We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre jungle experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand River Lodge
Reviewed 18 July 2013

first things first, if your looking for facilities such as wifi or shops in walking distance, this isn't for you. But, if your looking for a cheap slice of paradise, this is it. In all my travels I haven't ever been treated so well by a host. jearo (think I got his name right) gave us endless amounts of activities to do in our 3 day stay, from horse riding to fishing in his boat fixed with mud! he spoke little English but he gives it a damn good go. the rooms are private cabanas, which are 20 dollars but that covers all activities and breakfast. the cabanas have one single and one double bed with private shower and toilet. no hot water, but electricity. they have laundry service which is very cheap, just like the food which is basic but well cooked Nicaraguan fresh cuisine. now a word on the nightlife, no parties here, but if your prone to mosquito bites (like me), be prepared. during the day they are generally fine, but as soon as the sun goes down, stay protected. they do have mosquito nets for your bed so that helps. the jungle walk which we did had many, but that is to be expected. apart from this issue which is kind of unavoidable, this was one of the best places I've had the pleasure to stay. so to sum up, if you want back to basic, traditional and unique stay choose grand river lodge, if you would prefer a little more amenities, try el castillo further up the river.

have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rfwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

A warm welcome in a pure nature environment. Very nice lodges with your one shower and toilet. Milking the cows in the morning picking some fruit and relax! There is is small friendly town to be reached in a fourty minute walk. The owner is a local guy (Marvin) and speaks English and German. If you are looking for a place not in the vicinity of a busy city and want to see the nature, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maarten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bungalo le plus a gauche
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Icabalzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank AnjaM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbarnouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne Laure P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna del Rio
Hotel Luna del Rio
#1 of 3 in El Castillo
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Juanita
Hotel Posada Dona Juanita
#3 of 4 in San Carlos
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Caiman Los Guatuzo
Cabanas Caiman Los Guatuzo
#1 of 8 in San Carlos
37 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand River Lodge

Address: Riosan Juan, Sabalo, San Carlos, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rio San Juan Department > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos
Price Range: £8 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well this is a new lodge yes stard in Nicaragua so good around San Carlos Nicaragua is 34 kilometer out. San Caralos in very nice location ride on the river Rio San Juan we have now houses with a private bathroom, a sink, mosquito nets; outside we have a little place to sit and relax with hammocks. We have also internet and outside kitchen with a fridge, also restaurant. Also they sell drinks. Also you can horseback ride or fish also the little village Esperanza is 2km. Away there are alot of things to do surrounded by the birds and howler monkeys are not far away maybe they wake you up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grand River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing