We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem within easy travelling distance of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

simon7166
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden gem within easy travelling distance of Rome, Tuscany and Umbria”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We arrived at Casa Glenister and were given a lovely welcome by Flori. Flori speaks perfect English and was keen to give advice on anything ranging from places to visit, local shops and even where to get the local olive oil and wine from. By the way best red wine I have tasted for a long time. Not bad for 1.50 a litre!! Also arranged a visit to the local olive oil cooperative. The oil has won awards across Italy!! Well worth a visit in Vignanello. The house is huge. We went with our four children and Grandparents and found the rooms comfortable, large and very clean. There is a table tennis table and a good selection of books dvds to keep kids amused. The outside space is superb and well equipped for sun bathing, eating or lounging by the pool. Pool is excellent and a decent size.
Where to visit?
During our stay we didnt even scratch the surface there are so many places to visit that are within an hours drive or train journey from Soriano. These are my highlights in no particular order-
Rome - obvious choice. Catch a train from Orte where there is a huge car park. We bought a family day ticket for 72 Euros that covered six of us and unlimited use of buses and Metro in Rome. Orte 30 mins away. Rome 40 mins on train.
Soriano nel Cimino - wonderful place that grows on you. Great restaurants at good prices. Wonderful row of shops on road leading to main square where you can by pastries, bread, meat and wine!!
Viterbo -impressive old town with good selection of shops and medieval architecture.
Spoleto Umbria. About one hrs drive away. Spectacular World Heritage Site has to be seen to be believed.
Lakes Vigo and Bracciano less than an hour away. Lovely scenery.

Anyway if you like stunning landscapes, good food, a good base to explore central Italy you cannot go far wrong with this excellent value holiday!!

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studiosam...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly special place to stay in the heart of the real Italy”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My girlfriend and I had the opportunity to stay here for a few nights at the tail end of September and were blown away by the sheer beauty of the villa and surrounding areas.
Perfectly positioned to afford breathtaking panoramic views for miles in every direction, the villa is surrounded by gorgeous, undulating Italian countryside, peppered with 'nocciola' (hazelnut) trees and local flora. On a clear day you can see the mountain ranges of Tuscany all the way off in the distance and the view from the pool, flanked as it is by distant mountains from every side, is spectacular.
We arrived by train (from Rome to Orte station) and a cab from Orte to the Villa was very affordable, though I would recommend driving (it's about an hours drive from Rome) if you're able to do so as the views on from the roads just get better and better the further you get up into the old town of Soriano Nel Cimino. The people in the local village are very friendly, as are those in Soriano and they have great restaurants and cafes to compliment the sweeping views of Italian countryside.
The villa is beautiful and immaculately maintained, replete with mod-cons with a gorgeous landscaped garden filled with fruit trees and plants. The bedrooms are lovely and could comfortably sleep 10 and Floriana, who looks after the place is very helpful and knowledgable as she works as a guided tour operator in the surrounding towns and villages.
This was our first trip to Italy and though we loved Florence and Rome in equal measure, this place was for me a real highlight as it felt like we were finally in the 'real' Italy, well and truly off the beaten tourist track.
I would go back in a heartbeat and to anyone considering visiting Italy, I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fig trees, local provender and amazing views
Liked least: Honestly having to leave so soon!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
“Perfect villa for a great family holiday.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in August 2012

This was the third time we've been back to Casa Glenister. Every time we've been back we've discovered that it's even better than it was the last time ! This time we found that the wonderful terrace had all been upgraded and was an even better place to spend time relaxing with a glass of wine over dinner. Set in beautiful countryside with wonderful mountain views, this place is perfect for a great family holiday. The accommodation really suits a large family with five bedrooms, kitchen/diner and two lovely bathrooms, but where it really excels is with the space outside : Our children spent most of our two weeks in the fantastic swimming pool, while we had dinner on the terrace nearly every night. Floriana, who looks after the house, was a brilliant host and ensured that everything we needed was taken care of. The local village, Saint Eutizio, has a little supermarket and an incredibly good value pizzeria. Soriano is only 10 minutes away by car and has great cafes, restaurants and a once a week local market. All in all, the fact that this was our third visit says enough about how highly we regard this villa as a great place for a family holiday in this area.

Date of stay: August 2012
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.