We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub and best steak ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Temple Inn

The Temple Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Liss
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly pub and best steak ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A warm and friendly welcome as soon as you arrive from new landlords Paul and Anita. The recently refurbished pub and new gardens/terrace make this pub the perfect place for a quiet drink or a relaxing meal. There is plenty of choice on the menu and the food was amazing, I had steak followed by syrup sponge pudding and it was delicious with generous portions.You could taste the quality of the meat and it was cooked to perfection.

It was well worth the journey and I will definitely be returning soon to try the rest of the menu! I also hope to be able to attend one of your themed nights which I have heard a lot about.

Thank you for such a pleasurable experience-you define what a 'real' pub should be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Han_h88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    46
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good quality food with plenty of choice, including vegetarian. Very friendly hosts. Lovely and clean throughout. Attended Burns Night function evening which was great and well attended. Other function evenings advertised inside on black board. Meals good value. Sunday roast highly recommended. Nice new garden and decking area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marmite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First meal there, will definitely go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

First of all you get a very warm friendly welcome from Anita and Paul in this lovely pub in a beautiful village. Secondly, the new deck area and lawned garden was lovely on this hottest day of the year so far. Sunday lunch was superb - a selection of various roasts (I chose lamb shanks, the meat was tender and just fell off the bone) and huge portions of roast potatoes, and various seasonal vegetables. No room for dessert but they did look yummy! I shall be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
“first impression”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

You never get a second chance to make first impression and our first impression was good. The food was excellent. The occasion was for a lunch for four chosen as a halfway point between Woking and Waterlooville where we can have a natter and a nice meal. We won't have to search any more for a good venue for a get together. Next time might for dinner as the menu was so tempting. Thank you Anita and Paul for a good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Sunday Lunch we have found in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have been regulars of The Temple for quite some time and Anita and Paul's hospitality is excellent. We went to one of their themed nights (Indian) which was fantastic value, good food and good entertainment, they both worked hard to decorate the pub in Indian style. We have eaten up there at lunch time and the Cod and chips is highly recommended the fish was huge and filled the plate and was fleshy and tasted so fresh. Today we have had the most excellent sunday lunch. We are dubious of eating sunday lunch out as we have tried numerous establishments in the area and found them most disappointing. The best by far. The quality of the meat was excellent, plenty of roast potatoes and veg and cooked to perfection and Paul your gravy is amazing xxx
Kirky and Sarah from Liss

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Temple Inn also viewed

 
Liss, Hampshire
 

Been to The Temple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing