We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier 36 Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donaghadee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pier 36 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Donaghadee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Enjoyed extremely good accommodation at Pier 36 Guest House in Donaghadee, Ireland. The room was first class - Smith room - with a superb view of the Harbour. The staff were just so friendly and the food was delicious. Definitely better to stay here than in Belfast and it is an easy
drive. Would definitely stay here during future trips to Ireland.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the Harbour -it is just so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    12
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
42
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Could not find fault with this accommodation. The room was spacious comfortable and had everything you might need including an iron and hair dryer. The staff were very friendly and helpful, food excellent. We were amazed how busy the pub and restaurant were for a small harbour, obviously well known in the surrounding area for good food and excellent service. Would most definitely return and recommend to anyone, only regret was we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

One of the best places ever stayed and eaten in. The staff were the most friendliest and welcoming we have ever seen, the rroms were superb and the food was up there with we have ever eaten. Booking again for next year and can't wait!

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the sea and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG9227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed with everything. Our room was the Drake, which had a beautiful view of the harbor, and was spacious and comfortable. The staff was especially helpful and friendly. The food served in the restaurant was delicious, but if you go on a Saturday night be aware that the place will be packed, so be patient. If we are ever in this area again, we would happily return.

Room Tip: The Drake has a whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Donaghadee is a beautiful coastal village, and a stay in Pier 36 will certainly make it an extremely comfortable trip. The staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant, the rooms were large, very clean and right opposite the lighthouse with stunning views across the bay to the front and the sea to the back. We'd certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Avoid the separate family rooms if you have mobility issues - there's a lot of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Pier 36 for one night as we travelled to Donaghadee for a family reunion. We had an amazing sea view room (no4). I only wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming.

The only downside could have been, if we had been there for a quiet break the live band next door could have kept us awake. For us this was amazing and made our night.

Room Tip: Sea View every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareCh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for one night in June; as a superior room was free the owners very generously upgraded us with no extra charge. The room was luxurious and spacious with a beautiful sea view. We had a steak dinner in the restaurant that night which was delicious. My partner is gluten intolerant and the staff happily provided gluten-free alernatives. Breakfast was also delicious the next morning. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We have recommended it to friends and will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 785Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donaghadee
7.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
7.8 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
13.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 36 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 36 Guesthouse

Property: Pier 36 Guesthouse
Address: 36 Parade, Donaghadee BT21 0HE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Donaghadee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donaghadee
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 36 Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing