We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
38
31
20
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
38
31
20
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights camping as we wanted to go to Livingstonia. The camp arranges guides for £1.50pp which is a 6-7 hours walking. This was really worth it. The camp itself has lots of overland trucks passing though and the food prices are too expensive aswell as the accomodation. The grounds and the locatation are really nice but we are looking for something more intimate.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frydayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Chitimba Camp has a great location and a very helpful staff. I arrived late due to a mini-bus mix up, but they were willing to re-open the kitchen and make a burger for me. Overall it is a bit more pricey than the nearby spots because the Camp seems to cater more towards the big overland trucks that are coming through. But, everything is very clean, well-maintained, and right on the beautiful beach.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricktan1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The setting and general feel of Chitimba Camp was lovely, our room while basic was nice, I would have preferred to stump up a little extra for the ensuite in retropect. The showers and toilets while functional are just a little grim and lacking in privacy.

The guys outside are good for banter and have some really nice wood products for sale and the staff inside were pleasant. I brought clothes to donate to the local villagers as the owner's reputation for their stirling work with the aids-orphans went before them. The male owner agreed to take a photo or two so the kids back home would appreciate those less well off than themselves but when I followed this up upon my return, the response from female owner was downright rude and hugely disappointing.

Do the village walk but not on a sunday when the clinic is closed. Nor can you go swimming if the croc is about...

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's evident from the moment you pull up to Chitimba Camp that the owners and staff put a lot of effort into this cozy beach spot. They have a honeymooners cabin on the beach known as the love shack. The bar and restaurant area have a really cool vibe, nice decor, and comfy seating so that you want to hang for hours here. We camped for a night during our overland trip and would have loved to have enjoyed more time as there were volleyball nets and the water to enjoy. The camping facilities were well maintained. Some of our friends upgraded to a room and mentioned they were nice. The showers were very clean. The water was lukewarm - not the end of the world but something you may to know to set your expectations (and this was for the camping crew -perhaps the showers in the room are fine). WiFi was so slow we couldn't use it. Again, not an issue if you don't need it. With the views and the beach setting, chances are, you won't want to connect.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We camped here for one night and found the camping facilities perfectly adequate. The bar by the beach was a nice place to chill with a beer and we found the staff friendly. Admittedly the wifi was awful, but overall a good budget option.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews