We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
147
42
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
42
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub coronation chicken old style pub traditional sunday lunch food chosen a wonderful nights stay stay again when in the area attending a wedding nearby staff were friendly helpful complimentary tea plenty of car parking space puds homemade pies filter coffee staff went out of their way mash a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent surroundings and good value for money good. Value sized portions with very friendly staff. We spent a long time catching up with friends but were never put under any pressure to leave. Thank you

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank GeoffP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Nice food but far too much on the plate. A very old fashioned pub with older clientele so it wasn't really for me. Haven't tried Sunday lunch but heard it's nice. The young waitresses were nice. The tables are packed in tight. Took half hour for food to come. The dessert was microwaved so a little soggy. Service extremely slow.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Whilst at work we broke down in the car park of this pub it was a cold and wet evening and we were supplied with tea and coffee from the extremely friendly bar staff and waited in the warmth by the fire awaiting recovery would recommend highly nice cosy friendly pub

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank PortsmouthDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Thank you guys

It was a pleasure looking after you both.
Hope you shared the cookies evenly.
Hope to see you again

Many Thanks

Ema and The Jolly Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I stayed at The Jolly Drover with my husband and 2 teenage sons for 3 nights from 9-12th February, whilst attending our niece's wedding at Tithe Barn. We had 2 rooms, 1 double, 1 twin. The accommodation was neat, spotlessly clean and well serviced by all the 'niceties & necessities' - tea/coffee making facilities (inc cafetiere)/bottled water, hairdryer, iron/ironing board/trouser press, etc. Rooms were cleaned and restocked each morning and we were consulted as to when it was most convenient for us to clean our rooms, which was nice.

The weather was bitterly cold during our stay; it took us a night to work out how to regulate the temperature in our rooms (freezing on arrival, but baking hot in the morning as we left the heaters on overnight). The heaters really kicked out some heat, which was very much needed! The shower in our double room was fantastic; our sons' room had a wet room, which was functional (but ours was better)!

The staff were, without exception, friendly and welcoming and the general atmosphere was relaxed, with staff interacting warmly/genuinely with each other, which was lovely to see.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were even offered a lift home from Tithe Barn (the wedding venue) if we were unable to phone a cab (due to the poor phone signal at the venue). We also received a phone call before we left home on the first night of our stay to advise that the kitchen would be closing soon, so would we like to order any food before our arrival...both examples of customer service 'over and above' by anyone's standards :-)

The breakfast was lovely, with a choice of hot and cold options, plus juices, tea/coffee etc. Self-service for cereals, toasting bread etc, with no limits. Staff always happy to accommodate any adaptations to the main hot menu options.

Please be aware that the phone signal for most networks is extremely poor in the general area, so free-wifi access at The Jolly Drover was a real necessity.

In summary, a really enjoyable stay - can recommend without hesitation and will definitely stay again if in the area. A huge thank you to all the lovely staff who made our stay such a good one xx

Room tip: Room 1 has a wet room; Room 2 has a fab shower!
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely long review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Jolly Drover and hope you will visit again soon.
I also like to reward the staff when a great trip advisor message comes through so I will thank you on their behalf too.
Kind Regards

Ema and The Jolly Crew x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Just enjoyed a superb lunch with a friend at this pub. Excellent food beautifully cooked. no fewer than six different kinds of vegetables as well as roast potatoes. Ample helpings but welcome option to have a slightly smaller amount. Friendly efficient staff. We highly recommend this.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tswalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeish, Manager at The Jolly Drover, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, We hope to see you again soon.

From The Jolly Drover Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews