We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nearly faultless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flying Bull Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Liss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the good fortune to stay here over the Easter Bank holiday week-end and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we could not fail to be impressed by the friendliness of the welcome from Russell and Chris as well as their staff. We haven't been here for about 2 years so the changes to décor and furnishings are a pleasure to behold.
We stayed in "Devon" which was perfect for our needs - everything had been laid out ready for our arrival and both bedroom and bathroom were spotless. As we had an engagement in Liss that evening we did not eat but do not be discouraged reader, as the cooked breakfast the following morning was excellent as was the service provided by the breakfast lady!
Had we have managed to operate the radiator or maybe it wasn't switched on(?) - it is still a bit chilly late at night - we would be marking this up as a 5 - even so it is still a 4.5 review and we will return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homerLone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for the recent Goodwood members 72 meeting. We had a small room, which was relatively expensive,Staff were Friendly, limited menu, room carpets and fittings could do with a good hover and dusting. Tea making cups etc need to be put in a dishwasher. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbroddlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for three nights for a long weekend and was delighted with the standard of accommodation. A really friendly welcome from the bar staff at check in and shown to a nice room, very clean and nicely furnished and decorated. it proved to be very comfortable. The staff arranged a table in the bar for dinner and the service was good with plenty of choice from the regular menu plus "specials board". very reasonably priced food, nicely presented and very tasty. Great burgers and great pies!! The wine list had some good choices and all well priced. Breakfast was nicely presented and again high quality with plenty of choice. a great little find, just like and English pub with rooms and food should be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here whilst the men played golf and the women visited Gun Wharf keys..perfect location!
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities are dog friendly but we requested a room that dogs are not allowed in...which was not a problem!
Both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent quality and were complimented by lovely wine and a selection of ales.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We received a warm welcome at The Flying Bull and the accommodation was just as described on their web site. In short what you expect from a small inn. Thanks for a very comfortable night's sleep guys.

The Bull English breakfast was well cooked and well presented in the dining area next to the bar. The free wifi worked well, maybe a little slowly.

A bit out of town but it is after all a country pub!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Flying Bull and would highly recommend it...Really welcoming arrival, lovely clean room, and absolutely fantastic breakfast... eggs laid on site! A few of our friends stayed here too and were as equally pleased.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarDar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great pub as a base for exploring the local area. The room was clean tidy and comfortable and the owners we're great hosts and all of the other staff were equally polite and helpful. The breakfasts are cooked to order from a wide choice of options - the daily papers made for a relaxed wait for the preparation of the local produce. The pub has both great ales and fantastic food with specials and a standard menu. Overall a great place at a good price.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ponsylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liss hotels
1.3 mi away
The Jolly Drover
The Jolly Drover
#2 of 5 in Liss
141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hawkley Inn
Hawkley Inn
#1 of 5 in Liss
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Overglen Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Bull Inn

Address: London Road | Rake, Liss GU33 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Liss
Price Range: £74 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, traditional Inn located on the borders of Hampshire and West Sussex in glorious countryside. There are seven 4 star AA rated bedrooms with comfy beds and fluffy pillows. The Inn serves proper English pub food such as homemade cottage pie, liver & bacon casserole and steak & ale pie. All our desserts are homemade and include sticky toffee pudding, apple crumble and treacle tart. There is a wooden floored bar complete with real open fire and a selection of local ales and wines. This is a paradise for walkers as there is some of the most stunning country views in the UK. The Flying Bull, named after a local landowner 300 years ago, truly is a traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Flying Bull Inn Liss, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing