We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Bateliere
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Karibea Squash Hotel(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simon Hotel(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bayfront Hotel(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Le Lafayette Hotel(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel l'Imperatrice(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Carib Hotel(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel(Fort-de-France)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bakoua(Trois-Ilets)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Pagerie(Trois-Ilets)
View Hotel
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
34
165
169
110
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
165
169
110
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetbus stoppizza placesea viewwould stay here againcaribbean seacomfortable roomnice staywater pressuregreat foodthe lower levelhotel barspublic beachgorgeous viewscreole buffetshopping centrecommon areas are
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Birdlover? Stay at La Bataliere. At the terrace restaurant Bleu Marine the birds are flying and jumping around in the breakfast buffet, on the tables, on the chairs and on the floor. Birdshit is everywhere - watch out! The birds even attacked our dishes when we were seated. Unhygienic and totally unacceptable! On top the cutted fruit was covered with flies. In the evening the birds are more quiet, so we tried the restaurant again. None of the staff spoke English. Our rusty French resulted in 2 portions of potatoes - each! Stayed 3 nights. The room was OK, but not 4 stars. Missed tea/coffee-fascilities. Amazing sunset from the bar area. And the small, oval pool is beautiful with great view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have just returned from Martinique. I booked this hotel after looking at the online website. I took a double de luxe room at 580 euros for three nights.
On arrival we had to unload our own luggage. We were shown to our room. What a shock.
curtains hanging from the rails, large burn holes in the carpets,dirty bed linen, worn out furniture and dirty decoration in the room.Then the marble bathroom with mould on the walls chipped bath and paint peeling from the walls. The mini bar was non existent as were the promised robes..The balcony was also in need of paint and new furniture.The lift was out of action so it was stairs or laundry lift.We refused the room, were offered another. Surely it would be better but no even worse than the first. The owners must live in cloud cuckoo land I wouldn let a dog stay in the hotel. We left

Room Tip: Find another hotel we went to bakoau in tres islets
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonymag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I really like this hotel.
Indeed, it is old and needs some refurbishment (lift out of service is an opportunity to burn down calories) but the rooms are clean and large.
The atmosphere is charming and traditional Caribbean one.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The pool is excellent.
The breakfast is a disappointment (for example no local fresh fruit ?!?) but the view from the terrace is great.
There is an excellent great pizza take-away just outside the main gate, an average supermarket and a small slot machine casino'.

A entertaining cocktail beach bar (Lily's) is few steps down to the small beach for that unmissable Planteur Antillais cocktail.

This is the Tropics and the hotel meets all your stereotypes in full.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spaghetti_Madness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I do not recommend to anyone! 4 stars hotel...shame! The main elevator is broken, you use the official who is disaster. You have to go IN and OUT so fast that you do not be squeezed. Restaurant...horrible...you must be careful, because you can eat some insects. The hotel and all contents urgently need renovation. Everything is old, and pictures on the internet does not correspond to reality. Rooms are old, balcony railin chrashes and is dirty. But the price is fully equivalent to 4 star hotel. The only thing good is the reception staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TIMEA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Sir,
We thank you for your comments and sincerely regret that Hotel La Bateliere did not meet your expectations. We do not hide the fact that the hotel is in need of renovations and we actually were supposed to start renovating and reflagging this month of June 2012. For technical and administrative reasons our project had to be postponed by several months. The main elevator has been shut down and will be rebuilt in the coming weeks/months. The service elevator and its service areas are being set up for customer use as we speak (infrared door safety devices, lighting fixtures, painting and flooring works are underway as we speak). Regarding the food issue you mention, please note that if an insect fell into your food it could only have happened at the table because of the outside sea view location of our restaurant “Bleu Marine”. Regarding our current rates, they have been adjusted to three star rates and are far from being four stars as any price comparison will tell you. In any case we value your comments and will continue to do our best to satisfy our guests who choose our waterfront property because of its fabulous and central location. Kindest regards from the beautiful island of Martinique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

After sailing into Martinique, my spouse booked me a room at this hotel which somehow had been rated 4 stars by Expedia. This place is an absolute dump, which I will go into explicit detail in order to try to save someone a night of misery. The first warning sign should have been the elevator which was in need of repair, second the carpet in the corridors and rooms looked filthy, at least 20 years old and contributed to a very musty smell. The paint was peeling off the walls in the bath room, there was a persistent chirping sound coming from some electronic device located outside of but near the room, the beds had mattresses worse than the ones you would find in the cheapest U.S. hotel chain and I could hardly even sit on them let alone sleep. The decor overall was at least 20-30 years old and "weathered" would be a kind description. The safe located in the room was in operable, the phone system had so much static that I could not call to the states. The only thing positive were the ladies at the front desk who were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkH956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews