We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Castel Jeanson
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently refurbished, this hotel is a gem. Everything was very well done. There are some smaller rooms, but our suite was spacious and well appointed. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom has a large shower and dual sinks. Breakfast is a little pricey but includes not only the usual beverages and pastries but also eggs, meat and cheese. A quiet street runs in front of the hotel, making for a tranquil night's sleep. There's an indoor pool, but we didn't use it. The restaurant selection in town could be better, but Epernay is just a short drive away. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TahoeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful hotel, with good service and amenities, beautiful swimming pool, great breakfast (somewhat late start at 07.30 though) with vast choice and very nice rooms.

We slept in the classic rooms, which had everything you needed, a rather big bathroom actually with a nice shower and a toilet which was separated by a wall. The bed was good and all rooms are quite calm and spread over the building.

Also nice is the salon where you can have a tea of coffee (free) throughout the day and where you have some comfortable seating with different magazines to read when you want to relax.

In front of the hotel there is lots of parking, but they also have their own covered garage, which is an old industrial building/hall, very spacious, where you can easily fit any car.

Only point of criticism would be the prices of the rooms which were to my view on the high side, even more when you have to pay breakfast separately at 13 euro. Somewhat steep.

Room Tip: Take a classic room if you do not need a lot of room, apparently the other rooms (superior) are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very pleasant hotel, small but well-equipped rooms and very good breakfasts. Highly recommended. We didn't know they had a pool (indoor) so didn't swim. The location is brilliant for champagne visits, especially to the Cotes des Blancs - and there are several small and larger champagne houses in town. But do get a driver if you are tasting!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestDeneWombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a very clean and stylish hotel the rooms have character and the building has been restored and totally refurbished with a lot of thought and care . the pool is lovely as is the court yard near the pool as it is under cover and a very relaxing place to enjoy a bottle or half bottle of the owners own champagne and read a good book in piece and quite (they have wine and champagne of all quality's and prices to suite all budgets) the only small issue is that AY is a very quite town and has only a pizza and a (excellent) Crêpe restaurant so if you want a high quality restaurant transport is essential as the hotel does not do food but free tea and coffee are available in the lounge 24/7, the rooms are very clean with flat screen TV and good air con, they also have a excellent secure free garage for your car or Motorcycle. This is a real French style hotel full of character and if you want a quite relaxing place to stay I would recommend this as a place to base yourself for a tour of the champagne region at a reasonable price for the high quality of accommodation provided , A drink making facility in the room would add a nice touch

Room Tip: all the rooms are very stylish as is the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geddyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's more like staying in a stately home than a hotel.- One that they can't really afford to do up. The cleaner met us, but was unable to determine anything about cost, insisting we wait until Madame arrived. The bedroom was very unmodernised. Step up shower form the 70's , a bed spread that looked as if it was also from the 70's. All in all the room was dowdy and had the feel of being from a Humphrey Bogart film set, or an old war film where the Brits are hidden away having escaped from Colditz!
The swimming pool whilst tiny was very nice and had been built into an old part of the building creating a modern pool in a nicely restored old setting. The B& B's such as Clos Corbier are far better.

Room Tip: The basis is, basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We traveled with another couple and booked this hotel just outside of Epernay and were most pleased with the location and facilities. Hosts were gracious and accomodating - we were able to park our car in a closed and secure place with access whenever we desired. We were offered a glass of champagne upon arrival - served in the gracious sitting room off the main entrance. We booked a superior room and would recommend that altho our glimpses of the lesser priced rooms appeared comfortable. We toured their cellar and greatly enjoyed the experience. Dined at a local restaurant the first night and in Epernay the second night after touring the village of Epernay. All in all a most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Choose "superior" room. Corner if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Before arriving in the Champagne region, i had struggled to work out where we wanted to stay so we decided to just drive through the region and ask at the tourist office. We were recommended this hotel and we were really pleased with the quality for the price. The town is very small and you would only use it as a base to discover the area. The hotel also has its own champagne and it is really beautiful! there is also a pool which was an unexpected extra.

Room Tip: we had a front room with a tiny balcony which we loved. very french!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollyannaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ay
1.7 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
467 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Prim'Hotel Bagatelle
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel Jeanson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel Jeanson

Address: 24 rue Jeanson, 51160 Ay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Ay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ay
Price Range: £102 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castel Jeanson 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened since 2004, the hotel Castel Jeanson welcomes you in an old house, which belonged to regional famous families. You can have peaceful times in the drawing room and lounge, with stained glasses light, and taste a glass of champagne.The private park of Vicomte de bona Dona is ideally located for a quiet walk.A previous pressingroom of 70 m2 is ideally located for a successful organisation of events , seminars or conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Castel Jeanson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Jeanson Épernay
Castel Jeanson Hotel Épernay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing