We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this one is on your shortlist, choose it.”
Review of Knights in Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knights in Malta
Ranked #4 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If this one is on your shortlist, choose it.”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The location is excellent: short walk from a bunch of important bus stops, close to some nice restaurants, yet really calm. I would advise anybody who wants to see a lot of Malta (and not just lay on the beach all day) to get a place to stay either in Naxxar (what you're reading now) or else in Mosta, close to one of the main bus-transfer sites.

The owners are really there to help you. They give insightful local advise about stuff to do (we followed some suggestions, and they were really value-adding), they help you book stuff, and they've got fun stories. You get freshly sliced fruit for breakfast. The place is really clean and tidy, and it's cosily decorated. It really feels like a welcoming home away from home.

We did not book an air-conditioned room (we had "Floriana"), so we were kind of hot. Of course there was a fan, but I would recommend everybody to specifically book one of their air-conditioned rooms, because then everything would have been perfect. Note: our room was advertised as not having air-conditioning, so it's not their fault - just a tip, Malta gets very warm. Also, don't forget that Malta uses those bulky AC-plugs from the UK. Fortunately, we could borrow one from the owners.
The Bathroom was small; really small. But we stayed at another place as well, and that was even smaller, so I guess the Maltese in general are just not into spacious showers, or something.

If you cannot stand dogs: the owners have a Maltese terrier. But she's really cute if you're not 100% anti-canine! I generally don't like dogs, but Daisy the terrier was an exception.

If you're doubting between this one or another one, it's a good bet that you'll want this one.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with an A/C unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stygeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    25
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
64
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We reserved a room with this B&B having only looked at the pictures on their website (http://www.knightsinmalta.com/) and having exchanged only a few emails with John and Dee, our very kind and informative hosts-to-be. A week before our arrival, John booked us a taxi from the airport and we arrived safely to our temporary home without any struggles. Pleasantly surprised by this local maltese house, we knew we'd struck gold with the location.

Naxxar is very much the contrary to touristy and its life mostly gravitates around the enormous (and worth visiting) church! Easily accesible with buses, our whole week was governed by the bus system, which as any will have its faults, but we managed quite well and saw most of the island thanks to the devoted maltese bus drivers (nevertheless, careful when you stand up, they are quite agressive in their driving). Every morning we were served a healthy and delicious breakfast, there is free wifi and John and Dee are very much available to answer any questions; whether it be to advise a local bar in La Valetta, a seafood harbour restaurant in Marsaxlokk, or a scuba-diving centre for beginners!

We sincerely recommend "Knights in Malta" to anyone wanting to discover the island with all that it has to offer. You WILL have a great time and bring back loads of stories to tell family and friends.

A very happy couple of french tourists,
Madeline and François-Xavier

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline_FX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked some months in advance for a 6 night stay and were pleased to be advised a few days before arrival that we had been upgraded to the Floriana Delux suite. John was also to provide us with Car rental information. Two days into our stay we were advised that the automatic vehicle we were seeking could not be supplied which reduced the amount of things we could do. (this was not all Johns fault except that if he got the information when he said he was going to we could have made alternative arrangements without the loss of time).
Malta is incredibly warm at this time of year which we expected. The suite is on the ground floor adjacent to the Courtyard and gets very little air movement, even with all windows open. Having all windows and door open is not a option as the courtyard is the main thoroughfare for all other guests to their rooms and lacks privacy. Guests are allowed to smoke in the Courtyard and with the lack of air movement cigarette smoke seeps into the room. The whole six nights that we were there the temperature did not fall below 30C. There was also a faint chemical smell that may have come from the store room. It was very hard to get a good nights sleep.I believe that most of the other rooms had A/C and this room sadly needed it. The bed clothes became very sweaty and were not changed whilst we were there.The room itself had plenty of space but the toilet and shower are just a little Small. Malta can be very dusty and our room certainly suffered from this problem and the dust sticking to your feet after showering. Breakfasts were a good mix and quite adequate. John was happy to provide information when prompted but did not know much about the Mosta "festa" (an annual week of celebration including Fireworks and Bands parading leading up to the feast of the assumption on the 15th of August each year). Mosta is the adjoining town and its "Festa" should not be missed, We thought we would miss out on the fun as we were leaving on the 13th, but heard the fireworks on the friday night and were able to pick up on some of the delights of this joyful occasion on the Sunday. We saw very little of Dee and only had a couple of words with her which flys in the face of other reviews. Laundries are hard to find in Malta and we were lucky to find a reasonable one on "triq eucharistic congress" Mosta" about 15 mins from the B & B. The one that john had advised us on had been out of business for some time.
We have been on the road since late march and are perhaps being a little jaded. We have stayed in approx 30 B & B's in UK and Europe ( all to a consistant 3.5- 4.5 stars) and this one certainly does not rate amongst the better ones ). We were probably not the easiest of customers, rolling in early after catching the Red eye from Barcelona and leaving equally early to fly out to Catania. The B & B has a lot going for it as stated in other reviews but this particular room did not work for us. We did thoroughly enjoy Malta itself and it should not be missed.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Floriana Suite in high summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knightsinmalta, Owner at Knights in Malta, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
George.
I think there are some exaggerations in you extensive comments.
1. You stayed five nights, not six. this was during the busiest and hottest time of year.
2. You did not book a car in advance. I did my best to get one right away and could have supplied a manual vehicle except that you wanted an automatic for which there was a slight delay.
3. The chemical smell you describe is the smell of disinfectant when the courtyard is cleaned twice a day.
4. Your ground floor suite was spacious and is a relatively cool room supplied with a fan.
Air conditioned rooms need to be booked in advance at an extra charge.
5. I'm pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts
6. Your towels were changed during your stay, and for a five night stay sheets are only changed if requested.
7. The 2012 Festa season in Malta includes about 150 feasts. I'm pleased you found the Mosta feast so stimulating.
8. I offered to do one load of washing for you, but as three of you had been on the road since March you decided to look for a laundry.

I'm happy that you enjoyed Malta so much during your visit
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Where do I begin..? From the moment the amazing hosts, John and Dee, met my boyfriend and I at the airport I felt instantly welcomed and in good hands. After being driven through the beautiful, ancient streets of Naxxar, we arrived in a small tranquil street in which the house is located.
The house itself was also beautiful with a very interesting layout and decor, mainly due to the fact that the house is about 300 years old! It was like entering a maze at first, but you soon felt at home thanks to the excellent skills of Dee and John, and their little Maltese terrior Daisy! My room was suitably named Mdina as the view from the window was indeed of the infamous walled city of Mdina! Breakfast was suitable for all guests and it was lovely to be able to chat to other guests, as well as the hosts, to share your experiences and seek any advice of where to go out to either visit or eat! Everything was clean and well maintained and it was nice to have some WiFi signal.
The location itself it also great because, being in the centre of the island, frequent buses to the rest of the island run all day and we permanently felt safe wherever we were in the island!
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and will definitely be coming back to Malta and the 'Knights of malta' as soon as we can! I fully recommend this to anyone who can handle the characteristc, crookidy stairs and wishes to be central yet very relaxed in this wonderful, hot, friendly, safe, historical and fun island! I wish John and Dee all the best until next time :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloisa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A group of us stayed at Knights for a weekend wedding. John and Dee are the perfect hosts and were kind enough to still serve us breakfast even when we got up at noon, the day after the wedding! It has a family atmosphere and the rooms and nicely decorated and homely. The location is perfect and we were given lots of helpful information about the local buses, tours etc. Would recommend this to anyone and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sremska Mitrovica, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I've just returned from a wonderful holiday in Malta at a beautiful village called Naxxar. I stayed at Knights in Malta a great little B&B hosted by John and Dee. My room was lovely and very traditional. The breakfast were delicious. Knights in Malta is very central to travel everywhere and I fully recommend it for your perfect holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A lovely house of character with a specific charme. Dee and John are wonderful hosts. I personally liked the penthouse most, but all the rooms have their own character. Since I came for business I missed the internet connection (WiFi signal is quite weak) however this turned into something nice: whenever internet access was needed I stayed in the common living area giving me a chance to have nice chats with John and Dee.

I recommend this for any traveller tired of staying in the large hotels...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benicoleudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
5.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,248 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
3.9 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
0.1 mi away
Loggia Mariposa - Boutique Townhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights in Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights in Malta

Property: Knights in Malta
Address: 138 Triq St Lucija, Naxxar, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entrance to Knights in Malta opens into a lovely courtyard with plants and trees which provide a relaxed and cool environment in the summer months. The main House is built from traditional Maltese limestone and features a welcoming Reception and TV lounge. This adjoins a large 17th Century Dining/Breakfast Room where you can enjoy your deluxe continental breakfast, or one of our specialty theme evenings, The upper levels feature an outside Jacuzzi and sun terrace, and a Gazebo area for Spa Treatments. Guests can enjoy a range of treatments at discounted prices.Knights in Malta provide guests with Free WI-Fi Internet The designer bedrooms are on the ground, first and second floors, surrounding the courtyard. They are spacious rooms, beautifully furnished with many antiques and rich in individual character. All rooms have en-suite or private bathrooms, and most rooms have balconiesKnights in Malta is within easy access of the International Airport. We can organize tours and book your car rental at good rates. We also provide our guests with information and guidance in planning their holiday.Your hosts at ‘Knights in Malta’ will guarantee you a warm welcome and an enjoyable stay at their beautiful house. Look out for our Special Offers during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knights in Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights In Malta Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing