We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurrah for the Hawkley”
Review of Hawkley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawkley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Liss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hurrah for the Hawkley”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We last visited the Hawkley many years ago, when it was under different ownership, but the present owner has managed to provide accommodation and an enhanced dining experience without compromising its character. We received a warm welcome on our arrival for a two night stay, and were delighted to see the moose head still presiding over the fireplace and a fine array of real ales and ciders on offer in the bar.

We were shown to our room which was tastefully furnished and decorated (very Farrow & Ball), with a luxuriously comfortable bed. The bathroom had quality fixtures and fittings including one of the largest baths I've seen for a long time, while plenty of toiletries and large fluffy towels completed the bathing experience. Unusually for a pub bed & breakfast, the hospitality tray included a coffee filter machine with fresh ground coffee, and to my husband's delight, a decanter containing a snifter of whiskey.

We ate twice at the pub, on both occasions with friends and we all agreed that the food was imaginative without being pretentious, hearty and flavourful, what I would call 'real food'. I only wish I had been able to sample more from the menu. Breakfast was very good too, served with good humour by the chefs themselves.

The pub has bags of character (don't mention the carpet!), a knowledgeable and genial host, and staff who clearly enjoy working there, which makes for a good atmosphere. Cardvarnish will undoubtedly return.

Room Tip: Room no. 4 (Hambledon) has a splendid bed and a bath big enough for two. Views over the garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    35
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
87
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from the bar staff made up as woodland animals.We were served by a very friendly squirrel who poured our drinks and showed us to our table.The pub boasts a good selection of beers and ciders .From an interesting menu we had a varied selection of starters,the knickerbocker seafood salad was delicious,the beetroot soup very good and the lamb soup superb....for main course most of us chose the roast beef.This was beautifully cooked with a big dish of vegetables.I had the lamb with roasted meditteranean veg and my daughter the tagliatelli.
We all finished off with a dessert which were marvellous.We'll be back for sure.Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent one night at this inn booked the day before arrival. We would have stayed longer but it was fully booked. I can not praise the experience enough. It was the little touches that made it so special.

We are a family of 4 with a 7&9 year old. We arrived an hour early and were shown to our rooms by a lovely and friendly gentleman. The rooms are gorgeous. So tasteful. The beds are comfy and feel luxurious. The room came complete with a lovely decanter with whiskey and coffee maker.

We stayed in the suite called Goodwood. You could hear the pub noise whilst it was open but it was not loud and I actually fell asleep after a delicious meal at the inn at 9.30pm.

Whilst here the children were made a fuss of and they loved it. They found them games and books and even bought a flapjack out for my daughter when they heard it was her birthday next week.

Lovely time and I want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dushkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford in kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked this on line after seeing the reviews on TA. I wanted something a bit special for a rare childfree weekend. I made the booking by telephone with the land lord Nick, and was impressed with the efficient service and professional website. Just what I wanted.
When I turned up and saw a rather shabby façade and a 'homely' but basic bar area I was a little worried. We were led to our room, and things instantly got better. What a lovely room, spacious, crisp white sheets and a wonderfully fluffy quilt. Lovely and clean and one of the best showers I have had for a while. There was a tv on the wall at the foot of the bed and surprisingly free wifi which I had no problem connecting too.
We had booked our meal in the bar and were not disappointed.
Overall everything I was looking for after my first impression. Thank you for a great nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandbtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in the Cowes room. Great food ... Huge selection of real ales and ciders. Carpet in need of attention in the bar! Sweet garden and wonderful country views from our room... obvious that it would be noisy until the pub was closed but that was fine for us. Lovely accommodation with kind and well thought out details . Whiskey and chocolates, good coffee and bottled water. Great breakfast and a very good overall cost... Happy all round.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here one night as a family to get an early start to the Festival of Speed at Goodwood and what a choice.

The welcome was friendly, as was the service throughout our stay, the rooms were comfortable and spacious.
The pub is delightful. Lovely garden, good local ales and the food is exquisite. The sirloin steak I had was prepared and cooked to perfection - I was so impressed I made a point of talking to the chef to find out what his tricks were!

We will definitely return whether as a family or a couple.

I could not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here with my husband for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We arrived on a hot afternoon and were welcomed in the cool, shady bar area where we were quickly served our drinks and introduced to Mike who showed us up to our room (Cowes). The room was tastefully decorated with quality furnishings, overlooking the quiet lane on which the pub sits. Comfortable king sized bed with white 100% cotton bed linen, tv in a sensible position on the wall at the foot of the bed, fabulous shower room which looked recently fitted (turned out to be one of the best shower pressure's I've experienced in an hotel). A thoughtful touch in the presence of a decanter with a snifter of whiskey and two glasses on a tray was appreciated later in the evening.
The decor in the bar and dining areas is no frills stone floor, scrubbed pine tables and a mix-match arrangement of chairs which suits the informal atmosphere. A good range of wines and excellent beers and ciders was in evidence. And we found the food excellent with a fixed printed menu, plus a daily specials list. We tried the crab and chilli linguini, and the seafood platter and both were excellent. We discovered that they don't serve food on Sunday evenings (they do a big Sunday roast at lunchtime), but they directed us to a great Indian restaurant in nearby Liss, and suggested we got a takeout and brought it back so we could have a drink without driving.
We had our Labrador with us and found the owners extremely dog friendly, which was great as the weather was too hot to leave her in the car, so we spent time in the shade in the garden at the rear, or she was allowed under the table whilst we ate inside (she's very well behaved!)
All in all a great, friendly place which I would definitely use again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Cowes is overlooking the quiet lane and fields at the front of the hotel. We saw a Roe deer twice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 534HappyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liss
1.7 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
144 reviews
9.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
9.0 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkley Inn

Property: Hawkley Inn
Address: Pococks Lane | Liss, Near Petersfield, Liss GU33 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Liss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawkley Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of delightful tranquil village, close to the Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex border.Downstairs you will find an unspoilt, little changed traditional pub serving a huge range of locally brewed real ales and locally crafted ciders as well as really good, home made country pub food. Outside there is a spacious, well maintained beer garden and upstairs there are four superb bedrooms, all recently created and boasting the highest standards of comfort with luxurious large double beds, powerful showers, free wi-fi and everything else you would expect in a luxury hotel room.Hawkley is very well situated for those wishing to explore the outstanding countryside on our doorstep and for those who need to be near Petersfield, Alton, Basingstoke, Portsmouth or Guildford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hawkley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkley Hotel Liss
Hawkley Inn Liss, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing