We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Amazing”
Review of Palazzo Catalani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Catalani
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Amazing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was such a lovely place to stay for the week. The staff was so kind and helpful, the location was great, and the small kitchenettes in the rooms were perfect for small breakfasts and lunches. Along with that, the facility was incredible.

Room Tip: The lower two rooms (rooms 1 and 2 are perfect)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are pleased to know you were satisfied with your stay. Please do come back again in the future!

Riccardo De Cicco
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    76
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
222
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After two fabulous days in Rome, we headed back to the airport to hire a car at the airport for the second part of our of our holiday. The fact that everything that could go wrong that afternoon did from the hire company selling our car to somebody else (long story), it being Friday afternoon so nearly all the hire cars were booked out, then when we did eventually find our little Panda we hit the rush hour on the Rome ring road (not for the feint hearted!) So when we eventually got to Soriano nel Cimino hot and stressed and were shown to the room I guess Donna reviewed recently, just above reception, dark, smallish, stiflingly hot (wish somebody had opened a window for us) and nothing like the wonderful photos on line, there were tears. Mr S phoned reception and said we were very unhappy. We were offered a viewing of a new room the next day. We were woken by people chatting at 6am outside our room checking out.
Well the new room was a world apart from the first and the views took our breath away (the Solarium) - it was the only balconied room where we spent the early morning and late afternoon and early evening along with the church bells and the swallows. Just a dream of a view and we miss it so much. The room does contain about 20 stairs to another floor with a bedroom and beams so low you need to limbo underneath (only caught by head once!) You are under the roof and a skylight, so need a fan on all night and no more than duvet covers. I think it would be frighteningly hot in late July and August. The is no aircon anywhere.
We loved the pace of life in Soriano and took to taking coffee and pastries in the square and people watching along with the locals in the morning and found that a "bonjiourno" went down well with the elderly residents. My husband did however manage to get a one-to-one English tour of the castle in return for a donation. Local restaurant staff often didn't speak much english but were always very friendly and a lot can be achieved with pointing and miming! The hotel restaurant is excellent, the prices the same as elsewhere and we ate there twice.
We were only there four nights, not long enough, so were on the go every day. We loved Civita (the ghost town) and would like to go again but will won't go on a Sunday again when all the Italians go for lunch, the same goes for Capodimonte on the lake that was very busy indeed. We also visited Orvieto, and the gardens at Bagnaia, and wandered in Viterbo. There are endless towns and villages to explore if you have the time and the leg power (no joke when people say you will feel it - football stretches all round!)
Tip: If you arrive on a friday afternoon, consider coming up to Soriano via the coast road (instead of the printed instructions) - up to Civitavecchia where the ships come in, right at Tarquinia to Monte Romano, Vetralla, then Viterbo and Soriano. We came back that way and it was far more relaxing with little traffic.
We would visit Rome at the end of the trip if we came again. We had sore feet when we arrived from the cobbles and didn't want to walk the first day - this area is all about walking so we almost lost a day.
We are Silver Diamond members, said it was our 20th Wedding Anniversary and a 50th birthday too when we booked and requested a back of hotel room - so membership doesn't guarantee anything. What I do think helps is checking in earlier in the week … maybe?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have a lovely view but it all seems to be down to when you check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah-on-her-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad we were able to enjoy your stay with us once we could move you apartments.
We are thrilled to read that you found our staff helpful and courteous throughout your stay with us. It is great for us to read that you loved the local area and took advantage of all the villages and surroundings of our resort, we are sure future travellers will take note of your tips and location descriptions!
We hope you come back again soon.
Riccardo DeCicco
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivet, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first visit to Italy. It is - was on our bucket list. We made a decision to start in the countryside, travel and then visit Rome.
The Palazzo Catalani was perfect. The charming, historic town of Soriano nel Cimino could not have been any more welcoming or charming. It is a village nesteled on a hillside, with churches, a castle, great dining, wonderful walking, and in close proximity to other charming towns. The 8 a.m. alarms sounds loudly and from the past tradition of summoning workers to the fields, and then later, at dinner, home again. Church bells chime, birds sing, cats sit lazily in the sun, streets are dotted with shops and eateries.
And the Palazzo----so beautiful, comfortable, welcoming, and small enough that you joyfully visit with your fellow lodgers at the bar each evening.
We had a lovely suite - bed, kitchen, couch, closets, dining table and suitable bath (shower, no tub). The bed was so comfortable, the large, shuttered windows so welcoming to the sun and fresh air.
The air is the air conditioning. There was a TV and more but we never had the time or need to use them.
We drove to nearby and further places- Viterbo, Assi, Florence. Now we know there is a short rail that connects to the fast rail.
There is also a restaurant. It is marvelous. The chef is friendly and always present and will offer you a dish on or off the menu. One night when we were there he went out the front door to pick fresh herbs from the garden.
What a wonderful, beautiful. property. Bravo.

Room Tip: Rooms are on three floors, and of various sizes and types. Inquire when reserving. Be ready for walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivalv98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are delighted to learn that you have appreciated our tranquil location and we hope that your experience of rural Italy was as pleasant as you may have anticipated. Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us and your fellow travellers, we hope that you may decide to visit us again in the future!

Riccardo De Cicco
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosman, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I booked a room at Palazzo Catalani well in advance of our 2-week May Anniversary trip to Italy. We requested a special room for such an occasion. However, we found upon arrival that we were stuck in their smallest room... noisy at night, with no view except the rooftops and clothes lines of some other apartments. Apparently, the Diamond Resort Guests - of which we were not - are the favored guests here. The good rooms went to them, and we were not allowed to switch rooms our whole visit there. We ended up leaving early, and moving on to another village with a little more hospitality.
The other rooms at the Inn that we caught a glimpse of are, however, very nice, and we really enjoyed the restaurant with Chef Roberto. He is a gem, and if a day-tour is offered of his family farm with Etruscan ruins - GO! It was the highlight of our trip!
Soriano in itself is a delightful, non-touristy little hillside village... be sure to mingle with the town folk in the square in the evenings... where the older men gather at the fountain to chat about their day, and families bring their children and dogs out to play. On these lovely evenings, we would enjoy our daily gelato and take in the romance of it all... this is Italy.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here unless you are a Diamond Resort Member.... otherwise, you will be give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are very sorry you were disappointed with the room you were allocated. As we hope you can understand we are currently in peak season and are working at a high capacity within our resort, we do try to move our guests as and when we can so we do apologise for not being able to move you to a more preferable apartment.
We are however, glad to read that you loved the local area and found plenty of things to do!
We hope this doesn’t mar your future dealings with us.
Riccardo DeCicco
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our 5th visit as Timeshare owners; we never tire of it! The staff are friendly and Brit orientated, so the hotel has all the amenities we expect and which Italian timeshare exchange places often don't have. It is in the town of Soriano, overlooking the medieval castle and Tiber valley. Inside, the walls are frescoed. Apartments are generally spacious with a small but adequate kitchen. For the second time we had a roof terrace, but most rooms have the spectacular view. Perfectly situated for exploring Lazio (and Rome is easily accessible by train from nearby Orte), Tuscany, and Umbria.

Room Tip: One or two rooms face onto the narrow street, so ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a nice stay with us.
It is great for us to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay with us.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Riccardo DeCicco
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We definitely got our exercise, climbing up the hill to the hotel and up the stairs to our room. The interior of this hotel is wonderful. There is a bar and lounge off of the reception area, a large room with couches and magazines for relaxing on another level, a garden, and the restaurant which is truly the best in Soriano. The staff were very helpful and Roberto is a fabulous chef. We very much enjoyed our four days here and in Soriano which we had only expected to be a place to sleep while visiting Viterbo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are glad to read that all in all you had an excellent stay and your particular praise about the service is gratefully received. We truly hope to have another opportunity to see you again!

Riccardo DeCicco
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We really enjoyed the quality of the people at Palazzo Catalani. Every day Antonella, Sara, Angelo or Matteo were there with smiling faces to direct us as needed. The resort only has 18 suites. We stayed as Diamond Resort guests. Everyone gets to know you! The Town is very friendly. They recognized we were foreigners and went out of their way to assist us. This is a good place to stay and drive to other locations. The parking for us was not a problem but you must walk to the resort. There is a driver with cart to pickup your luggage. You must be able to walk steep hills and depending on the floor of your suite, many stairs. We were on the 4th floor. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. We also enjoyed several of the local restaurants. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palazzo Catalani, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you chose to stay at Palazzo Catalani – we strive to provide all our guests with wonderful holiday experiences, and we are really pleased to read that our team helped make your holiday here a thoroughly enjoyable one. We look forward to seeing you again!

Riccardo DeCicco
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soriano nel Cimino
8.6 mi away
Relais Sans Soucis & Spa
Relais Sans Soucis & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ronciglione
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Bastia Hotel & Resort
La Bastia Hotel & Resort
#2 of 3 in Soriano nel Cimino
139 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Umbria
Hotel Umbria
#1 of 2 in Attigliano
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel il Roscio
Hotel il Roscio
#2 of 2 in Attigliano
51 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Salus Terme
Hotel Salus Terme
#2 of 20 in Viterbo
1,065 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Relais Falisco
Hotel Relais Falisco
#1 of 1 in Civita Castellana
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Catalani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Catalani

Property: Palazzo Catalani
Address: Via Monte Cavallo 26, 01038 Soriano nel Cimino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Soriano nel Cimino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Soriano nel Cimino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Catalani 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palazzo Catalani is situated right in the medieval village of Soriano nel Cimino, and the building itself is a 17th century building once owned by an Italian nobleman.With its beauty and charm, history and culture, Italy has long been a popular holiday destination. It is here where you will find many wonders of nature, from snow-capped Alps to sunny Mediterranean beaches, as well as an abundance of historical treasures and sights. Don't forget to enjoy two of the things that Italy is best known for, food and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Catalani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Catalani Hotel Soriano Nel Cimino
Sunterra At Palazzo Catalani Viterbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing