We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very warm welcome”
Review of Summerhill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hittisleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhill Farm
Wellow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very warm welcome”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent the most wonderful weekend on Summerhill Farm. Our Yurt was fantastic and incredibly comfortable. Waking up and looking at the most amazing view is wonderful. Very comfortable bed and lovely furnishings. It was the hottest weekend of the year, so spent most of it outside. Ben's great and spent several hours chatting. Their hamper was delicious, highly recommend the apple juice :) and local chicken and sausages were great on the BBQ as were the veggie sausages. Thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

10 of us recently had a brilliant time celebrating our friend's hen do at beautiful Summerhill Farm. The yerts were lovely, it was cold outside but we were snug as bugs inside with the woodburners. The cooking facilities are excellent and everything you need is available, including a dishwasher which we were very glad of, being such a big group. The yerts we stayed in looked onto lovely fields and we had an amazing view of the stars at night.
If I had to say anything negative it would just be to say that if anyone doesn't like dogs, it might be worth mentioning that when you book, as they have 2 large dogs which are overly friendly and like to leap on you at random moments, which can actually be quite scary if it's dark!
All in all, had an amazing time and we are all thinking of booking a reunion hen do, same time, same place next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hopmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

What a great time we had staying in a yurt in Summerhill Farm....
Three kids aged 16,13 and 9 all really enjoyed themselves.
We picked eggs and held chickens, we laughed at the geese, we barbequed with a view to die for and we even fed a baby calf a bottle of milk...all things far from our urban real life.
Out and about we visited most of Devon and enjoyed local cuisine, swam in the sea at Exmouth and even saw Hugh F-W at the River Cottage Canteen at Axminster.
I would go back in a heartbeat...(if it wasn't for the drive from Glasgow)
The owners of the farm and their new baby couldn't be more friendly and helpful...
Just lovely....and great memories to last the winter....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This place has a very nice atmosphere and is clearly very much set up for families and kids which (despite not having kids) was all fine with us. The Farm own 5 yurts and from the website it looks like the other four of these are very nice however the one we stayed in was the now infamous 'Red Yurt'.

Unlike the other ones in the photos and on their website, this yurt is not a traditional Mongolian one with felting/insulation or built on decking. Instead it's basically more like a tent in the shape of a Yurt (a very small yurt ) and with sizable holes in the door frame. As a result, has no thermal mass and is very drafty. Although the stove helps, the heat escapes immediately so a couple of hours after going to sleep, the fire's died and it's freezing. Couple this with a queen sized cheap pollyester duvet and the slope that it's been erected on (so you end up 'falling' down the bed and out the bottom) and it makes for a terrible night's sleep.

I'm sure if we'd stayed in the other small yurt we would have had a much better experience (and I'd advise anyone thinking of going here to make it explicit that you don't want to be in the Red Yurt!) but we were pretty much exhausted and either freezing through the night or, (when the sun shone) pretty baking in the day for the whole week ... Clearly the owners had never spent the night there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenM66, Owner at Summerhill Farm, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
We were very sorry to hear that Angus and partner didn’t enjoy their stay with us. We were not made aware of any problems at the time and as such it is disappointing to find out after departure and not have the opportunity to address the concerns at the time. We are always looking at ways to improve our service and rely on the feedback from guests to help us.

We pride ourselves on our level of service and always do our best to sort out any problems and issues when notified as well as catering for any specific requests for example, extra bedding, provision of travel cot etc. The comfort of guests is the most important factor, especially a good night’s sleep. It was disconcerting to hear that this was not the case and we have taken steps to rectify the issues raised (although we can’t change the size of the yurt). The red yurt has been in use all through the season and this was the first time we have had negative feedback. It was purchased as a replacement for our bell tent with flexibility in mind (it can be moved very easily and quickly to either give more privacy or be incorporated into a group) and priced accordingly.

We do try out all our accommodation and I tried it out myself early in the spring, albeit when the weather was settled and dry, but I think the weather has played its part since then with almost constant rain and frequent strong winds. As a result I am looking to improve the siting for next year, a level permanent site and more sheltered.

We aim to be inclusive and cater for all, whether groups, couples or families. Naturally the school holidays is a peak time for family bookings while we see a lot more couples and group bookings during the off peak season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our welcome could not have been friendlier! Summerhill is a working organic farm surrounded by the most stunning scenery. The three yurts on site are beautifully appointed and secluded, and the kitchen facilities are great. The shower and toilet facilities are basic but very very clean and the Orchard Yurt has it's own compost loo and gas powered shower if you really want to get 'back to nature'! You have to bear in mind that this is a farm and you have to go through the farm to get to the facilities and to the yurts so it makes the place all the more interesting! We were provided with free fresh-organic free-range eggs and bread and shown around the site. There are beautiful walks neaby and welcoming country pubs only a few miles away. So much to do here we could have stayed an extra few days and would go back without a shaddow of a doubt!

Room Tip: Orchard Yurt is further away from the main facilities but is nice and secluded and has the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for a week mid August and despite the weather really enjoyed the experience. This is the second year that yurts have been available on this organic farm in Devon which is home to Devon red cattle,sheep, two pigs, hens and many geese. The boys, 12 and 10, enjoyed helping to collect the eggs and this is a popular activity with many of the children who stay here judging by the comments in the visitor's book. We were particularly impressed with the friendliness of the farmer, Ben. He made a point of seeking out the boys to help with the eggs after I had asked earlier in the day whether they could assist him and was happy to talk when he could have been getting on with other things. Our yurt was very confortable and light with a small wood burning stove which the boys enjoyed lighting and a place outside where they could also light fires for barbeques etc. I would warn people however to bear in mind that that this is a working farm and the yurts are an addition to the farm's activities and as a result sometimes there is a lack of attention to detail e.g things run out ( matches, firelighters), it gets muddy and there is also only a limited chance to dry anything out should it get damp. There is however a large room where children can play ( inluding a pool table which our boys really appreciated) with info on local places, activities etc and an adjacent well stocked kitchen with fridges and cookers. It was lovely to see all the geese run into the field of a morning and into the barns at night and all in all our week there was a really enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soomark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Summerhill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Farm

Property: Summerhill Farm
Address: Hittisleigh EX6 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hittisleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hittisleigh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Summerhill Farm Hittisleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing