We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic home in Ibiza”
Review of Can Sastre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Can Sastre
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Gertrudis
New York City, New York
1 review
“A fantastic home in Ibiza”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent four wonderful nights at Can Sastre. John and Michi are fabulous hosts and were there to meet our every need. The property is beautiful and in a central location. We were there as a family with our two young daughters who loved the pool as well as the two dogs. John and Michi were absolutely fantastic with our girls, so kind and patient and happy to share their dogs with our dog-loving girls. We had a two bedroom room that worked perfectly for us and we would certainly stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank familyfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent a wonderful 7 days of our honeymoon with John and Michi at Can Sastre and can't wait to return! It truly is an oasis! We stayed in the Casita suite which is separate from the main house. It was extremely comfortable and private. The pool area is amazing by day and a wonderful dining area by night. The location is great, in a beautiful quiet spot but still only a short drive to Ibiza town. The food is the best we've had on the island (especially the amazing brunch). We couldn't have hoped for a nicer stay, relaxing and romantic in great company!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_Len
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break in Can Sastre and can't wait to return.

It is a wonderful find, a complete secret oasis just 15 mins from Ibiza town. Can Sastre is very centrally located meaning that wherever you go on the island is no more than 15/20mins drive and the local taxi firms are reasonable and arrive in minutes.

We stayed in the Courtyard Suite which was beautiful. We were also shown the other suites during our stay and all are stunning and individually designed. All 4 rooms were booked during our stay but it was easy to feel like you were the only couple staying. The wonderful stone walls kept the rooms cool and exceptionally peaceful. There were some 2 bedroom suites that would be perfect if you were travelling with friends - all suites are much larger than any hotel room you would find in the island in our experience.

Without doubt the outstanding feature of Can Sastre is the hospitality of John and Michi who were always on hand and worked tirelessly to ensure that our stay was beyond special. From recommendations for the best local restaurants and beaches to ordering taxis and club reservations they ensured that our stay was wanting for nothing from beginning to end.

Michi's brunches meant that we always had the most fantastic food at whatever time of the day we needed and took away the usual problem of waking up to make breakfast or missing breakfast altogether.

We stayed at Can Sastre for lunch on two of the days and both agreed that the meals prepared were without doubt the most memorable during our time in Ibiza.

The small number of rooms meant that there was always loads of space to relax whether it be around the pool or in one of the many other secluded spots around the gardens.

For us, it was the perfect couples break and we cannot wait to return for years to come. It would also work perfectly for groups who wanted to rent multiple rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaJN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It's a truly unique experience, it's like visiting your best friends who have an awesome house.

Can Sastre provides a peaceful and relaxed stay, away from the craziness of the island. But close enough that with 15 mins you're in the heart of the action. The place really suits those who like to meet new people and have a good chat sat at the bar.

...and order the boiled eggs from next doors farm they're lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boechout, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Only the very best is good enough for John and Michi. They do really everything to make you feel at home. The garden is very beautiful , with comfortable beds at the pool, and a bar where you can order any drink you like. If you like a certain drink and they don't have it , a few hours later it is there ! We will certainly come back !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple Ashton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Gorgeous gorgeous place. it completely exceeded our expectations for a short break away without our children. John and Micky our hosts could not have done enough for us. Lovely food, in an extremely relaxing environment. We will definitely return, with children. Happy memories of a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful with extremely comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

i've stayed all over ibiza, and this is the best place i have stayed especially with children. the stunning gardens are safe and secure so that one can sit by the pool and let the little critters let off some steam. its a nice bonus that once the kids go down the layout of the hotel allowed us to enjoy dinner with the other guests and still be close enough to keep an eye on the bambinos....the rooms are rustic chic and the outdoor wet room is awesome...

we have a huge soft spot for the dogs too who are great with my two young children, who never tired of chasing the poor hounds round the garden!

strongly reccomend taking one of the mountain bikes out for an hours blast, dirt track from san rafael to san getrudis was great fun.

john and micky are great hosts, who obviously enjoy entertaining. their passion for all things ibiza and living life to the full is invigorating to be around....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrplanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Gertrudis
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cas Gasi
Hotel Cas Gasi
#2 of 3 in Santa Gertrudis
81 reviews
8.3 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#7 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
877 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
854 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gatzara Suites Santa Gertrudis
Gatzara Suites Santa Gertrudis
#1 of 3 in Santa Gertrudis
33 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#6 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Sastre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Sastre

Property: Can Sastre
Address: Camino Viejo de San Mateo | San Rafael, 07816 Santa Gertrudis, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Gertrudis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Gertrudis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Can Sastre 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique hotel Can Sastre is small, romantic and hidden away in a small quiet valley in the centre of the island of Ibiza, yet close to Ibiza town and the main beaches. Can Sastre is registered as an Agrotourism hotel and offers you an unforgettable relaxing stay in a genuine rural Ibiza Finca, surrounded by orange orchards, gardens, pools and private terraces.Friendly, private and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Can Sastre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Sastre Ibiza/Santa Gertrudis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing