We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous servings of fabulous Sicilian fare”
Review of La Tavernetta

La Tavernetta
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Scopello
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generous servings of fabulous Sicilian fare”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent the last night of our Sicilian adventure in Scopello and as a tribute to a holiday of amazing meals we hoped our last supper would be one to remember. La Tevernetta ristorante (attached to the Hotel B&B) did not disappoint. The service was attentive without being pushy, portions were ample and the flavour delicate. We dined on anti pasta, tomato and basil salad, grilled whole fish and the signature pistachio pasta with scampi. It was a beautiful setting and lovely atmosphere to underscore the experience. After dinner we retired to there relaxing terrace for a night. Would recommend absolutely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twicetoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    232
    64
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shotts, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My experience at La Tavernetta makes my stomach turn !”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was staying in Scopello with friends and on our last night we decided to give La Tavernetta a try having eaten really well in the other restaurants in town.
Because there was a thunder storm and high winds that night we were unable to eat on the terrace and had to eat inside instead.
The minute I arrived inside the restaurant the smell of damp and must/mould was overwhelming.
I should have left straight away but did not want to create a seen.

I have to say the staff were very friendly and polite but the food was dreadful.
Just thinking of my starter makes me feel ill.
It was supposed to be grilled cheese with garlic, but what arrived out was a plate that looked like plate of vomit.
Sorry but it was absolutely dreadful looking and tasting.
It was cheese overheated in the microwave until it was rubber swimming in a sea of oil.
it really was disgusting unfortunately.
My main course was not any better at all.
It was pasta full of over cooked and greasy aubergines. They had turned to mush they were so overcooked.
I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone , it was so so bad.
Its a shame as it has a fantastic view and lovely staff but the kitchen needs to be closed down.
Brian Woods

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Knobjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puciolo, Proprietario at La Tavernetta, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Normally, we are very happy to receive every review, also when it negative is.
But now we are very surprised.
In our menu, everybody can see that we don’t have grilled cheese with garlic.
Our vegetarian starter are: parmigiana, caponata, bruschetta, caprese salad.
Others starter are with fish (crudités or cooked fish).

We always ask to our guest if every dish good is and if they like it.
Honestly, we don’t remember, in the last months a British client who wasn’t satisfied of our courses, or who hasn’t eaten something.
Besides, recently, our restaurant is all renovated end so it’s impossible that there was smell of damp.
Our courses, that in our kitchen are made, are always supervised before to be served and a lot of good reviews give testimony of the goodness of our food.

So, are you sure that you have eaten at La Tavernetta in Scopello?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace view & good food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel and ate twice in the restaurant.
The food is very good we hate pasta, lamb & steak.
The terrace is lovely, and view is superb.
Service is casual and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonHDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia,England
Level Contributor
276 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Food,Excellent Service”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Superb food well cooked and presented,faultless service,owners/management always present.
Restaurant on the terrace,part of the hotel,must book a table.Went back several times while staying in a villa near the village

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wood57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to My Wife”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

On July 1, 2013, we celebrated my wife's birthday at this wonderful restaurant in Scopello, Sicily. We had 10 guest invited. The dinner was fabulous, the service was excellent. This restaurant
has one of the best views of the Mediterranean Sea, you can watch the sun set. We had a great time and the price was right. I can recommend the pasta with fresh tuna.... that was an excellent dish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
 
Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo
Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing