WISECAT1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear WiseCat1995,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hammet House on tripadvisor.

We were really pleased to read that you thought our service was great, & we are a 'nearly great' hotel.

We share your frustrations about the lack of mobile phone reception in the area!

The local area as a whole is fairly poorly covered by mobile telephone reception, which is why we do not have mobile telephone reception in the building. We will, along with other local businesses & residents continue to campaign to try & improve this situation. Most devices pick up mobile phone signal immediately outside our front doors - but not all.

A superfast fibre-optic broadband link to an exchange would be great & enable us to provide fast wifi throughout the hotel - we're trying to make this happen a.s.a.p.!!! Currently complimentary wifi is available on the ground floor in the public rooms of the hotel, we are currently working to get the wifi improved to ensure it covers all bedrooms well.

The 'plastic furniture' usually means our Phillipe Starcke ghost chairs - which do have plenty of fans & are often a talking point for guests. I'm sorry to read that your wife wasn't a fan of the chairs - as you say, nobody sits on the fence!

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hammet House in the future, & thank you for your thoughtful & constructive comments.

Best regards,

Philippa, Owen & the Hammet House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first visit and we will surely come again. A scenic surrounding, a very nice old country house with an interesting decor. Big comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff that did everything to make you feel welcome. Dinner and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Carsten W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hammet House on tripadvisor.
We were all so pleased to read that you had a special stay, & our team looked after you well.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Philippa, Owen & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited hammet house yesterday for a wedding and had an absolutely fantastic day, the place is incredible and loved the modern and old decor. The food was delicious the best wedding food I've ever had. The library bar was interesting as whilst sat in the corner on the table opposite the large mirror 4 drinks fell over one smashed on the floor we were told by a member of staff that it always happens in that corner only at weddings, very spooky. Overall a fab day highly recommend this place as a wedding venue, very different to the usual boring run of the mill venues.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello Sally L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us at Hammet House.

We were so pleased to read that you had a wonderful time, & our chefs were particularly pleased to read that you thought it was the 'best wedding food ever'! :-)

It's true that there have been a few incidents of glasses falling off a table in the bar, which seems to occur at weddings - we haven't worked out yet if this is anything spooky or down to the fact that a weddings there tend to be lots of people drinking lots of drinks!

Very best wishes & many thanks,

Philippa, Owen & the tean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel doesn't quite know what it is. The soul has been stripped out and replaced by cheap and tasteless furniture. The bed in room 15, was quite simply the softest and most uncomfortable bed we've ever slept in. On a good note, supper was delicious and cooked to perfection. However, breakfast was obviously cooked by a different chef. The last thing I want to see , is under cooked sausage and a white film of fat on the bacon. There is no phone signal or wifi in the room. Clearly this wasn't just us, as a woman in her nightdress was wandering up and down the hall outside our room, looking for signal on her phone. This is not the luxury hotel it claims to be.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Bearconnie

We normally start with thanking guests for reviewing us on tripadvisor. However, when guests behave in a manner that makes it impossible for us to assist them during their stay, refuse to explain what they are unhappy about, so we are unable to address any issues, but then rather come straight to tripadvisor to make their complaint it is very frustrating for our whole team & we would be pushed to offer thanks for such unreasonable behaviour.

During your stay with us, you mentioned after your 1st nights stay that you found the bed in your room (Room 15) too soft. Our receptionist Freya offered to move you to an alternative room of the same standard, which you refused. (Room 15 has a 'firm' pocket sprung mattress with microfibre topper). You then informed us that you wished to shorten your stay from 5 nights to 2 nights.

Our receptionist enquired whether anything was the matter, or if we could do anything to assist - upon which you informed us that you would rather not say, but would leave a note when you left. We did not charge you a cancellation fee even though you were cancelling 2 nights stay outside of our no fee cancellation policy.

Upon departing the next morning, another member of our team mentioned to you that her colleague had passed on to her that you were dissatisfied with something, & had mentioned you would leave a note. You then informed us that you weren't leaving a note, still did not wish to explain to us what the problem was, but would send us an email.

So we were fairly surprised to receive no further comment by email, but a very swift review here on tripadvisor.

We were also surprised to read your comments that you were dissatisfied with breakfast, as you had not mentioned this to any of our team. If you had (as with any issues that may arise) we would have done our utmost to make things to your exact liking.

There is generally no mobile telephone reception in the house - which we explain to guests on check in. There is complimentary wifi throughout the public rooms of the house, which one of our receptionists gave you a code to access on the first day of your stay.

We understand that our contemporary design scheme may not be to everyones taste, yet to describe our furniture as 'cheap & tasteless' I would like to suggest is rather misleading. For readers information, Hammet House is a Georgian property which has been refurbished in a contemporary style - we have used Farrow & Ball paints on the walls, Phillippe Starck for Kartell 'Ghost' chairs, sofas by artifort & lighting by innermost & designheure.

We are aware that the bold & unusual pieces chosen may not be for everybody, but to describe world-renowned designers & manufacturers such as those listed above as 'cheap' seems a little ignorant.

For readers of this review & response, if you can think of nothing worse than an old house that has thrown out the chintz & drapes & been revitalised with a modern design scheme, then we're more than happy to save you the trip & advise that Hammet House probably isn't for you.

If you think that a country house with modern interiors, friendly staff who try their very best to make every guest's stay special, with no pretension or overbearing formality sounds pretty cool, then please come & see for yourself!

To Bearconnie we send our regards & luck in finding accommodation more suited to their taste elsewhere.

Regards,

Philippa Gale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a lovely find, I can't praise it enough. The minute we walked up to reception we received a very warm welcome and that's how it continued throughout our 2 night stay (we originally booked 1 night but changed it to 2). We loved the quirkiness of the place, the 'cosy' room was plenty big enough and the food.....WOW! I can honestly say that the beef we had on the first night is the finest I've ever tasted! A wonderful mix of friendliness, decadence, eccentricity and food to die for! And a big thank you to Sian for her great cocktail making skills and for making us feel like friends by the time we left! Some good advice: keep an eye out for the dine and stay deal...you can't go wrong. We'll return as soon as we fancy another treat..which won't be long!

Room Tip: We loved our cosy room and didn't find it too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyandjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippaGale, Owner at Hammet House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear NellyandJohnny,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hammet House.

We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, & we're over the moon with your description of Hammet House as 'A wonderful mix of friendliness, decadence, eccentricity and food to die for' - as this is what we aim for! :-)

It's great that you managed to take advantage of our popular 'Dine & Stay' deal - which will be returning for September 2014.

Very best wishes,

Philippa, Owen & the Hammet House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llechryd
5.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
434 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
761 reviews
6.2 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
20.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammet House

Property: Hammet House
Address: Llechryd SA43 2QA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llechryd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llechryd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hammet House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hammet House is a luxury country house hotel in beautiful Pembrokeshire. In glorious landscaped grounds the hotel sits on the famous river Teifi right on the Pembrokeshire Ceredigion border. Built in 1795 by Sir Benjamin Hammet, the grade II listed Georgian house has been brought bang up to date with a clear focus on modern luxuries, great service & ultimate relaxation.A luxury bolthole set in secluded grounds, Hammet House is a hidden escape that nestles discreetly amongst Pembrokeshire’s glorious coastline and countryside, and Ceredigion’s spectacular beaches and heritage. Bedrooms are packed with contemporary style & luxuries, with Egyptian cotton on the beds, flat screens on the walls & indulgent Ren products in the bathrooms.In the bar & dining room you’ll find cool contemporary spaces to unwind, relax, eat & drink in, all brought to you with our easy-going yet impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hammet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammet House Llechryd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing