We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, lovely setting”
Review of Manoir de Moellien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir de Moellien
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Plonevez-Porzay
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Convenient location, lovely setting”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in a room in the Orangerie. The location is very convenient for touring the area. One day we drove to Pointe du Raz, only about an hour each way, walked the coastal path & stopped at other lookouts & villages along the way. In the afternoon we drove to Menez-Hom for another walk & picnic lunch. Another day we drove to Huelgoat in the Montagnes Noires to walk. Quimper is less than a half hour south & Locronon is minutes away. We did have to stop in Plonevey-Porzay & ask for directions at the boulangerie because there weren't any signs for the Manoir arriving from the direction we came. There are signs out of Locronon.
We didn't have much contact with the staff except at check-in & out. They were both very pleasant. The young woman at check-in was very friendly & helpful.
The Orangerie & main hotel have already been well described. The hotel & its grounds are lovely with ancient charm we look for & love in Europe. Unfortunately, we didn't spend any time in the main building. Our room in the Orangerie had views over the fields & hills with cows & sheep grazing & was so relaxing. We were the only ones there & sat on our little patio on a lovely evening with our cider & cheese enjoying the pastoral views & peace.
Our room & bathroom looked newly renovated. The room was a decent size, very contemporary & very clean as was the bathroom which had a very good shower & all new fixtures. The bed was comfortable, firm, with good linens & a duvet. The room was white with all black furniture & a grey faux wood floor (cold), small built-in night tables, simple desk, chair & stool. Not cozy but comfortable. A closet, plenty of parking, no phone, good TV, several outlets, blackout curtain & shade & the heaters worked well as it was a bit cool at night. We did have some problems figuring out the door lock but ran into another one just like it at another hotel. Wonderful place to sleep as it really is quiet. We did not eat there. We arrived on a Sun. & there was no dinner service. We did not care for the menu for Mon. evening, but there are plenty of restaurants in Locronon. Although we were only at the Manoir in the evenings, we really enjoyed our stay there & would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    43
    10
    11
    1
See reviews for
25
147
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dovje, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here only one night, in May 2013 (it took me a while to clean up my old reviews). The whole scenery is really nice, and the recepcionist took time to explain some facts about the property.

As location this is a stunning property (especially main buidling and surroundings), however rooms in Orangerie are a bit disapointing. Our room was quite cold and dark with outdated furnishing, but at least we had a heater in the room. Needles to say, that if you kept door to the bathroom closed, it was freezing cold there in the morning (and it wasn't winter or cold outside). But there were lounge chairs infront of the room and it was great to relax.

We decided also for a dinner (set menu) and didn't regret it despite its price (its around 40-45 EUR per person dinner+breakfast). The dining room was really nice, albeit service and helpfulness of the waiter was a bit questionable. But OK, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Price is quite high, but for the room, but i would still return any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matevzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When you enter the hotel reception area you think whow, but then it goes down key as the woman behind the desk is dressed for a day out relaxing, not in keeping with the surroundings or professional at all.
Then onto the rooms, we were in the Orangrie, now I can forgive tired rooms, but not dirty rooms. I had to wash out the bath before I would even stand in it for a shower, lots of previous guests hairs in the bath, hand basin and all over the bathroom floor.The bedroom floors were dirty, dust everywhere.
The dining room is magnificent, the food is good (thank you chef) but the serving staff, although pleasant have the same scruffy look of the reception staff.
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brookie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Many others have given this place a favorable review, but I think it deserves one more. The hotel buildings have great charm and character, and the tranquil setting, overlooking rolling fields, could hardly be improved upon. The hotel staff, and its managers, are gracious and accommodating. The food at the lovely restaurant is delicious. It's true that the menu is quite limited--only one main course while we were there--but you can request an alternative, which we did on one evening. Breakfast, served in an atmospheric, beamed room, was also good.

We stayed in the most inexpensive of the room types, in the Orangerie, I believe. The furnishings and toiletries were quite modest, but so was the price. Our friends stayed in a higher-category room, which was more spacious and a bit nicer.

Overall I would say that if luxury is your objective, this is probably not the place for you. But if you are looking for comfort, charm, and a warm welcome, you will be happy at the Manoir de Moellien. By the way, I was told that the hotel would soon be launching a new website with directions to the manor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EKJ897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The old manor house is a very impressive chateau style building, with medieval style decor for the restaurant (imagine a medieval banqueting hall). Food in the restuarant was a very high standard and for while there is a limited choice (set menu) we had no problem finding good options on both nights we were there.
The room we were in was in a separate cottage - the cottages have separate ground floor and first floor flats. The ground floor ones have a garden terrace area - we were in the first floor flat which was probably the biggest room we had in our stay in Britanny, with views over rolling fields and a large bathroom. I would say the decor was 3*plus and not quite in the luxury category, but perfectly acceptable. Free wifi is available in the old manor house but not in the rooms. There is a minibar in the room which is stocked, and the grounds are very nice. I thought the breakfast buffet was a bit limited in choice but fairly staple choices for Britanny (ie bread/croissant/hot drink etc). There was plenty of space for car parking. As other reviewers have said, you may need a satnav to find this place as it is up a side road that goes through fields.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was a great 2-night stopover on a 10 day tour of Brittany. The hotel is a little hard to find, sat nav makes it much easier. It is quite remote from the nearest towns so the options for evening meals are a bit limited- if you have to drive, that is. The Manoir has an excellent restaurant, but when we were there, the menu was limited to a choice of two starters and two main courses. The Manager did say that if these set menus did not appeal, they would provide alternatives, but there was no alternative actually listed on the menu card. We dined there on the first night and the food was excellent, but the menu choice on the second night did not appeal to us, so we dined out during the day and kept off the wine! Prices were reasonable for both food and wine.
The Manoir is set up such that the main building contains the (small) lounge and the dining rooms, while the sleeping accommodation is in single-storey buildings in the grounds. We stayed in the Orangery and the rooms were reasonably spacious, very clean and very well equipped. However if you are an Internet addict, wifi coverage extends only to the main building lounge and terrace, a minor irritation. This is a Relais du Silence hotel, and indeed it was very quiet and peaceful. The grounds are very well tended and well laid out, had the weather been better we could have really taken advantage of this. Hotel facilities in terms of lounge or bar are limited, the lounge having seating accommodation for no more than 8 or so people, but adequate. Parking is secure and close to the rooms- once you figure out where you are supposed to park!
Overall a really nice place to stay, reasonably priced, and full of character. Good swimming at the nearby beach (10 mins by car) which was deserted when we were there. Locronan village is also nearby, OK if you like that kind of thing, but lots of other more "real" villages not too far away- not to mention Quimper, a lovely place to visit.

I would probably have awarded the full five stars if the restaurant menu had offered a bit more choice, but I can fully understand why they would try to limit choice in the interest of providing excellent food, which they succeeded in doing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassicPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Spent 10 days here as the main part of our holiday. A good base to discover the coastline. Your only 4 km from three beaches. Fantastic location with great views of the rolling farmland. Very quite and relaxed. The interior of the main Manoir building is full of character and charm. Best of all is the food. The evening meals here are superb. Enjoyed everyone of them. The only improvement I would make are the room interiors. They look a bit dated.

Thanks again to the friendly staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonVTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plonevez-Porzay
1.5 mi away
Latitude Ouest Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#4 of 10 in Douarnenez
266 reviews
15.4 mi away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Douarnenez
Premiere Classe Douarnenez
#2 of 10 in Douarnenez
970 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Relais de Trefeuntec
Le Relais de Trefeuntec
#3 of 3 in Plonevez-Porzay
45 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel du Port Rhu
Hotel du Port Rhu
#1 of 10 in Douarnenez
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Moellien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Moellien

Property: Manoir de Moellien
Address: Manoir de Moellien, 29550 Plonevez-Porzay, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Plonevez-Porzay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Plonevez-Porzay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir de Moellien 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Renaissance Mansion of the XVIIth century is located in the heart of Finistère, 2 Km from Locronan and the Bay of Douarnenez sand beaches. The 18 very confortable bedrooms are looking to the south and offer private terraces directly on the gardens. At the "Orangerie", the bedrooms are equiped with flat TV set, telephone and italian shower. At the"Ecuries" the 5 charming duplexs are equiped with flat TV set, telephone, mini-bar, bathtub. Free internet is available in all the hotel. The restaurant offers an elaborate cooking with a marine tendency. you can savor it in the historical lounge with its huge fireplace and its visible beams. The Manoir de Moellien is the ideal place to recover in the countryside and discover the multiple aspects of Britanny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manoir de Moellien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De Moellien France/Plonevez-Porzay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing