We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”
Review of Hawkley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawkley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Liss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here one night as a family to get an early start to the Festival of Speed at Goodwood and what a choice.

The welcome was friendly, as was the service throughout our stay, the rooms were comfortable and spacious.
The pub is delightful. Lovely garden, good local ales and the food is exquisite. The sirloin steak I had was prepared and cooked to perfection - I was so impressed I made a point of talking to the chef to find out what his tricks were!

We will definitely return whether as a family or a couple.

I could not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    35
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
87
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We arrived on a hot afternoon and were welcomed in the cool, shady bar area where we were quickly served our drinks and introduced to Mike who showed us up to our room (Cowes). The room was tastefully decorated with quality furnishings, overlooking the quiet lane on which the pub sits. Comfortable king sized bed with white 100% cotton bed linen, tv in a sensible position on the wall at the foot of the bed, fabulous shower room which looked recently fitted (turned out to be one of the best shower pressure's I've experienced in an hotel). A thoughtful touch in the presence of a decanter with a snifter of whiskey and two glasses on a tray was appreciated later in the evening.
The decor in the bar and dining areas is no frills stone floor, scrubbed pine tables and a mix-match arrangement of chairs which suits the informal atmosphere. A good range of wines and excellent beers and ciders was in evidence. And we found the food excellent with a fixed printed menu, plus a daily specials list. We tried the crab and chilli linguini, and the seafood platter and both were excellent. We discovered that they don't serve food on Sunday evenings (they do a big Sunday roast at lunchtime), but they directed us to a great Indian restaurant in nearby Liss, and suggested we got a takeout and brought it back so we could have a drink without driving.
We had our Labrador with us and found the owners extremely dog friendly, which was great as the weather was too hot to leave her in the car, so we spent time in the shade in the garden at the rear, or she was allowed under the table whilst we ate inside (she's very well behaved!)
All in all a great, friendly place which I would definitely use again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Cowes is overlooking the quiet lane and fields at the front of the hotel. We saw a Roe deer twice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 534HappyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

What a country gem The Hawkley Inn is.

Tucked away on a narrow country lane on the edge of a pretty Hampshire village, the inn is appealing and charming.

The friendly welcome is genuine and everyone I met (on 3 visits) were extremely pleasant. Excellent service, great food, a terrific wine list (and reasonable) and a wide range of beers.

There's a great mix of 'locals' (became an honorary one on third visit), day-trip walkers and guests with lively/fun banter. If you're staying, don't miss out on breakfast - probably one of the best of many that I've had (full English).

To the rear is an enclosed garden whilst the veranda-style front is a terrific place to sup a beer and watch the world drift by.

Definitely going to return...probably quite soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkHunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Following a warm welcome when we arrived at this great pub, we were promptly shown to our room which was lovely and spacious, overlooking the back garden and views beyond. The chocolate placed on each pillow of the large, comfy bed was a lovely touch!! The fire in the bar created a great atmosphere within this wonderful traditional pub, which was full of locals as well as people spending the evening in the restaurant. The menu and specials board provided a great choice of food which was very good, including the breakfast that we enjoyed on both days of our stay. Lovely peaceful surroundings with walks from the doorstep added to the enjoyment of the weekend. Would not hesitate to recommend this pub.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cowdray Room which was very clean and spacious. The bed was lovely and large and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were very happy to arrive at the Hawkley Inn after a full day's cycling, and were made very welcome. The accommodation was of a higher standard than we'd normally expect to find in a pub-with-rooms; after a nice soak in the bath we enjoyed some excellent hand-pumped cider and great food. After a very sound sleep and a full breakfast we were on our way. This was our first exploration of the South Downs, which were spectacularly covered in May flowers - the road North winds through wooded valleys covered in wild garlic and bluebells. We'll be back (en route to Normandy in July). Many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickTroth, Owner at Hawkley Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Every time we see a review which recognises the work we do the whole team is lifted and no better time for that than at the end of a long bank holiday weekend. So, thank you so much for your very kind review and appreciation of the Hawkley Inn and what we do here. I hope the rest of your epic cycle trip was also a joy and we look forward to your next visit.
Cheers!
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hacking out with friends is a joy: enhanced when you can go to this pub and get a great reception, fantastic food genuine warm welcome it makes life worth living. Going back again with or without 4 legged hoofed friends: this proves all is ok in England! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Well off the beaten track, but so worth it. Great beer festivals & music, and a selection of draught ales, and ciders, regularly available to die for.
Such lovely staff and welcoming of dogs and grubby walkers.
I cannot think of a better pub for beer anywhere near. I love it. I just wish I lived closer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WhizzKidUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liss
1.7 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
144 reviews
9.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
9.0 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkley Inn

Property: Hawkley Inn
Address: Pococks Lane | Liss, Near Petersfield, Liss GU33 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Liss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawkley Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of delightful tranquil village, close to the Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex border.Downstairs you will find an unspoilt, little changed traditional pub serving a huge range of locally brewed real ales and locally crafted ciders as well as really good, home made country pub food. Outside there is a spacious, well maintained beer garden and upstairs there are four superb bedrooms, all recently created and boasting the highest standards of comfort with luxurious large double beds, powerful showers, free wi-fi and everything else you would expect in a luxury hotel room.Hawkley is very well situated for those wishing to explore the outstanding countryside on our doorstep and for those who need to be near Petersfield, Alton, Basingstoke, Portsmouth or Guildford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hawkley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkley Hotel Liss
Hawkley Inn Liss, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing