We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming inn to sleep, eat and drink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flying Bull Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Liss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very welcoming inn to sleep, eat and drink”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great pub as a base for exploring the local area. The room was clean tidy and comfortable and the owners we're great hosts and all of the other staff were equally polite and helpful. The breakfasts are cooked to order from a wide choice of options - the daily papers made for a relaxed wait for the preparation of the local produce. The pub has both great ales and fantastic food with specials and a standard menu. Overall a great place at a good price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ponsylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    27
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
48
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Chalet room off of carpark- suited us as the dog was with is. Theres a larfe fiekd at the back and a noce walk along a country lane by the side of the pub, so very good for the dog. Good range of drinks. Food quite good- very decent pub food. Very, very good breakfast. Very nice staff. My only gripe is that the radiator in the bathroom didn't work. I had a decent night's sleep there- unusual for me when I'm travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbitmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at The Flying Bull Inn in Sept 13. The room was very well presented and extremely clean. I went into the pub for a quick beer, staff and customers seemed friendly enough. Would recommend - nice location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisBGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We chose this hotel/pub from Internet because of the good reviews on trip advisor etc. My husband and I were attending a wedding in Liphook (about 15mns by car away). We arrived at Liss train station and as there was no taxi there a Liss resident very kindly offered to drive us to Flying bull. Our room was very large and very clean. Room had tea making facilities. Good selection on menu. We had dinner there and food was very good . Great selection for breakfast . Beautiful Forrest walks in the area. Only drawback is if you do not have your car Taxis are very scarce and quite expensive. Allow 15-20 mns wait for taxi.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here one night on business in July 2013.

Arrived quite late due to being held up in London for various reasons, and the nice man who greeted me very kindly let me order from the menu even though it was very late. He then took my things to my room for me.

I chose the chicken and chorizo penne from the menu, and the food was of an excellent standard.

The room I stayed in was 'Dorset' and I can honestly say that as someone who does a fair amount of travelling throughout the UK and staying in hotels due to work, this is definitely one of the nicest rooms I have ever had. It was spotlessly clean, there wasn't a mark on anything. I felt like I was the first person to have ever stayed in it.

I really loved the Flying Bull, it's an absolutely charming place, and I would love to stay again when in the area! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ISawAnAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It was just for one night but the place was very clean and the pub style dinner-excellent! Slept on a very comfy mattress despite that fact that it was very hot! Woke up to tea/coffee making facilities, a nice shower and an excellent breakfast before starting our day. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Also, a nice garden available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back because of the busy road - unless you sleep like a log (Surrey).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightels2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a very good B and B,
They are friendly without being over the top.Everything you need is supplied or immediately available.
Very clean and well furnished.
The whole place has been upgraded.
Breakfast was good although scrambled egg lessons might be an idea !
Really pleasant stay .
Would stay again and recommend to others.
It's not pretentious , it's just friendly, clean and very good value
I hope they make a great success of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 600Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liss
2.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
6.5 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Bull Inn

Property: The Flying Bull Inn
Address: London Road | Rake, Liss GU33 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Liss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Flying Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A village inn in Rake, near Liss, the Flying Bull has a traditional pub and restaurant serving homemade meals for lunch and dinner. Free on-site parking and free Wi-Fi are available, and Petersfield town centre is 5 miles away.All rooms are located in a modern, purpose-built extension with a private entrance. A flat-screen TV, a work desk, tea/coffee making facilities and an en suite bathroom feature in each room.The Flying Bull serves classic British dishes and real ales in the restaurant and bar with open fire. A full English breakfast is available in the morning, as well as lighter options.The South Downs National Park is 10 minutes’ drive from the hotel. Winchester city centre is 25 miles away, and sights in the former capital include Winchester Cathedral and Winchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Flying Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flying Bull Inn Liss, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing