We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous but no "heart"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Hameau du Barboron
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Lovely, secluded QUIET spot and gorgeous setting - but there is no "heart" there. I felt like I was in a California-like spa b&b designed to LOOK like a French retreat; comfortable, elegant, yet somehow sterile and lacking in a welcoming feel. Other than that one drawback, I'd recommend it highly. It's just not that French. There is not food available that I was aware of other than some apples/oranges in the room and the continental breakfast (16 euros each). It was said to have been a monastery at one point.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theREDsleeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at this property one night on a group bike trip. It was a lovely little hotel but very quiet (limited internet, no cell service, no bar). The location is quiet and peaceful, dinner and breakfast were both tasty. Nice place but it's not near anything (if you want that). Our room was two levels (bedroom upstairs with toilet, bathroom and living room downstairs with full bath). It did not have air conditioning. It was fine with windows open but I suspect in a hotter summer it may be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

If the only thing you want to do is read a book and nothing else then visit this place. It is in the middle of nowhere, but unfortunately there are no activities you can undertake at the premises and there is no internet. The place has no kitchen itself and the food has to be delivered by a caterer. All this can be overlooked as long as the staff makes you feel welcome. Well they did not. We have never experienced such rude and arrogant staff. If you want to be yelled at by the staff go to this place, if not avoid it !

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haarlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2005

I did a lot of searching to find a romantic place in Burgundy that would be someplace that we would not forget....and I found it! Le Hameau du Barboron is not easy to find but well worth it, it is set on a long winding road and in the beautiful countryside of Savigny-les-Beaune. You definitely need a car to stay here. The owners are wonderful and breakfast is fantastic. I can not wait to go back. Our room was perfect and I am including pictures of the property. One of our favorite parts of our visit was the yellow lab, he greets you each day and is a sweetie!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank headyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Tx.
13
Reviewed 8 September 2004

Beautiful spot nestled in a gorgeous setting away from the beaten path. We found it by accident and the surprise was wonderful. Very friendly and accomodating owners, and a breakfast setting to die for.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2004

A sublimely quiet and stately residence in the heart of the Burgundy hills, only 10 min. from Beaune, the wine capital. Exquisite taste, wonderful local wine, very friendly owners and staff. I have been there more than 5 times and I will keep going!

10  Thank Walid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neige38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savigny-les-Beaune
4.2 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#21 of 62 in Beaune
518 reviews
3 mi away
B&B Hotel Beaune Nord
B&B Hotel Beaune Nord
#1 of 3 in Savigny-les-Beaune
120 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'ouvree
L'ouvree
#2 of 3 in Savigny-les-Beaune
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Grange de Moisey
La Grange de Moisey
#1 of 3 in Marigny-les-Reullee
93 reviews
9.9 mi away
Domaine des Closeaux
Domaine des Closeaux
#2 of 4 in Puligny-Montrachet
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Hameau du Barboron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau du Barboron

Address: Ferme de Barboron | 21420, 21420 Savigny-les-Beaune, Beaune, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Savigny-les-Beaune
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Savigny-les-Beaune
Price Range: £94 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Hameau du Barboron 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Hameau du Barboron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing