We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, bad rooms - not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Majorda Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Majorda
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great beach, bad rooms - not worth the money”
Reviewed 19 March 2009

The beach of Majorda is absolutely great. The property has been developed very beautifully, but the major let down are the rooms. The interiors/exterior of the cottages need to be renovated. Basic cleanliness is missing, the linen is old, the furniture, bed, the wall paint, bathroom everything is in bad shape. So if you want to spend 20 hours out of 24 then stay in this hotel, as the garden is good. Food is ok, usually they give the package. A big disappointment if you are traveling on Valentine's day is compulsory dinner, at Rs. 5000 per couple its waste of money. If you want to stay at the same beach you can try The Kenilworth.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    164
    71
    28
    29
See reviews for
169
95
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Good facilities, great beach experience. Food also had a vast spread.
Kiddies corner is nice.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and great family experience.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MGU77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years and it has been going downhill in recent times. It is in desperate need of an upgrade and by this I mean money spent on bedrooms, bathrooms and the general building. It needs new baths, beds, furniture, chairs and even down to new towels,
The staff are very friendly and attentive and despite all the problems we still enjoyed our stay.
My main reason for writing this preview is that this hotel is not, I repeat not, a five star hotel as stated in the brochures.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — bedrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

One of the world's most favorite holiday destinations, a visit to Goa is a definite must include if you are planning your dream vacation. Home to some of the most exotic beaches in the world, Goa has much to offer to the tourists to her land. This resort is located in the city Salcette at Majorda, Salcette, Goa-403713.

There are in all 120 rooms including 10 cottages and suites

Surrounded by lush, green fields, the accommodation facilities at the Majorda Beach Resort, Goa are excellent and comprise of 120 rooms inclusive of 10 cottages and suites. The hotel also offers Individually Controlled Air-Conditioning, Luxurious Baths, Satellite Television, Free In-House Movies, International Direct Dialing,Well-Stocked Mini-Bar, Tea/Coffee Maker,Hair Dryer, Safe In The Rooms, Wi-Fi Facility Available.

Serving a wide range of cuisines, but you must be a pure non veg savvy to enjoy them.Since I was a total Veggie guy, had lot of troubles to capture good food stuffs in Goa.

  • Liked — Good Service
  • Disliked — Small menu for Veggies
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luvash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We loved that place like anything. The rooms the hotel hospitality,the staff, the swimming pool, the casino the food . Its like relaxing at home. Please do visit this place. The beach (private) is so clean we sat there for almost 2 hrs a day .

  • Liked — We loved the way they treat us. Its like your are the god.
  • Disliked — Not Applicable
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAWANJHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We are just back in Bangalore from a well deserved break in Goa. I had booked Majorda Beach Resort without looking at reviews and when I did look at reviews after the booking, I was in for a shock. Most of the ratings were disappointing.
I am quite relieved and happy to say that my trip was not at all disappointing. Yes, they do claim to be 5-star resort, looks more of a 3-star.
I had a pickup at the airport. The welcome at the hotel was very nice with a person dedicated to ensure all formalities are taken care without any hassle. I had opted for a superior room ( 3nights/4 days package).
I was quite disappointed with the room as it looked quite dated with the floor tiles worn off and the bathroom looking quite small.The WC was leaking and the paint was peeling .Probably my expectation was high since the place was supposed to be a 5-star resort.
The food was amazing and the rest of the facilities were all ok. The charges for food are very reasonable. Access to the beach is
easy and the pools with the resort was quite good. The room service as well as the service in the restaurants were commendable.
Overall it was a very nice experience and I would recommend this place to all. Dont expect a 5-star experience but a 3-star one and then you will feel great.

  • Liked — Service was nice. Food was good
  • Disliked — Room was dated with wornout floor tiles,leaky taps and peeling paint
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreKoolKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

This, my dear friends is a sheer waste of time.

If you have never been to a 5 star hotel/ resort like a Taj or a Marriott, you may be quite amused by the petty package deals.
If however, you are in search of a quality resort, which is actually up to 5 star standards, please do not waste your time here.

I do not want to delve too much, but just to give you a feeler :
* Mineral water bottles, filled with tap water (or something else ) !!
* Smelling robes, towels and bedding, none changed daily !!
* Inferior service. Everything goes to 'duty manager', who is always very sorry and cannot help.
* Absolutely nonsense cocktails.
* Billing desk will keep chasing you several times even after you board your airport taxi.

In all, this is definitely ridiculous and will only ruin your holiday !

Enjoy your holidays .......

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MojitoErgoSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Majorda hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Majorda
0.5 mi away
The Diwa Club by Alila
The Diwa Club by Alila
#1 of 4 in Majorda
157 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,527 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
3,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
1,871 reviews
7.3 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majorda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majorda Beach Resort

Property: Majorda Beach Resort
Address: Majorda Beach Rd | Salcette, Majorda 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Majorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Majorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majorda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owners of Eastern International Hotels Limited wish to inform you that our unit Majorda Beach Resort Goa has temporarily suspended all operations. The hotel will soon undergo a complete renovation program and we are excited that the property will be back soon to serve our valued guests in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Majorda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majorda Beach Hotel Majorda
Majorda Beach Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing