We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want and more...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lansdowne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA 1000 Islands / Ivy Lea
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Truly a great experience at this KOA. The facilities are top notch, clean and well maintained. have been going there for 12 years and they are always improving the place. They offer all amenities, have a great pool and playground and are the staff and owners are exceptionally friendly. It's a 4 star KOA that is a 5 star resort whether or not you are camping or RV-ing. We were camping with our scout troop and the boys loved it as did our leaders. Great location too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here from Aug 17 to Aug 21. Another great time was had by all. We stayed in the cabins again. So nice to have the BBQ, fridge and microwave included with the cabins. Makes cooking so much easier. Cabins were very clean. Washrooms very clean also. Never had any issues with having to wait for showers. The fan on the floor near the showers was a great help to dry the floor in there much faster.

Kids just love all the activities. They seem to be upgrading the kids playground every year. They absolutely loved the jumping pillow. If they weren't in the pool, they were jumping on the pillow.

Kids keep asking to come back year after year. So we will likely be back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momto3kidsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was our first glamping experience - we've stuck to provincial parks in the past, so I was a little worried about what to expect in an RV park. We stayed for the August long weekend.

Some of the typical RV park things that worried me came true: wide open lots with no privacy, the sound of AC units running through the night, and very little of the natural environment we were used to experiencing in provincial parks across the country.

But truth is, none of that really mattered. Despite being sold out for the long weekend, the campground was by far the quietest we've been in. The sites were nice and level, and I admit, the pull-through was a nice little luxury that made life a lot simpler. Compared to most provincial parks, the hookups were nice and close. By 10 o'clock at night there wasn't a sound to be heard, and no one seemed to be up before 8 a.m. Even the washrooms were pretty clean for such a large campground. The only downside is that there just weren't enough showers, especially when some campers were disrespectful enough to take 40 minute showers.

The real plus of this campground, however, is all the activities they offer for kids. The giant playground with beautiful, brand new play structures was a big hit with my kids. They also loved the bouncing pillow, but be warned: wear socks if using it on a hot day! My kids pretty much lived in the pools. And while they are great, I will say, they are just not big enough for the number of kids (not that mine minded it at all - but I certainly felt crowded).

Rob, the activities director, is a real gem for this campground. He does a great job herding excited kids safely through all the activities - canon ball jumps, wet wagon rides, scavenger hunts, ice cream buffets, movies under the stars... My kids didn't even want to leave to see any local attractions because they didn't want to move anything.

When it was time to go home, the only way I could console my kids was to promise we'd be back. We're now booked for the Chocoholic weekend in September.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mumo2girlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was our first experience there and it was absolutely amazing! The activities for the children was great, they had things to do everyday of the week..... Water wars was the best for the young and old, thanks again Ducky for making our children 100% happy:)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanneterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed the first week of July with a group of friends and enjoyed our stay the staff was awesome, place was clean we stayed in a cabin with no compaints, a special thanks goes out to Ducky (kids entertainer) u do and awesome job! we will be back next yr.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just spent a week here and loved it. The kids loved going to the pools and the kids hot tub. The kids park was very large. The day we left was the day the new jumping pillow was to open, to bad get to that next time. Bathrooms were very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Games around the pool were fun and exciting. My kids favorite thing was the wagon ride/water war that happened everyday at different times. Movies at night were good. Would go back again

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was by far the best KOA we visited on our trip round Eastern Canada. Site and facilities were excellent, pool and hot tub well looked after and very clean and washing/toilet facilities excellent. It also has a very well stocked shop. Of course the location on the beautiful 100 islands parkway doesn't hurt either!
Rob, the manager, even gave us a lift down to Smugglers Cove on the evening we arrived and brought us back. The rest of the staff were friendly and fun. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loumike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansdowne
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
7.2 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
8.0 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Gananoque
246 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#3 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA 1000 Islands / Ivy Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA 1000 Islands / Ivy Lea

Address: 514 1000 Island Pkwy, Lansdowne, Ontario K0E 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lansdowne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lansdowne
Price Range: £38 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively located, this eco-park is the only KOA situated on the magnificent 1000 Islands Parkway.It's within walking distance to 1000 Islands/Boldt Castle cruises, restaurants, diving, boat rentals and a bike path. This KOA is minutes away from premier golfing, and it's the closest KOA to the casino. Rough it in style with a luxurious movie lounge, a fitness center, a huge arcade, gourmet coffee and nature trails that reveal lovely vistas of the islands. Relax and enjoy the pool park featuring two heated pools, a slide, foaming fountains, a family hot tub, a splash pad and a 21-foot adult hot tub with a waterfall. Executive RV patio sites offer upscale camping. On-site events run daily and may include barbecues, ice cream socials, air castles and more-it's all free! This is a dog-approved park. Enjoy unforgettable resort-style camping. The heart of the 1000 Islands will be at your doorstep. Voted Best Campground in Canada '06-Scope RV Camping Magazine. Maximum persons per site is 4 adults or 2 adults and 4 children. Please call for reservations if your reservation requires different. Tents are not permitted on RV sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa 1000 Islands / Ivy Lea Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing