We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional good, true gem of the balearic”
Review of Can Sastre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Can Sastre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Gertrudis
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed the last three days of our 12 day holiday in/ at Can Sastre, to our regret, as we we wished we stayed here for the full 12 days! John and Michi do their utmost to give a fantastic experience, the rooms are beautiful, spacious and full of character. The property has an ancient well and orange and olive orchard which make the surroundings into a peaceful oasis even in the midst of Ibiza August frenzy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

John and Michaela Davenport are delightful hosts who know Ibiza intimately. Their wealth of knowledge and advice was invaluable and we felt from the outset that we were 'in the know' and got the most out of our stay on the island because of it. Perfectly situated in the centre, you're literally 15 minutes from anywhere.

'Can Sastre' is not luxurious, chi chi or over-styled. It is quite simply very lovely, very comfortable and very very mellow.

A little oasis - truly, utterly. You'll become addicted to it, we have!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our first holiday abroad with the new baby was a bit of an eye opener. I had visions of wafting around in my sarong while our beloved baby slept in a shady hammock or some such. How wrong could I have been? After two weeks in a self catering villa we were exhausted to say the least. Hubby and I agreed we needed to extend our holiday by five days in order to find the relaxation we had been determined to get. I went online and found CAN SASTRE. I called up and spoke to John would said that luck was on our side a room was available. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by both John and Michaela and three very friendly dogs. Our room was cool and spacious and well equipped. On spying the baby, a kettle and a fridge were swiftly offered up. By the first evening at Can Sastre we started to relax. Michaela's cooking is very, very good. We had aimed to eat at the hotel for one night but ended up eating there every single night. There is a magic to the place that is hard to describe but it mainly stems from John and Michaela themselves. On asking for a back gammon board, they went to the town to buy us one! They are special people with great taste in wine, food and music. Michi would even take the baby off my hands so I could enjoy her food! How divine! The long table by the pool became a haven for good chat and fab eating. We wouldn't normally eat with other guests but Can Sastre was different - we all got along famously, we played guitar, sang songs, laughed a lot and ate and drank a lot... all caught up in the Can Sastre bubble. We finally found the relaxation we were desperate for. We will definitely go back. In fact, we miss you Michi and John....!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank createhumanstayhuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The location at Can Sastre in the middle of the island was as beautiful and nice as Michaela and John, the owners of the finca.

We (me and two other buddys) has a so wonderful holiday there. The rooms are equiped with love for the detail. Also it was very useful that we get so much information for good places and secret spots from Michaela and John. And the food... oh my god. It was a awesome pleasure to be served with the local delicious foods.

Definitly one of my best holidays ever.
Thanks a lot to Michaela and John.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Thank you for everything. It was a dream with you. John you're the best wine connoisseurs and Michi is the best cook. Everything was super nice. Remain as you are. We certainly see us again. We send you warm greetings and sincere hug.

You are very kind and courteous.

We say cheers again......................................

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joergschweiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We needed a couple of nights of complete relaxation, the tranquillity literally hits you immediately. We were welcomed with warmth and friendliness from John and Michi. The gardens are lovely the pool area with a bar just heavenly. We liked it so much we didn't bother to go out. Our room was cool and spacious with everything you could need and a great bathroom, with a lovely little private terrace. Perfect for the two of us, but there is a larger suite with two bedrooms if you are travelling in a group. Location is great, a few minutes from Ibiza town, San Antonio, Santa Eulalia and all the beaches. Breakfast was a feat in itself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwichtraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed at Can Sastra in July of this year and I was truly blown away by its beauty, originality and most of the owners John and Michaela..... When I arrived I was greeted by the whole family, John, Michaela and their three amazing dogs. Music was playing through the trees and waiting for me around the swimming pool was a crisp glass of cava and olives. John and Michaela have an amazing aura around them which reflects beautifully onto the service on which they provide.. The suites are scattered away from the main house giving you complete privacy when needed.The suites are beautiful and are all individual which makes Can Sastre even more interesting, The grounds are so Spanish like with Lemon and orange trees and the pool and bar area is stunning. Everything is freshly made from the best pasta dish I have ever tasted to the most incredible fresh breakfast. The best thing about Cas Sastre is that its only a 10 min drive from Ibiza town so you can go out and enjoy the bright lights of Ibiza and then come back and relax in pure tranquility. I really loved this place and feel like I have found somewhere which is truly magical. I will be back again very soon. Love you guys!! Lucy Clarkson x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bustercustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Gertrudis
6.9 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
956 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#7 of 52 in Ibiza Town
186 reviews
8.3 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#5 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,377 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Rural Can Pujolet
Hotel Rural Can Pujolet
#1 of 2 in Santa Agnes de Corona
334 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Sastre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Sastre

Address: Camino Viejo de San Mateo | San Rafael, 07816 Santa Gertrudis, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Gertrudis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Gertrudis
Price Range: £424 - £576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Can Sastre 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique hotel Can Sastre is small, romantic and hidden away in a small quiet valley in the centre of the island of Ibiza, yet close to Ibiza town and the main beaches. Can Sastre is registered as an Agrotourism hotel and offers you an unforgettable relaxing stay in a genuine rural Ibiza Finca, surrounded by orange orchards, gardens, pools and private terraces.Friendly, private and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Can Sastre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Sastre Ibiza/Santa Gertrudis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing