We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rural Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire,
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rural Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

After a long day in the car, it was wonderful to turn up at the Clos de la Prairie to a very warm welcome. The weather, in late September, was not ideal, dank and drizzly,but we were led to our room, and it really was beautiful..Huge glass windows, floor to ceiling, looking out across untouched countryside. The bathroom was in fact a "wet room" and top of the range modern. This was quite one of the nicest rooms we've had in our years of French travelling. We had tea/coffee making facilities, but no milk, but this was produced instantly with a smile. We could not have been more comfortable.

Dinner was excellent - a small set menu, although two of the items we chose had a surcharge (always a little annoying). I have to say though we did have the best foie gras I have ever eaten, and I have sampled very many versions over the years. Breakfast too was superb - original and beautifully presented. Sebastian is without doubt a wonderful chef.

The only down side for us was that we were the only people staying and having dinner on that night, and it made the whole experience a little low key. One other point I would make, which is strange after my last remark, is that if other people had been there, and the weather good, I think the rooms would have a lack of privacy. The sliding windows open on to a terrace which runs the length of the building, with no divisions, so if sitting outside everyone would have been very on top of each other. Maybe some high pot plants between rooms would have helped?

If in the area I would certainly go again and it is about an hour from Calais, so ideal for an overnight stop on the way home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Arrived late at night but we were made very welcome by the owners. We were shown our room, which was modern and comfortable, yet tastefully and expensively decorated and had everything we needed including tea and coffeee making facilities. Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic and served promptly and politely, by the owner's wife. Food was to Michelin standards and wine was chilled to perfection. Both hosts were very friendly and helpful without being instrusive. The hotel's situation is very rural so also very peaceful, which made for a wonderful night's sleep! Breakfast was very good - enough for the most ravenous of eaters! Prices are reasonable if compared to the normal chain hotels, whilst most hotels could not compete with the standard of food quality, service and attentiveness provided at Le Clos! Sitting on the outside room patio in the morning sunshine overlooking fields and forests was a joy. Only an hour from Calais, a hidden gem of a hotel! We will most definitely be back to stay there when travelling in France.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Small hotel with adjoining restaurant run by the owners.
Relatively new hotel with great rooms, the owners do their best to please their guests.
Great bed with good quality linens, nice large bathroom.
Good/great food made with local ingredient when possible.
Terrific breakfast. Good quality tabletop.

A nice place to enjoy!

Room Tip: Use your gps to get there or you will visit the countryside for sometime before you get there, (lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed the best meal of our French holiday here, in a beautiful unexpected peaceful rural location. Was for us the perfect stopover before returning to the channel tunnel (around 1hr). The immaculate room was very tastefully decorated with large bathroom - but that would not be the reason we would return. The owners are a delight - kind, thoughtful, attentive, not in any way pushy about us eating at their restaurant (they offered to recommend others) and it would have been nice to spend longer than we did chatting with them. The food is not cheap, nor should it be, breakfast is 15 euros, dinner for 2 with wine around 100 euros.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

As other reviews, the hotel is located in a beautiful rural location and all the bedrooms look out onto a patio and then over meadows. The rooms are bright and modern and the bathroom was enormus with a huge walk in shower. The whole place has been lovingly restored / built and offers a rather luxury feel to a french B&B. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel (stayed 2 nights). The food was excellent, yes the breakfast is rather expensive at 15 Euros each, but in our opinion definately worth it. The dinner was 37 Euros each for three courses however you also get an amuse bouche before your starters and a sorbet after your mains, so effectively a five course dinner! I did feel that the wine was rather overpriced for where you were, but nonetheless there was a mixture of wines to suit all tastes and wallets! Unfortunately the weather was not great while we were there, but we still managed to get out and about to explore the local areas, I just kept thinking how even more lovely it would have been if the weather had been warmer / sunnier as it would have been nice to sit on the terrace with a book and glass of wine for a couple of hours! Couple that run the place are very friendly and try to encourage you to speak French, which was nice, although they could speak English! Although there was free WIFI I could not access it in my room (number 6). Overall I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Set in rural France not far from Montreuil this comprises a mix of renovated farmbuildings (restaurant) and newly built, very stylish guest rooms that in terms of their modernity are amongst the best I have come across in France. It is run by a friendly young(ish) couple, monsieur being the excellent chef who's responsible for their place in the Michelin guide. For dinner the table d'hote menu was very good (about 37euro). Like many restaurants in France wine list prices have increased more than those for food and the range, at first glance, was limited. In consequence one of the wines we chose was disappointing and certainly not a good food match however monsieur solved the problem by pouring us a glass each of Guigal's 2007 Cote de Rhone !
A bit more landscaping of the grounds will add to the views from the restaurant to create a very attractive property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Immediately on arrival, the young owner came out to greet us and show us around. The room was very modern, with a small patio area by the french windows overlooking the countryside. All conveniences are there. The food in the restaurant is cooked by the owner and is innovative modern french style and very good. My only criticism wasn that he loved to use the flavour of anise in prettty much everything - unfortunately I'm not keen on the taste. Breakfast the following morning was beautifully presented but at 15 Euros, a little expensive for what you get. However this was compensated by the owner coming to our table and going through some prettyu routes that he recommended. As mantioned earlier, the service is superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouy-Saint-Andre
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Clos du Moulin
22.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Auberge du Gros Tilleul
Auberge du Gros Tilleul
#1 of 2 in Argoules
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Abbaye de Valloires
Abbaye de Valloires
#2 of 2 in Argoules
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
22.7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie

Property: Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
Address: 17 rue de Saint Remy | Campagne Les Hesdin, 62870 Gouy-Saint-Andre, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gouy-Saint-Andre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gouy-Saint-Andre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel with 8 rooms, preferred site in the heart of a farmhouse surrounded by 12 acres of prairies.Pour make your stay unique, we offer comfortable rooms with contemporary décor and sereine.La situation between sea and land opens up many horizons for leisure and well being.Near Abbaye de valloires,near montreuil sur mer ans the somme Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing