We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful hotel, delicious food and a room for 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here in June. The rooms are newly built and excellent. The beds have great mattresses, the bathrooms are spacious and each room has doors to a patio and the garden, which is so peaceful - in the middle of nowhere with a horse in the field beyond. One bedroom sleeps 5 - always so hard to find.
The hosts were very welcoming and talked to us in English or French as required.
We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Both were fantastic. A full menu for the adults, almost a tasting menu, and specially cooked meals for the children - a delicious chicken pasta with veg (no nuggets!), all suggested and agreed in advance which made for a very happy meal. Breakfast included locally sourced jams and honey along with fruit, pastries, bread and a creamy yoghurt.
It was the perfect night away. We will return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kzroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here en route from Eurotunnel. Virtually spot on one hour from the terminal - despite the last few metres to the Hotel entrance aren't brilliantly signed.

The rooms are in a purpose built single storey conversion. Very well designed rooms / very comfortable and air conditioned (ish). There is an electric shutter to the external sliding doors and it's tempting to drop that and open the sliding door for some overnight air. But the OH envisages French nocturnal crawly things using the opportunity of non existent gaps - so it had to be the lowish powered air con.

The beds are king size and very comfortable. The bathroom is ultra modern and very smart. Shower only. But the extractor is fairly under powered - so take it easy with the shower duration if you want to look in the mirror any time soon?

The restaurant (or the terrace) is very comfortable and the food was good but just a single set menu at €43 exclusive of any drinks. Breakfast is essentially French with the usual bread / preserves / croissants / cheese / coffee etc. More than adequate - but I always find French breakfasts underwhelming

All in all a very comfortable place to stop. The proprietors are excellent and deserve to succeed. But just a little more variation in the restaurant evening menu would be good?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of the countryside but only just over an hours drive from Calais. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon for a four night stay and met with an exceptionally warm welcome by Sandrine and shown to a lovely room. Our room was a good size, very tastefully decorated in neutral tones and very pretty soft furnishings, with a great large bathroom. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and meticulously maintained during our stay. All the rooms have amazing views of the paddock and woods and fields beyond, with a patio with comfortable chairs for relaxing and gazing at the view. All the rooms are thoughtfully fitted with exterior blinds to maintain a cool temperature although there is also air conditioning in the bedroom.
The dining room is lovely and quiet, soft music in the background, candles and lamps on the table, and run meticulously by Sandrine. Her husband Sebastien is the chef and he is very talented. The menu is deliberately short, with three choices each for starter, main and dessert and every meal we had was brilliantly executed. Sebastien's focus is on locally sourced and in season produce and each course was wonderful, and on a par with the standard of top chefs. Sandrine and Sebastien have chosen all the wine on their wine list and Sandrine was expert in matching the wines with our food choices. They are incredibly warm and gracious hosts and all breakfast and dinner occasions felt like a great event.
This is an amazing place to stay, private and quiet and run entirely by Sandrine and Sebastien with help from a handful of equally friendly people making up their team. They work incredibly hard to deliver a fantastic experience for their guests and we cannot wait to return later this year. They have literally built the hotel rooms, dining room, kitchen and their home from scratch from a derelict farm to a gorgeous boutique style residence and deserve continued and immense success.
The Bay of the Somme is a lovely typically French and un touristy area made up of several large villages about 30 minutes away, with lots to see and do, including French markets, nautical interest and great beaches. It has all that Le Touquet offers but less busy and more scenic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8,611,202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Clos de la Prairie for four nights in May. This is an extremely well run hotel and the food is marvellous. Our host, Sebastian and hostess, Sandrine are extremely helpful. They spoke to us firstly in French and if we had difficulty understanding, repeated in excellent English. The rooms are well furnished, bright and clean and we had a magnificent bathroom with a really excellent shower. Outside our room we had a small patio to sit and enjoy the countryside views. We thoroughly recommend this hotel, whether it is for a one night stop off or a longer stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Cannot fault this hotel - beautiful setting, peaceful and well appointed. Stayed here for a night with friends and it was perfect in every way. Delightful hosts and superb food, which was very clever and beautifully presented, without being at all pretentious. We hope to come back very soon! Definitely book to stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeBeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The perfect stopover. Sebastien and Sandrine are charming hosts. The rooms are modern, comfortable and blissfully quiet. Sebastien loves good food and local produce, and is studying with top chefs in his spare time. Breakfasts are fresh and filling, an ideal way to start the day. A small business run by a delightful young couple, this Le Clos well deserves all its plaudits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As usual reviews are right for this delightful hotel set in the countryside quite near to Montreuil Sur Mer. We stayed for three nights and although expensive (we paid 95 euro for room only) you are paying for the setting and ambience. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard although a longer stay would need more storage. The bathroom was fantastic-so unusual to have such a large bathroom with a great shower! And for us Brits-tea making facilities which again is unusual for French rooms. We dealt mainly with Sandrine and she was so helpful with our basic French and her good English we got by! She recommended places to visit and we visited some new areas for us in the region-St Valery Sur Somme a nice town to see.I dont want to be picky but at 15 euro per person for breakfast and the 40 euro set meal thought that a little OTT. We did not take breakfast because of that as you can get coffee and croissant in local cafes for much cheaper. We did eat in the restaurant one night and as others have said it was delicious but again the local town of Montreuil has some great restaurants (the Patio for instance) with menus at 27 euro. I realise guests at Le Clos would like to be able to have a drink and not drive and that is the attraction to the restaurant but it can be a very expensive evening once you have wine etc (well over 100 euro for two and not sure what you would do if you had children with you). St ill this doesn't take away from the lovely stay we had and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemd equally good all on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouy-Saint-Andre
8.7 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
334 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,721 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
629 reviews
17.1 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
502 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie

Address: 17 rue de Saint Remy | Campagne Les Hesdin, 62870 Gouy-Saint-Andre, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Gouy-Saint-Andre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gouy-Saint-Andre
Price Range: £96 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel with 8 rooms, preferred site in the heart of a farmhouse surrounded by 12 acres of prairies.Pour make your stay unique, we offer comfortable rooms with contemporary décor and sereine.La situation between sea and land opens up many horizons for leisure and well being.Near Abbaye de valloires,near montreuil sur mer ans the somme Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Clos de la Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing