We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, except for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Pointe Saint-Mathieu
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Plougonvelin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Good bedroom, with outside balcony area. No separate bathroom, just a corner of the bedroom. The restaurant was very good for dinner, with good service and excellent food.

Only problem was breakfast. Very little choice, and appallingly bad coffee. I would expect decent coffee in France, and this was notably bad coffee by French standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToastedWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I don't regret that I stayed a couple of nights in this hotel but want to ensure that other travelers know more than this hotel website and other reviews tell about this property.
The location is great, really secluded and full of fresh air. The downside is that there is little choice of how to feed yourself. Breakfast is very basic, even the eggs are to be paid extra if you fancy some. The dinner option is the only one and not cheap.
The rooms are pretty warn out, small and with bath instead of shower in some of the rooms... Not convenient at all.
The hotel will try to sell you parking for 5 euro but there are plenty of free spaces in the close public parking lot, so don't buy their parking.
The value is also not good as you pay over 250 euro per night for basic three star room, despite that the hotel claim it is four.
The spa, or so called spar, is small pool with so much chlorine it it that you would not even be near the pool. During my two nights stay I never saw anyone using the pool...
If you want to enjoy the scenery, fresh air then the hotel will do the purpose, but do not expect much though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent Hotel in wonderful location by the lighthouse, for a fabulous cliff walk, viewing seals and sea birds. The Sunset was brilliant from our Balcony and once dark it was fascinating working out where all the lighthouses were that you can see. The Superior room was very comfortable with one of the best bathrooms I have seen. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and although we were on the half board menu you are able to choose anything else off the a la carte for a supplement. The wine list is impressive if rather pricy. Service was very attentive and professional. Secure parking in the Hotel yard is available at 5 euro per night. The swimming pool is good, not too warm, and sunbeds are available which can be moved outside if you want.
I recommend staying here for anyone who wants to spend a short time at the Pointe Saint-Mathieu in order to enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Worth booking sea view room for the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plantsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The location is outstanding, if you happen to enjoy this kind of remote location.
And staying in a hotel here makes it possible to stay at night.

The location, is at the end of the world, on a rocky point, with the craggy coast all around and with the L'Iroise sea outside, with all ships and blinking lighthouses.
With gorse and sea pink growing all around, and gannets, gulls and other sea birds flying past.
A tiny hamlet, with romantic abbey ruins, 2 lighthouses and a semaphor.
And that's all there is.

I'd stay in a hostel, or tent, or a much worse hotel, to stay in this place.

But, this hotel is good, although there is a definitely a cost to stay in this location.

If you don't care about staying overnight in a location like this, then you might be able to find more economical options.

I chose a room with a sea view and terrace. And, for me, that was worth the money, but that is completely individual.
You don't get a completely unobstructed sea view, but still, you can sit on the terrace and soak in the view, the stillness, and the sea sounds, with a bonnet, a fleece and a windproof on;-) until the cold winds drive you indoors.
And you can see all the lighthouses of the L'Iroise blinking at night, and if you don't draw the blinds at night you can lie in the bed and see the blinking lights, and the lights from the nearby St Mathieu lighthouse sweeping by.

But, it comes at a price.

The room was not enormously large, but large enough, comfortable and nicely decorated.
The bed is comfortable, and there was a table for writing. The headboard of the bed has all the power sockets, so you can charge a mobile phone or computer and still reach it from the bed.

The shower cabin and basing are in the actual room. The shower is fine, but the area around the basin is a little cramped.

Coming in after a rainy walk, I had some problems finding space to hang things to dry. I did not see any drying room, but possibly the staff could have helped with this.

The breakfast room has a decor a little like a staff lunch room,
but with sea facing panorama windows, with the same view as my room had.
The breakfast buffet has a good selection of everything you'd normally see on a breakfast buffet in this part of the world. In particular there was a good selection of breads and cheeses .

The staff is friendly and welcoming, but there are some slight communication issues.

The restaurant:
It is the only option to get something to eat unless you get yourself to Le Conquet or Plougonvelin.
Fortunately it is good, but it is not a budget option.

- Good, varied and imaginative menu, with a tempting dessert table.
- And the decor is nice.
- The hotel offers demi pension at an extra charge, and there is a specific fixed menu included in that, that changes every day.
I ended up with this option. And this was good, everything I had was good, well prepared and presented.

But, I ended up with the half pension by accident. When I reserved a table for dinner, they automatically assumed I wanted the half pension option, and also that I wanted this for both nights.
And I am certain I could have changed this, on the fly, to have the a la carte menu instead.
But this caused some confusion, and was due to missing communication,
to me, because they did not tell me about this option when I reserved the table, or maybe because of a miscommunication between the reception and the restaurant staff.
And I noticed some lack of communication also between the staff in the restaurant. Lack of synchronisation as some other reviewer expressed it. This had a certain charm although it was slightly irritating.

To get to this place without a car, is tricky.
There is one bus a day that travels on to Pointe Saint Mathieu from Le Conquet, and drops passengers off.
However, there is no bus from this stop, in the other direction, which means you need to walk the 4 kilometers to Le Conquet carrying your luggage.
Which was worth the effort for me, but might not be an option for all travellers.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms can see lighthouses blinking at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiftyNiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights and I wish I could have had longer. This is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. I treated myself to a facial there and the lady was really lovely. I would definitely recommend this place. The staff are friendly, the location is beautiful, the room was really comfortable and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shovesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel is remote and romantic, with a wonderful walking options. The service is excellent - we forgot some items and they forwarded them free of charge. It is definitely worth dining in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Albertegham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, the situation is lovely, right next to the lighthouse and our room overlooked the sea.
However I don't really feel that the 4 stars are justified, the room was nice but whoever thought that a narrow sharped edged formica ledge would make an ideal headboard, clearly had not tried reading a book whilst leaning against it! Towels were thread bare, old and rather grey.
We had two meals in the restaurant but as the menu did not change in the time we were there we did not dine again.
The food was nice but not what I would call Gourmet.
It has no competitors so it rather rests on its laurels, most the staff were helpful and charming, breakfast was a bit of a bun fight if you went early as the young waitress who served was rather shy and quiet and a bit slow. However if you went later the offerings were limited as they were clearly not into keeping the shelves stocked until closing time.
The swimming pool is nice but it varied a lot in temperature, and at times the hot tub was far from hot.
This is a good base for a trip to this area of Brittany, the walk to Le Conquet is really lovely and if the weather is warm there are some beautiful beaches to swim and sunbathe.
Overal it was nice but I dont feel 4 Star.

Room Tip: Check the headboard in the bedroom if you are an avid reader in bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohese77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plougonvelin
12.7 mi away
Le Chateau de Sable Hotel
Le Chateau de Sable Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porspoder
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vent D'Iroise
Hotel Vent D'Iroise
#1 of 1 in Saint-Mathieu
224 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel-Spa La Baie des Anges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Large
Hotel du Large
#2 of 3 in Plougonvelin
88 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel de la Vinotiere
Hotel de la Vinotiere
#2 of 3 in Le Conquet
121 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Au Bout du Monde
Hotel Au Bout du Monde
#1 of 3 in Le Conquet
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Pointe Saint-Mathieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Pointe Saint-Mathieu

Address: 7 Place Saint Tanguy | Pointe Saint Mathieu, 29217, Plougonvelin, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Plougonvelin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Plougonvelin
Price Range: £88 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie de la Pointe Saint-Mathieu 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostellerie de la Pointe Saint-Mathieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Pointe Saint-Mathieu Plougonvelin, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing