We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location & Wonderful Hospitality”
Review of Selmunett

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selmunett
Ranked #3 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Roger and Maria have created a lovely home and garden where they give charming and entertaining hospitality along with lots of information which enhances your visit to Malta. This makes Selmunett very suitable if you are on a first visit to Malta. The accommodation is very private, spacious and comfortable and is kept beautifully clean. Breakfast was usually served on the terrace beside the kitchen and we enjoyed Malta's delicious specialities, Maria's homemade preserves as well as Roger's cooked breakfast which he served up with a liberal slice of humour. He generously shares his experience of the travel business which is very helpful to independent travellers and arranged a hire car for us. The only thing missing was the swimming pool which is not available to B&B guests at present although we scarcely noticed this as two of the best beaches are within an easy drive. All of this makes Selmunett a very enjoyable holiday which is very different from the usual hotel provision. We came away feeling we had been staying with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGillycuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Pros - A pleasant very well maintained home in lovely grounds filled with flowers.

A very peaceful spot "far from the madding crowd" tucked away in a tasteful part of Naxxar in the middle of the island.

Roger and Maria are gracious hosts who made us feel very welcome and were always willing to help with any problems or requests we had.

Breakfast on the terrace is a highlight of the morning, freshly prepared and always tasty and filling. Roger is willing to prepare breakfast as early as you need it if you have a long day planned or have an early flight to catch.

The family pets (condolences on the loss of the cat) were well behaved and friendly.

Cons - There is no swimming pool available anymore. This was a massive disappointment as it was one of the major reasons we booked this B&B in the middle of the island instead of a hotel by the beach. My fault for not doing enough research I suppose. It may be available again in the future so if it is important to you then I would check directly with Roger before booking.

No air con in the rooms. There is a large ceiling mounted fan which does an adequate job of moving the air around but it doesn't cool the room and we both found the lack of working A/C (there are units mounted on the walls but these don't work) a bit odd in such a well set up place.

No fridge in the rooms or even generally available in the guest area. Roger was kind enough to allow us to store drinks in his kitchen fridge but this did mean that you are dependent on one of the family or staff being available to enable you to have a cold drink which of course wasn't always possible.

Naxxar itself is not really a tourist destination as such though it has it own quiet charm and transport is really a must if you stay here, the nearest beach is a good 10 minute drive away and the 3 or 4 places to eat within walking distance are quickly sampled so a drive to others is recommended.

If you value peace and quiet in a friendly "family" atmosphere then this is the place for you.

If you want entertainment and amenities and the bright lights then you would probably be better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at Selmunett, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Just a short note to thank you most sincerely for having been to tripadvisor and having placed a review of Selmunett based on your recent visit which is greatly appreciated. Sorry to say however, there were certain inaccuracies which could impact any valued judgement for anyone considering choosing Selmunett in Malta. Therefore I would appreciate it if I may correct these points you raised as we do in fact operate on a bed and breakfast basis, we are NOT A HOTEL.

To answer your points individually:-



Your comment: "There is no swimming pool available anymore. This was a massive disappointment as it was one of the major reasons we booked this B&B in the middle of the island instead of a hotel by the beach. My fault for not doing enough research I suppose. It may be available again in the future so if it is important to you then I would check directly with Roger before booking."

Our response: - As you will know from your email request to us in January, it was clear that the swimming pool was not listed in the facilities. The swimming pool was taken out of service in September of 2012, which is when we rented the villa next door. Therefore it is possible you read reviews written by past visitors about the pool - which obviously we have no control over. So sorry for that disappointment. Also, just as a matter of interest,when the swimming pool was available to guests, it was available first thing in the morning and in the afternoon ONLY or by pre-arrangement. It was NEVER available for guests to use 24 hours a day as you unfortunately believed.

Your comment: "No air con in the rooms. There is a large ceiling mounted fan which does an adequate job of moving the air around but it doesn't cool the room and we both found the lack of working A/C (there are units mounted on the walls but these don't work) a bit odd in such a well set up place."

Our response: - In all our advertising on the websites we are members of we categorically do not advertise that we have Air Conditioning. We have been using ceiling fans since 2007 In all our rooms. You are in fact the first person who has made an issue of this. The two windows in the room and the bathroom window do however have insect screens and facilitate a good cross draft. As you did not mention anything at the time of your stay about the issue of AC or not, I was surprised to read this comment. It is strange the AC issue was not mentioned when you were here as I would have given you the same answer. I repeat no one else has had an issue with cooling the rooms at Selmunett.

Your comment: "No fridge in the rooms or even generally available in the guest area. Roger was kind enough to allow us to store drinks in his kitchen fridge but this did mean that you are dependent on one of the family or staff being available to enable you to have a cold drink which of course wasn't always possible.

Our response:- Here again NO FRIDGE is advertised on any of the sites we are members of, so you should not have even expected one, and besides once more we are NOT A HOTEL which is where you would reasonably expect one. On arrival you asked for a shelf in our fridge which we provided to you immediately and you had access to this whenever you wanted. Access did not seem to be a problem, as if it had been we would have found another solution for you. You will recall that we discussed this and I told you that we are in the process of revamping the house at the moment and when the time comes we will certainly look into it small fridges in the room. Finally, just for the record, here again guests have been staying here with us since 2007 and you are the first guests who seem to have had a problem with the fridge.

We really do try to accommodate as many reasonable requests as possible, but if these are not raised during the stay, it obviously difficult to rectify issues on a timely basis. In our welcoming letter in each of the rooms we specifically ask guests to let us know if they have any problems with our service and facilities when they are with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I agree with all the previous comments. Excellent B&B, lovely quiet Garden with Flowers in bloom, Lemon & Olive Trees. The perfect place to relax. Roger & Maria did everything to assist us, including Car Hire, and sorting out an amendment to our Return Air Tickets, and helping with on line check in etc. Breakfast on the Terrace was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We might return to Malta just to stay in Selmunett again with Roger and Maria. We had a lovely time and enjoyed staying in such a tasteful, gracious palace-like home. We were made to feel part of the family.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NX2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Such a lovely place to stay in Malta. The host Roger and Maria were so kind to us. Roger said even goodbye to us at 5 pm in the morning. The breakfast on the terrace was a tastefull and happily start of the day. We would like to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Ordered rooms at this excellent B&B for my friends when they came to visit us in Malta. They were welcomed by the fantastic hosts Maria and Roger and spoiled with their charm and hospitality. I'll recommend them anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Do it!! Such an extraordinary place of history, beauty, food and pleasure. When you go, Selmunett B&B is the place to stay!
Enjoy the quiet comfort of a lovely family home, set in beaurtiful gardens in the Embassy area, with your choice of private, perfect suites. Your Maltese hosts, Roger and Maria, will spoil you with their food and concierge talents, enhancing your visit beyond your wildest dreams.

Nancy Taylor, Washington D.C.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
1.9 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,400 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selmunett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selmunett

Address: Triq E. Bradford | San Pawl Tat Targa, Naxxar, Island of Malta NXR 2216, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range: £89 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Selmunett' is a charming family run luxury Homestay property located on the edge of the village of Naxxar, which is more or less in the centre of the island. We have two en-suite bedrooms and garden for the use of guests. The sea at St Paul's bay is a mere ten-minute car drive away. The capital Valetta is 15 minutes away; the airport and golf course 20 minutes away. We strongly recommend that you hire a car for your time in Malta. We would be happy to arrange this for you when you place your booking with us. If you do, and you stay for 7 nights and over we will offer you Complimentary one way airport transfer Airport - Selmunett and the use of a GPS navigation system to help you get yourselves around the island. The bus service in Malta is smooth with fully air-conditioned and modern buses with many routes round the Island. Our local bus stop is a mere three minutes from the house. Fitness enthusiasts, during the cooler weather, might like to consider bicycles, which again we can arrange. Rentals come complete with helmets, front and back lights and a locking system. Whilst we do not provide evening meals, we have a full list of recommended Restaurants that are in walking distance and of course others that are further a field and require transportation to get there. Apart from this we do have a Restaurant guide in each room so guests may wish to select their own, pubs and bars that we recommend listed here on our site. WiFi is available throughout and in the event that guests require the use of computers in order to re-confirm flights and print boarding passes, this can be done with pleasure. Each of our rooms have iPhone/iPod docking systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Selmunett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selmunett Malta/Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing