We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday for the head and the heart”
Review of Knights in Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knights in Malta
Ranked #4 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Birmingham
1 review
“A holiday for the head and the heart”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I recently spent a wonderful week in Malta, staying at the superb Knights in Malta guest house. The house itself is such a wonder, a traditional Maltese property situated in Naxxar that has been converted into beautiful suites in a variety of styles. My room was large and airy with an en suite toilet and shower room. The owners John and Dee were warm and welcoming and full of information regarding the history of the Island, local travel, restaurants and everything else that you might need to know about during your stay. Breakfast was excellent and varied both in it's food and conversation, a great way to start each day. Naxxar itself is full of history as is Mosta which is in walking distance and where you will see the impressive Mosta dome, definitely worth a look. It is very easy to travel via the bus services from both places to all over the Island, a definite plus if you don't plan on hiring a car during your stay. There is so much to see and do in Malta, if you've never visited then you will be amazed at the variety, from the historical city of Mdina to the modern bars, clubs and restaurants of Paceville, the shopping of Sliema or the breathtaking views from the Upper Barraca Gardens in Valetta. Wherever you decide to visit though you should make the little town of Naxxar and the beautiful Knights in Malta guest house the centre of your stay. A real place for the head and for the heart.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    25
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
66
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Who wants to get to know the Maltese way of life is right here! Located in a very nice side street, away from all the tourists Trouble and very central (by bus you can reach all interesting targets in about 30 minutes) hosts (John and Dee) are friendly and knowledgeable, but not pushy. Even with tour bookings, the hosts are helpful. Really highly recommended :)

Room Tip: book a room, which is not on the street. In the morning the side road is traveled a lot, so that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Knights Inn Malta. The house is beautiful and the owners John and Dee are absolutely lovely. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and to give advice on things to do/ places to eat. Naxxar is a lovely place to spend a few days, with excellent restaurants just a 3 minute walk away (Cafe Luna in the palace is a lovely place to have a coffee and some cake in the afternoon, Ta Stringi had the best pizzas we have had for years and Cellinis is a charming little place with excellent service and nice pasta dishes.) Our room was Mdina on the roof level and it was very comfortable, nicely decorated with its own private terrace. Don't hesitate to book in here - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Mdina is a fab choice, especially because of the private terrace which makes it feel like you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemency N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and felt that we had found a real gem in this historic b& b in the lovely village of Naxxar.
Everything was spotless and John and Dee friendly and helpful. The house is an interesting mix of styles and decor which works well.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful with fresh fruit and local specialities as well as breads, jams and yoghurt.
Naxxar is lovely with all the basic shops and several bars and cafes as well as the fabulous palace. It is only a gentle 5 minute stroll away.
We stayed in a lovely large room with views over the countryside. The down side to the room was inadequate storage/hanging space and access up a steep stairway - partly outdoor,from the kitchen. Our bathroom was separate- on the roof, up more stairs with 3 slippery steps into the shower. It also doubled as the house laundry so was not private. The access could be a problem to anyone with reduced mobility and especially during the night or in bad weather when the stairs could be difficult to manage - this should be pointed out when bookings are accepted. It caused us a slight difficulty as contact lens wearers and we had to take extra care.
Our major problem was that we had specifically booked the Mdina suite several months in advance as it had a private terrace area and en-suite. Three weeks before arriving we were informed this would not be available as rooms were only allocated close to the time to optimise occupancy. This policy should be made clear as we were under the impression that we had a booked a specific room.

Buses are prompt and cheap and lots of places can be reached easily. A car is a bonus, however be sure that you are a confident driver and are Ok with squeezing into tight parking spaces in narrow streets.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a B& B that is hidden in a side street in Naxxar, a lovely old Maltese house. John and Dee , the owners are welcoming but not over the top. Breakfast is a all sit on a big table event and is wonderful start to the day. You can be quiet and concentrate on breakfast or be active in the discussions. Well worth staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We choose this place to avoid the busy mass-tourism accomodation and we did not regret it. BB is hidden in the narrow streets of naxxar, in the typical maltese house. We rented a scooter to move around, but even with public transport is quite easy to reach the major places.
Dee and John, the owners, were absolutely fantastic, very helpful and easy-going. The breakfast is really nice, the delicious maltese bread is a must and then pastizzi, maltese specialty, really made our day.
We had nice and cozy room , on the first floor. The bed was really comfortable - we slept like babies:) The only thing that was little bit dissapointig was that the bathroom was on different floor. At the end we got used to it and didn't mind to do some stretching everytime, but in case of bad weather it might be quite annoying, I guess.
Overall, we definitely suggest this place, as the good mood that you found there everyday is so addictive that you end up smiling all the time!

Room Tip: Ask to have a bathroom in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were amazed we found it but so glad we did! Tucked away down a quiet little street in Naxxar is a wonderful little B&B with heaps of Maltese charm. The owners are very welcoming and helpful, full of local knowledge and passionate about their business. We stayed in two of the rooms as we booked quite late, and so had the opportunity to try both. The Mdina Deluxe suite room has lots space with its own terrace area, and the Deluxe Navarro Suite was very light and spacious. Both were very comfortable and nicely furnished with local/antique furniture. Plenty of choice at breakfast with optional local delicacies to try. A well located, quiet, beautifully presented friendly and well managed B&B with free wifi to boot (an essential these days) - couldn't have asked for more; we loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
5.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,304 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loggia Mariposa - Boutique Townhouse
3.2 mi away
Time Flies B&B
Time Flies B&B
#3 of 13 in Sliema
142 reviews
2.8 mi away
For Rest Aparthotel
For Rest Aparthotel
#1 of 6 in Bugibba
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights in Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights in Malta

Property: Knights in Malta
Address: 138 Triq St Lucija, Naxxar, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entrance to Knights in Malta opens into a lovely courtyard with plants and trees which provide a relaxed and cool environment in the summer months. The main House is built from traditional Maltese limestone and features a welcoming Reception and TV lounge. This adjoins a large 17th Century Dining/Breakfast Room where you can enjoy your deluxe continental breakfast, or one of our specialty theme evenings, The upper levels feature an outside Jacuzzi and sun terrace, and a Gazebo area for Spa Treatments. Guests can enjoy a range of treatments at discounted prices.Knights in Malta provide guests with Free WI-Fi Internet The designer bedrooms are on the ground, first and second floors, surrounding the courtyard. They are spacious rooms, beautifully furnished with many antiques and rich in individual character. All rooms have en-suite or private bathrooms, and most rooms have balconiesKnights in Malta is within easy access of the International Airport. We can organize tours and book your car rental at good rates. We also provide our guests with information and guidance in planning their holiday.Your hosts at ‘Knights in Malta’ will guarantee you a warm welcome and an enjoyable stay at their beautiful house. Look out for our Special Offers during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Knights in Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights In Malta Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing