We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenute Plaia Agriturismo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My best friend and I stayed three nights at this Agriturismo and had a wonderful time. It's located quite high up on a hill overlooking an incredible coastline - you get uninterrupted views of the blue, blue sea. There's a covered terrace where you can eat, and there are lots of different places to sit and read, in and out of the sun. It's true that the pool is tiny, but there are so many gorgeous coves nearby for swimming that you don't really need it.

The rooms are immaculately clean, and they left us a free bottle of local wine as a welcome gift. The shower wasn't quite hot enough, but other than that, no complaints.

We didn't have a car, and managed fine, but beware that buses from Castelmare del Golfo are few and far between. Ours didn't turn up, so we had to hitchhike.

It's a five minute walk uphill to Scopello itself, where there are half a dozen or so restaurants. One night we ate at the Agriturismo, which is pretty good (get the taglietelli alle sfincinello - it's mega). Breakfast was quite basic, but pleasant.

The nature reserve is a five minute drive away or a 20 minute walk, ditto the Tonnaro.

One last thing: there is a very noisy stray cat which hangs around the place crying all day, which you will find infuriating or cute depending on the way you roll.

All in all: highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
4  Thank karenparkyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Tenute Plaia Agriturismo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2009

I enjoyed staying here. It is a very nice and clean place set away from the business of some of the other nearby cities. The location is quiet and nicely set upon the sea. It was a good base for us to explore the places we were interested in like Palermo, San Vito Lo Capo, Castellemarre Del Golfo, and Erice/Trapani. The only slight knock as someone also said was that the food, while good, isnt fantastic - it certainly will not wow you like you expect to be wowed in Italy. But there are plenty of places to explore nearby. There is actually a small market down the street that makes some of the best cheeses, no, the best cheese Ive eaten (I come from an Italian Immigrant family, so Id like to think Ive grown up around some pretty serious cheeses :)

I would reccomend this place, especially if you are looking for a quiet and beautiful locale.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeOxlargeOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

This is a beautiful agriturismo near the lovely Sicilan village of Scopello. It is set in peaceful countryside, close to beautiful beaches (walk or drive to tuna cannery and Zingaro nature reserve and drive to San Vito Lo Capo). The food is good but not as good as that in some of the restaurants in the village of Scopello, which is about 5 minutes' walk. Our room was lovely. The very small pool is refreshing but turned the white stripes on my daughter's swimsuit, and the white hair on my partner's chest, green.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redl4wyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Booked this 'agriturismo' so that we could see the beautiful town of Scopello and take a boat trip up Lo Zingaro National Park, both of which we really enjoyed.
What I didn't enjoy was this hotel, a complete let down, and certainly not an agriturismo in my book. The photos on the website are misleading, it is an ugly concrete monstrosity. Ok ,the view across the bay is fab, but there is no where nice and shady and relaxing to sit and enjoy it. We ended up moving an uncomfortable iron bench into the carpark to sit and watch the view!! The rooms were clean but very basic. The pool is more like a hot tub and we didn't want to use it...not my idea of a pool, more a paddling pool! I booked this place because it had a pool the photos of it are misleading, don't go here just because it has a pool.
Don't eat here either, there are cats everywhere, the service is slow and haphazard, the food is pretty boring, go to Scopello to eat, just up the hill...much better bet.
Other grumbles were the cat sick outside of one bedroom door on arrival!!! Had to ask the receptionist to get it cleaned up....not what you want to see on arrival, especially after coming from beautifull agriturismo of Mandranova!!
Honestly the place is like a cheap motel and they charge euro 200 a room a night!!!
Far better bet to stay in rustic simplicity in Scopello itself or at the Tonarra where you are right on the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

Even though this looks like a new motel it is well worth the stay. It is set on a hill overlooking the sea with hills behind it. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There are outside spaces, tables, chairs and umbrellas for reading, having a drink or dipping in the small pool. The couple running the site are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is copious and dinner on the terrace provides a welcome relief from finding a good restaurant.

It is a perfect base for exploring Scopello, Erice, Segesta and the Riserva Naturale dello Zingaro. And it is close to the Palermo airport.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2006

This is a lovely new bed and breakfast/small hotel located a pleasant 10 minute walk from the charming town of Scopello. The rooms are serene and spotless. There are wonderful sitting areas and beautiful sea views. The host and hostess are very pleasant and speak English very well. Breakfast was delicious and dinner on the terrace looked wonderful-we did not get a chance to try it.
We stayed 2 nights and had to get to Palermo Airport for a very early flight the next morning-it was a very easy drive to the airport and easier than navigating the Palermo traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Regi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scopello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baglio di Scopello
0.4 mi away
Baglio dello Zingaro Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Grotticelli
Hotel Grotticelli
#6 of 6 in Scopello
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Tavernetta
Hotel La Tavernetta
#1 of 6 in Scopello
440 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cerri Hotel
Cerri Hotel
#10 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Talia
B&B Talia
#9 of 12 in Scopello
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenute Plaia Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenute Plaia Agriturismo

Address: Contrada Scopello n. 3, 91014 Scopello, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo > Scopello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Scopello
Price Range: £86 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenute Plaia Agriturismo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Surrounded by the blue sea and a green fragrant garden, the farm Tenute Plaia is the ideal place for those who appreciate a holiday in contact with the simple and genuine nature, to relive the smells and the tastes of the past.The location of the farm allows to visit and reach with short trips various places in provinces of Trapani, Palermo and Agrigento such as: the nearby Zingaro Nature Reserve, the archaeological sites of Segesta, Erice, San Vito Lo Capo, Mozia, the Saline of Trapani, Palermo, Monreale, Selinunte and Agrigento.All rooms are tastefully decorated, with shower, air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and telephone.The tradition is also in the restaurant we serve typical local dishes such as caponata, stuffed dried tomatoes, pasta "busiate" with sauce, basil and aubergines, sardines "a beccafico" using only products of our farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tenute Plaia Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenute Plaia Agriturismo Scopello, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing