We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“England at it's best”
Review of Hawkley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawkley Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Liss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“England at it's best”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Never would have found this without satnav, but the best treasures are often the hidden ones.
Great infusion of the old traditional local country village pub with four wonderful chic modern bedrooms.
Add to this the excellent food and very friendly service and you see why this place has an AA 4 star rating.
Set within a short drive from Liss and Pertersfield just west of the A3 it is very convenient for shopping/sightseeing trips to Portsmouth and Chichester and even closer for those who enjoy walking arould the South Downs.
The Hawkley Inn has brochures covering many fabulous country walks easy enough for beginners and experienced alike.
There is no car park as such but there is plenty of room for parking along this quiet lane with only local village traffic passing through.
The weekends get busy especially if there is entertainment on either inside or out in the garden but it is by no means a rowdy pub and it all adds to the warm friendly ambience of the old British pub of years gone by. You almost feel like you are gatecrashing a private party but are made to feel welcome all the same.
Would definitely recommend this place and will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jareynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    35
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
88
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We popped in with friends - we haven't been here for years and years (not since Big Al was here with his swamp donkey cider!!!!).

Once you find the place (no mean feat even though we are locals!) the welcome is warm. The bar area is very narrow, so the chances are it will feel like a 'crush' as you come in the front door. Don't worry, there's more room round the side and back.

The two ladies opted for beetroot salad with goats cheese - very nice and more cheese on the board that initial impressions would suggest. Husbands went for soup (thick) and the egg on toast - which was a real winner (warning - it's quite large - good job my husband can tuck it away!).

Main courses were great too and followed up by a cheese board (between the girls), blueberry thing and my husband went for the chocolate.

We can't confirm that value of the dinner as our friends wouldn't let us pay and we never saw the bill! I suspect it was more than your average pub meal (our main courses were £15 or £16 each) but nonetheless, it was a good night!

p.s. the pub is dog friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked Hawkley Inn on our Wedding Night (3rd of May). It was absolutely fantastic. Our reception was held down the road and we walked back to the Inn late at night. When we entered the room it was beautiful. Red roses, champagne, lovely little adjustments and a personal note from everyone at the Inn congratulating us on our Wedding day. We really didn't expect this and it was so incredibly kind and thoughtful of the staff at this wonderful Inn. Everything about the room was excellent and super comfortable. The breakfast was gorgeous and it was a very relaxing place to start the day. We cannot recommend this Inn highly enough, the staff are all so friendly and welcoming and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely friendly place that I would recommend to anyone. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very cosy with great views. Food and selection of beer are best. Situated in a great location for walks and relaxation. Owner and staff can't do enough for you, and must say a big thank you for a amazing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COOKSTER7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at The Hawkley Inn last weekend while we walked part of the South Downs Way. We arrived Friday evening and sat outside on the benches with comfy cushions. The food was so good on Friday night we decided to eat there Saturday night too. We were given a table for 5 in its own room which was nice and intimate , I loved the nice touch of prosseco in an ice bucket on the bar and enjoyed a cool glass. Our party had three rooms and all of them were clean ,comfy and nicely decorated. There was a lovely deep bath which was very welcome after a day on the downs. The view from our window looked out accross a field of rape, beautiful! Simon the host was really friendly and did all he could to make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After about 20 hours in a plane followed by Winchester and Salisbury Cathedrals, you cannot imagine our pleasure and relief at the beautiful room allocated to us at Hawkley, featuring a large and comfortable sleigh bed into which my wife promptly melted. Our inchoate babbling some hours later miraculously resulted in a "flight" of regional ale and two excellent dinners.

We spent three nights at Hawkley, the local inn for the lovely village of the same name. While others may have been walking the South Downs, we were busy motoring around the South East, comfortable in the knowledge that at the end of our travels, a great bed awaited and a hearty breakfast in the morning.

The Hawkley staff are flexible and pleasant, keen to make their Inn bend to the needs of their guests. The breakfasts were not tied to the menu, but rather open to a mix and match approach to suit the guests' taste. Thanks to the Hawkley Inn for making the start of our holiday so comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewCheevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went here Sat 18th May 2014 Lovely old Pub with nice garden were there with family and a 4 year old, the staff were very helpful and obliging but unfortunately the menu was limited . no childs menu, no fish or chicken meals and only the meat pie was served with vegetables, what we had was acceptable but would like to see at least fish on the menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liss
1.7 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
145 reviews
9.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
327 reviews
4.7 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.1 mi away
The Jolly Drover
The Jolly Drover
#3 of 5 in Liss
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkley Inn

Property: Hawkley Inn
Address: Pococks Lane | Liss, Near Petersfield, Liss GU33 6NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Liss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawkley Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of delightful tranquil village, close to the Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex border.Downstairs you will find an unspoilt, little changed traditional pub serving a huge range of locally brewed real ales and locally crafted ciders as well as really good, home made country pub food. Outside there is a spacious, well maintained beer garden and upstairs there are four superb bedrooms, all recently created and boasting the highest standards of comfort with luxurious large double beds, powerful showers, free wi-fi and everything else you would expect in a luxury hotel room.Hawkley is very well situated for those wishing to explore the outstanding countryside on our doorstep and for those who need to be near Petersfield, Alton, Basingstoke, Portsmouth or Guildford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hawkley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkley Hotel Liss
Hawkley Inn Liss, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing