We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Hypnos Hotel(Hesdin)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel LE VAUBAN(Montreuil-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Hermitage(Montreuil-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coq Hotel(Montreuil-sur-Mer)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Trianon(Hesdin)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
130
23
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
23
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench countrysideair conla prairierooms are modernvisited leworth the detoursmall hotelhamoff the beaten trackhidden awayrecent staysmall patiosuperb foodthis delightful hoteldelightful hostschannel tunneldelicious dinner
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed on a cold, snowy February night but the owners made us feel very welcome.
The hotel has only recently been completed and the rooms have all the latest equipment, flat screen TV, very modern bathrooms, Wi-Fi etc.
Probably the best dinner that we had in 10 days of travelling cooked by Sebastian and served by his wife Sandrine. Lots of extras included with the dinner.
Only 5 minutes off the main road and less than an hour to Calais. I am sure that we will be returning.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms are new
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

After a long day in the car, it was wonderful to turn up at the Clos de la Prairie to a very warm welcome. The weather, in late September, was not ideal, dank and drizzly,but we were led to our room, and it really was beautiful..Huge glass windows, floor to ceiling, looking out across untouched countryside. The bathroom was in fact a "wet room" and top of the range modern. This was quite one of the nicest rooms we've had in our years of French travelling. We had tea/coffee making facilities, but no milk, but this was produced instantly with a smile. We could not have been more comfortable.

Dinner was excellent - a small set menu, although two of the items we chose had a surcharge (always a little annoying). I have to say though we did have the best foie gras I have ever eaten, and I have sampled very many versions over the years. Breakfast too was superb - original and beautifully presented. Sebastian is without doubt a wonderful chef.

The only down side for us was that we were the only people staying and having dinner on that night, and it made the whole experience a little low key. One other point I would make, which is strange after my last remark, is that if other people had been there, and the weather good, I think the rooms would have a lack of privacy. The sliding windows open on to a terrace which runs the length of the building, with no divisions, so if sitting outside everyone would have been very on top of each other. Maybe some high pot plants between rooms would have helped?

If in the area I would certainly go again and it is about an hour from Calais, so ideal for an overnight stop on the way home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Arrived late at night but we were made very welcome by the owners. We were shown our room, which was modern and comfortable, yet tastefully and expensively decorated and had everything we needed including tea and coffeee making facilities. Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic and served promptly and politely, by the owner's wife. Food was to Michelin standards and wine was chilled to perfection. Both hosts were very friendly and helpful without being instrusive. The hotel's situation is very rural so also very peaceful, which made for a wonderful night's sleep! Breakfast was very good - enough for the most ravenous of eaters! Prices are reasonable if compared to the normal chain hotels, whilst most hotels could not compete with the standard of food quality, service and attentiveness provided at Le Clos! Sitting on the outside room patio in the morning sunshine overlooking fields and forests was a joy. Only an hour from Calais, a hidden gem of a hotel! We will most definitely be back to stay there when travelling in France.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and have patios.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Small hotel with adjoining restaurant run by the owners.
Relatively new hotel with great rooms, the owners do their best to please their guests.
Great bed with good quality linens, nice large bathroom.
Good/great food made with local ingredient when possible.
Terrific breakfast. Good quality tabletop.

A nice place to enjoy!

Room Tip: Use your gps to get there or you will visit the countryside for sometime before you get there, (lovely countryside)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Enjoyed the best meal of our French holiday here, in a beautiful unexpected peaceful rural location. Was for us the perfect stopover before returning to the channel tunnel (around 1hr). The immaculate room was very tastefully decorated with large bathroom - but that would not be the reason we would return. The owners are a delight - kind, thoughtful, attentive, not in any way pushy about us eating at their restaurant (they offered to recommend others) and it would have been nice to spend longer than we did chatting with them. The food is not cheap, nor should it be, breakfast is 15 euros, dinner for 2 with wine around 100 euros.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank LondonDavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews