We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food that ticks the boxes in a lovely rural setting”
Review of The Spread Eagle

The Spread Eagle
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Liss
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food that ticks the boxes in a lovely rural setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've lived locally for over 40 years and have never visited this pub until Sunday. We had a party of 5 and had the lunch menu. The pub was very busy as it was a nice day but we were served quickly and did not have to wait long for our food. It was well cooked and tasty. The puddings were divine.

It has a lovely garden and play area for children and caters for family meals and judging by the number of families in the pub it's obviously a very popular place. Booking may be advisable.

I would certainly re-visit the pub for special occasion or even for a leisurely bite to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven F, Owner at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, my wife is the pastry chef here and your comment on her desserts has made her day. We all hope to see you again soon. We have a new menu coming out at the end of this week so keep an eye on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening in the sunshine”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening last night with a couple of friends and our boys. Such a lovely experience for parents when you have three 9 year old boys with you who can't sit down for a second...the outside space is brilliant they spent their time playing football...leaving us to have a lovely time to chat in peace.

The food is always fabulous, nicely presented and very tasty. We had the fish and chips and burgers...so yummy and the coleslaw delicious. The slim pretty lady who has served us on a couple of occasions is always polite chatty and smiley.

Think our friends will be back too. Thanks to everyone at "The Dead Eagle" as the boys affectionately call it!! We can't understand why people would leave such negative comments..we love it

Helpful?
Thank Bunny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven F, Owner at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are all glad you enjoyed your visit. After all the rain we have had it is nice to see people out in the garden enjoying the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing food served here. Each time we've been its been quiet dont understand why because food is outstanding and would eat there every night if I could

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven F, Owner at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are all glad you enjoyed our food and hope to see you again soon. we have a new menu out soon. keep an eye on our website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My friends and I have visited on the odd occasion but sadly this was a let a down. Because our roasts were average, thought perhaps the veg had been re-heated from the previous day as the potatoes especially were terrible and overall it wasn't great for the money. Disappointing Sunday lunch (maybe it was Saturdays?)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Radical_rufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Perfect afternoon”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a spot of lunch on Sunday as the children were hungry and we were feeling lazy! We certainly got more than we bargained for. I had Roast Turkey that was delicious and my husband had a Burger that looked amazing (I'll be having it next time). The children enjoyed their meals too. Although it was a busy sunny afternoon we didn't have to wait long for our food and the staff were all lovely and took the time to engage with us. The children played so happily in the fantastic play area and we were able to enjoy a cool drink whilst keeping an eye on them. I would definitely recommend this lovely country pub, thanks for a memorable afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven F, Owner at The Spread Eagle, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi Sarah, we are all glad you enjoyed your visit, you will definitely have to come back to try one of our burgers, they are famous!! Hope to see you soon, from all of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spread Eagle also viewed

 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Liss, Hampshire
 

Been to The Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing