We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Dunhill Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunhill Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hillsborough B&B and Inns
Jordan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here, and had a really comfortable stay. Its beside a working farm and has a rural feel despite it's great connections to Lisburn, Belfast, Banbridge and Newry.

The location is good, with great views over the Lagan Valley, and a 10 minute stroll from Hillsborough.

The family are lovely people, very friendly and helpful without any of the intrusiveness or awkwardness that i often find in a B&B. The property is quite new, with great rooms and a very nice seating area with a couch, TV, kettle, etc. The room was a decent size, with a large bathroom, and the breakfast was very tasty.

We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have never commented on a property before, but I felt I had to this time. Firstly, David and Bill are very personable and and helpful and breakfasts are good. Having said that , I think any property that requests you write a favourable report to Tripadvisor is trying to spin truth. Dunhill is not 5min. from town as claimed unless you are driving. I had to request soap for the shower. There is a duvee but no sheets on the bed, The TV did not work and the room was pretty spartan. The place requires a woman's touch - I never saw Gillian and only heard her pound in above me at midnight on Sat. The walls are paper thin and sound rebounds thru the place - the walls vibrate when doors are slammed.

Room Tip: Try to book Fort William B and B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

you have to believe you are on pretty solid ground when another top-rated area b&b recommends the place, which is what happened to us. we didn’t have the pleasure of meeting david and gillian, they were on the continent at the time; but david’s father was most accommodating. we were traveling with my daughter’s family, which included children ages 4-12. we arrived close to 7 pm after flying into dublin from the states and bahrain respectively, then making our way north to the giant’s causeway, etc. so were tired and settled for a local pizza to be eaten back at dunhill. we ate on the patio, which was quite pleasant as the sun teetered off on the horizon. the family room was one of the larger rooms we enjoyed during the week we spent with our grandchildren. breakfast was good, rooms fair value and the location was perfect for our needs. my only reservation about dunhill would be for travelers seeking nice choices for an evening meal. we didn’t see much that was suitable for families, although it could have been the hour lack of expanding the range we wanted to travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmacSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUCKS
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you want a B&B outside of Belfast this is the place to stay. The bedroom was lovely the breakfast was very good and David and Gillian were most pleasant and helpfull. The one thing we did miss was not being able to make a hot drink in the bedroom. Would thoroughly recomend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MONKCLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Found this as needed somewhere close to Belfast for business - but didn't want to stay in city centre on a Saturday night - great value, very modern rooms, fitted out to a very high standard, nice quiet location, great bathrooms, excellent quality breakfast, free wifi was a bonus.
Will definitely be back when next in Belfast

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pad0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The hosts are lovely and very helpful and friendly. It is very clean, nice size bed and great ensuite.
Good lounge area to rest or watch TV.The breakfast was terrific. It was all good, the only thing we would change is the particular bedroom we had was in the loft so we banged our head in the bedroom and the ensuite.
My husband was unable to stand to go to the toilet as he is tall. If we had a different bedroom it would have been perfect. We recommend this home as a B&B.

Room Tip: Don't get the loft room, others would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I would have to agree with others who have written reviews that this is an excellent choice for a B&B anytime you are anywhere near Hillsborough. We wanted suggestions for dinner and my daughter wanted pizza and there was no place open. Dave offered to prepare a frozen pizza he had before we settled on Chinese and went to his suggestion and had a great dinner. Place was very clean and hosts were terrific. Hope we can make it back one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsborough
2.7 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
27 reviews
18.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beechlawn House Hotel
Beechlawn House Hotel
#35 of 44 in Belfast
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lisnacurran Country House B&B
19.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhill Cottage

Property: Dunhill Cottage
Address: 47C Carnreagh, Hillsborough BT26 6LJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Hillsborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hillsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunhill Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dunhill Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Cottage Hillsborough, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing