We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thinking Malta?”
Review of Selmunett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selmunett
Ranked #3 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Do it!! Such an extraordinary place of history, beauty, food and pleasure. When you go, Selmunett B&B is the place to stay!
Enjoy the quiet comfort of a lovely family home, set in beaurtiful gardens in the Embassy area, with your choice of private, perfect suites. Your Maltese hosts, Roger and Maria, will spoil you with their food and concierge talents, enhancing your visit beyond your wildest dreams.

Nancy Taylor, Washington D.C.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The charm of Selmunett lies in the lovely gardens and terraces, the warmth of the Stricklands’ welcome, and the comfort of the accommodations. It is a hidden treasure with bougainvillea spilling over the walls, on a quiet residential street that belies its convenient location near the center of Malta.
Our tranquil room, in muted colors and lovely fabrics, overlooked the garden and olive trees. Anything we needed, from morning wakeup coffee to help with a pesky camera charger, was cheerfully supplied. Our hosts knew everything about the island, from the history to the latest restaurants, and put us in touch with guides and taxi drivers as needed.
Roger’s breakfasts were delicious and varied productions, with everything one could want. Roger “harvests his own acres,” so we were treated to his olives, sun-dried tomatoes and herbs, and homemade jam. We lingered on that terrace, dogs at our feet, watching the pomegranates ripen on the tree.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Selmunet in Naxxar provides the perfect answer for guests looking for a quiet central situation on Malta and outside the Valetta built-up sprawl but within 30 minutes of most locations including the airport and Valetta itself. The old capital of Mdina and adjacent Rabat are only 15 minutes away by car. Local shops and several restaurants are within easy walking distance. Roger, your host, is a helpful mine of information and produces a range of (cooked) breakfasts which also include fresh fruits and are very good. These are usually served outside on a covered patio but a retreat into the kitchen is necessary if it is too cold or it rains.(It is worth noting that small mosquitos will inevitably surprise the unprepared outside - room windows are protected by screens .)

As things currently stand, the swimming pool and immediate surroundings are not available for the use of guests after September and keen sunbathers/swimmers are advised to check this situation when booking. That said, there is a large and quiet terrace overlooking the garden should you want to sit and read. Rooms are equipped with tea/coffee facilities, TV /radio and access to WiFi but no in-room fridge but your host will willingly supply fresh milk in the mornings and afternoons on request. In fact, the secret of a stay at Selmunet is indeed not to be reticent in voicing your needs for things such as an extra pillow for the bed etc - it is expected.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center; this B&B does have a swimming pool but as things stand, this is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Joyce50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was my second visit to Selmunett in two years. This time my wife and I "insisted" that we stay in the main house, rather than in the self contained unit, which is more suitable for the first-timers.

We had a great time staying with Maria and Roger, they made us feel like part of (long lost) family. The owners are very kind people and have a wealth of information about the history of Malta and the current attractions.

If you are a teenager, you might prefer to stay in St. Julian's [walking distance from the clubs], but for a married couple Selmunett is definitely more appealing proposition.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kris_Just_In_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed in the self-catering Garden Suite for a week in June 2012. It was a lovely open plan room with large bed, dining table and kitchen and the hosts Roger and Maria made us feel very welcome. The dogs, Max and Sacha were very friendly.

Malta was experiencing a heatwave while we were there (even the Maltese found it hot!) so we made full use of the lovely pool to cool off from the heat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for nine days at the Garden Suite, separated from the main house where we were perfectly happy. Even though it had a well furnished kitchen for self catering (with a dishwasher!) we decided to make Roger cook us his breakfast creations. Every day something new and tasty, enough to endure until dinner. Everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We also enjoyed our day at the pool, beautifully surrounded by trees and flowers. Selmunett is ideally located if you want to discover Malta's attractions by car. Though close to the main urban area it is a small oasis of peace and silence. The hosts Maria and Roger made us immediately feel at home, they were always available for our needs and gave us useful insider advice about Malta (i.e. good restaurants). We enjoyed our stay at Selmunett very much and truly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mustispock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at Selmunett for two days whilst visiting Malta for a friend's wedding. I could not have asked for a better place to stay or for warmer owners. I arrived quite late at night but Roger was extremely gracious and gave me a lovely room to stay in. The next morning he and Maria had a lovely breakfast spread out for me. They also made me taste their freshly made olive oil (made from olives from their garden) and sun dried tomatoes and some other maltese specialities...very rare to find two genuinely lovely caring owners!! I very much enjoyed chatting with Roger and Maria every morning over my coffee, toasts, fresh fruits, yoghurts and sausages (there were more breakfast items as well which were laid out).

Roger and Maria are so proud of their house and this shows clearly as the property is beautifully maintained and everything has a personal touch. The rooms are tastefully done up and clean. The garden is also very relaxing.

I loved playing with their dogs (who were very well behaved) and also watching their cats and rabbit all co-habitate harmoniously together.

I would return to Salmunett in a heartbeat - not only to enjoy some peace and tranquility but also to meet Roger and Maria again.

Thank you for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SherinaPetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
2.8 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,010 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,416 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel
Corinthia Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Anton
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Loggia Mariposa - Boutique Townhouse
0.4 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selmunett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selmunett

Address: Triq E. Bradford | San Pawl Tat Targa, Naxxar, Island of Malta NXR 2216, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range: £88 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Selmunett' is a charming family run luxury Homestay property located on the edge of the village of Naxxar, which is more or less in the centre of the island. We have two en-suite bedrooms and garden for the use of guests. The sea at St Paul's bay is a mere ten-minute car drive away. The capital Valetta is 15 minutes away; the airport and golf course 20 minutes away. We strongly recommend that you hire a car for your time in Malta. We would be happy to arrange this for you when you place your booking with us. If you do, and you stay for 7 nights and over we will offer you Complimentary one way airport transfer Airport - Selmunett and the use of a GPS navigation system to help you get yourselves around the island. The bus service in Malta is smooth with fully air-conditioned and modern buses with many routes round the Island. Our local bus stop is a mere three minutes from the house. Fitness enthusiasts, during the cooler weather, might like to consider bicycles, which again we can arrange. Rentals come complete with helmets, front and back lights and a locking system. Whilst we do not provide evening meals, we have a full list of recommended Restaurants that are in walking distance and of course others that are further a field and require transportation to get there. Apart from this we do have a Restaurant guide in each room so guests may wish to select their own, pubs and bars that we recommend listed here on our site. WiFi is available throughout and in the event that guests require the use of computers in order to re-confirm flights and print boarding passes, this can be done with pleasure. Each of our rooms have iPhone/iPod docking systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Selmunett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selmunett Malta/Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing