We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another pleasant, stay in this relaxing, peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Larkrise Cottage and the patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Larkrise Cottage and the patio
Larkrise Cottage and Courtyard Sitting Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Larkrise Cottage and the patio
Larkrise Cottage and Courtyard
Sitting Area
The King-size bed
Dining Area
Kitchen area
The single bed
Shower room
On our Farm
The countryside
Cottage in the sunshine
Some of our animals
The resident dog
The Farm Entrance
The Lane just outside
Our nearbye caravan site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kirton in Lindsey, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MykandLiz
Norwich, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another pleasant, stay in this relaxing, peaceful haven.”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is our third stay in Lark Cottage, which should say it all!
We have always found it clean, tidy and relaxing to stay in.
It's location is good for many places of interest, whilst still being a peaceful, country retreat.
We have always found the owners, to be relaxed but efficient and easy to deal with.
The fresh eggs from hens, ducks and geese on the farm and pork products from pigs bred there are a bonus.
Kirton Lindsey is within easy walking distance for averagely able folk, where they will find shops, pubs and a pleasant church. It is certainly well within cycling distance.
There are several pubs in the area serving locally brewed, real ales and good food if one wishes to avoid cooking!
Lincoln and Gainsborough are the nearest 'towns', both having buildings of real historic interest and all the amenities one might expect, (although Gainsborough is a small town compared with the Historic City of Lincoln with its famous castle and Cathedral). Hull, 2017's City of Culture is not far either.
Well behaved children and pets are welcomed.
We shall return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thanks for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heggersca...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Requires some TLC”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On arrival we were shown around the cottage and it was well appointed.

Our stay was for a period of 19 days and during that time we discovered several issues along the way, which we were very surprised at considering the high ratings of this holiday let. Although the cottage was reasonably priced we would have expected a higher degree of cleanliness.

1 Television was faulty which was replaced immediately by the owners
2 The cooker / grill had not been cleaned for sometime
3 Extracter fan above the cooker never worked whilst we were there.
4 The shower tray required some TLC, black mould was quite visible to the bottom left hand corner of the tray and the side panels needed to be cleaned before we could use the shower.
5 The bed matteress has no support to the left side, obviously needs replacement asap.
6 Cleaning, the living / Kitchen / bedroom / shower room / windows needs a good clean. Our first job was to get rid of numerous meat flies which had collected in the window reveals.

Points 2/3 were raised with the owners but alas nothing was done.

We were disappointed to say the least, the cottage is in a good location and with some TLC could be made into first class accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: General cleanliness, bed matteress,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
We are really surprised by this review. First our helper/cleaner had difficulty accessing the cottage during these visitors' occupation in order to clean the cottage as they were often not up and about during the morning and were quite discouraging of her entering in order to clean. Second it is untrue that the cooker had not been cleaned nor that there is mould in the shower. Nothing was said to the owner at all about this or the extractor and indeed our guests never came to the main house except to enquire about the working of the tv. . Further the mattress was brand new just a few weeks in place. I do not know what is meant by "meat flies". The cottage is on a farm and in warm weather there are sometimes insects. No meat is left lying about. The comment is untypical of the reviews we usually recieve and a bit of a puzzle!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a short break at the cottage, . We were met by the owners on arrival and shown where everything was. The cottage was a good size, our toddler enjoyed having the space to run around, was very comfortable and was well equipped. A lovely stay. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves.You were nice guests to have!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
louise b
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a quaint little village! Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we've just returned from a 4 day stay at larkrise cottage. Myself, my partner and our 20 month old son all loved our stay. The cottage was small but had everything we needed, the cupboards were stocked with tea, coffee, sugar and a few preserves and extra bits. a breakfast hamper was available to pre-book. All bedding/towels/toilet roll was provided and the cottage was very clean and tidy. John (the owner) was lovely, and very helpful both before and throughout our stay.

The beds were very comfortable, the cottage is situated next to the owners home but we didn't notice them or any noise. The cottage is on a working farm with horses, ponies, sheep, chickens and geese that we were able to visit as well a bit field to play football or other games.

The village of Kirton Lindsey was just beautiful, very oldy worldy. All the shops were very traditional rather than commercialised stores, there was a butchers, bakers, post office, local store and a penny mix/sweet shop. A large park and playing fields is also there, as well as two pubs (highly recommend The George) an indian takeaway and a chinese take away!

I would highly recommend the cottage and the village, we hope to visit again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery and how peaceful the area was
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMallinso...
SheenView B&B Killaha East Kenmare County Kerry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with everything you could need”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

FOr us the place was perfect, peaceful and yet located close to all amenities you could wish for, the owners were very friendly and helpful. the home made sausages and the free range eggs were good

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the cottage
Liked least: no internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely conversion on small farmstead. Well appointed. Quiet.”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for new year for a couple of nights. We were very pleased with the accommodation and the price.

There is one large bedroom and an en suite. A large room with open plan kitchen, dining area and spacious lounge area. everything was really clean and tidy. A pleasure to stay in.

they accept dogs which is less common but for dog lovers like us and our friends it was lovely.

It was £60 per night and we had 2 couples staying (one on the bed settee).

We went for a lovely walk across fields from Kirton to Scotton and back with the dogs. We all had a great time.

They have a TV which is a little dated and a Wii which was a nice surprise but didn't really work but apart from this it was really good. Fresh farm eggs at £1 a box was excellent.

The location is about 1.5 miles from Kirton and so you definitely need transport. It is not walkable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really nice living space
Liked least: TV wasn't very good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing