We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Domaine Saint Aubin
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Trinite
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“"Amazing hotel"”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

It was our 3. visit of Martinique, but first of this hotel. We spent in this charming hotel 12 days in January 2013. We had studio in lodge with wonderful great terasse and the wonderful sea view.The accommodation was perfect and very clean. Hotel was beautiful and guit. It was for us one of the best vacation. Mr. Rosemain and his wife were really amazing and always willing to help us in the case of our needs. We can recommended this hotel to all who want to spend their vacation in a charming quiet hotel with excelent owner. It was really lovely place. We would love to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LjCech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    90
    37
    31
    13
See reviews for
48
163
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we had a Cottage upstars with a beautiful terasse and the most beautiful sea view. The beds are good and it is very quiet except for the frog concert, the wind and the breaking waves of the sea. We had a very good night sleep. The room was very large, the bathroom and shower worked fine and looked quite new.
The location of the house is far away from everything, so you have to have a car. If you like that, it is your place to stay because from there you can explore the Island very well. There are no Restaurants near, you have to drive at least 15 Min to the next Restaurant. It night /with rain this can be a challenge because the streets (for example to Tartane) have no lights and are narrow. We preferred to be in the Hotel before dark. You can eat in the Restaurant of the Hotel but have to tell in the morning if you like to eat dinner. We had dinner once which was nice but fairly high priced with 40 Euro p.P. plus Drinks. the owner is exceptionally nice, speaks englisch and gave us a lot of useful tipps and was very helpful.
The house is beautiful but has seen better times, it has a bit of shabby charme and Needs paint and cleaning here and there. I am sorry to say that I thought that the cleaning of the room could be better, I am not sure if the maid cleaned the floor at all in the one week we were there. I tried not to look so much in the corners.. I guess you can't have it all in the carribbeans. All in all I would recommend the hotel as we spend a very Relaxing week there. But it is not a luxury Resort. Breakfast is very boring, the same every morning: Baguette, Croissant, fruit salat, Marmelade, coffee or tea. Everry Morning exactly the same.

Room Tip: take an upstairs Cottage with Terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburger_Deern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahors, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

What a pity this pretty house is under the guardianship of disenchanted hosts.I'm sure they once felt enthusiastic about having guests but we felt inconvenient from the outset.The hostess complained about having to do dinner ....which we had booked, so were made to feel guilty.
It was uninspired and @ €40.00 per person wine not included was grossly overpriced for what we were given.
Cats should not ever be in a dining room,ever.
Our room @€189.00 per night while not filthy had a stained bed cover,a stained blanket, lumpy pillows,curtains that did not shut properly(so we felt very exposed.) a cheap bathroom suite,and sliding door,small thin towels,a half used roll of toilet paper,dusty floors.
Dirty ashtrays on the terraces(not emptied once during our stay)and stained cushions on all the outside furniture aswell as dirty floors made one reluctant to sit and take in what are really lovely views. All told not comfortable and certainly not luxurious.
The WIFI did not work anywhere in the property.
Breakfast was the worst experience of all,awful tepid coffee,a glass of carton fruit juice which we were told to stir as it had separated(I would have expected the host to do that before bringing it to the table, at the very least) a portion of baguette and 3 mini overcooked oily danishes,a warm yogurt(along with the juice it had been sitting out in the heat rather than in a fridge)and most shocking of all a bowl of tinned fruit salad....(?) we drove through an island of groves of beautiful pineapples,bananas,and assorted tropical fruits which we would have expected to savour... We were appalled. The following morning I decided to ask for tea as the coffee was so bad...it arrived in a jug(?) my partner asked for an espresso(thinking it might be a better caffeine experience)and was told it would cost extra.....the penny dropped this substandard breakfast was not included in the price....a whopping €14.00 per person and the espresso was €4.00 extra..... Hilarious!!
A pretty house.......I suggest you drive by and have a look...then drive on!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a lovely, charming hotel! My fiance and I went there for our honeymoon in August 2012. It was very quiet, not a very busy tourist-time in Martinique. The hotel is lovely and Laurent, the owner, is AMAZING! He does EVERYTHING by the way - serves breakfast and dinner, cleans the grounds, cleans the pool et tout ca, and still manages to be soooo pleasant. He says he'll rest in the afterlife =) (he speaks both French and English). The main house is a beautiful old French colonial mansion, and the rooms are in a separate building behind the house. The whole compound is in the mountains overlooking the ocean. All the furniture is from the 19th century, and the food is amazing. The breakfast included tea, croissants, jams, jellies etc.... real Euro-style, and the dinners were exquisite three course meals which were soooo good and FANCY too. Rooms are basic, nothing fancy, no tv. There is internet. We rented a car to be able to get around and see the country - from the sugar cane and banana museums, to rainforests, ruins, mountains, and beaches. I'd love to visit here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZTriniTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent several days at Le Domaine St. Aubin in early August 2012. At first, we weren't sure if it was open for business because of some construction they currently have going on (the roads were slightly tore up and there were very few cars parked there when we arrived). Thankfully we parked and asked about staying. Of our 10 day trip in Martinique, the days spent at Le Domaine St. Aubin were probably the most peaceful and memorable. Granted I have lived in Alaska most of my life and have never been exposed to plantation-style homes before, I think Le Domaine St Aubin is probably among the most beautiful homes I've ever seen. It's difficult to know where to start with what we loved about our stay there because there were so many things. We had, at that point in our trip, encountered several people at other hotels and businesses that were downright rude about my inability to speak French perfectly (it's been 2-3 years since I've used it with regularity). It was refreshing that the owner was polite and patient with both of us (my boyfriend speaks no French). The dinners that we ate there were exquisite - the ambiance was excellent and the food was incredible. Despite the construction, we never were bothered by noise in our rooms or when lounging by the pool. The price for our stay was much lower than we would have expected (however it was low season). We were sad to leave when we checked out of Le Domaine St Aubin. Perhaps the only part of the stay that was not excellent was that the hairdryer had a large insect that was either living in it or had once been living in it - either way, on our first morning when I went to dry my hair it was an unpleasant surprise. It was nothing that would keep me from coming back to stay again. I'd recommend a stay there for those looking for a peaceful, quiet, scenic area. If you're looking for the bustle of a city, or the loud resort-like buzz of constant activities to choose from this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with an ocean view if at all possible - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We spent 7 days in the tranquil, beautiful colonial "demeure", Le Domaine St Aubin. It lives up to the description in its website. Breakfast in the terrace overlooking the country falling away to the magnificent bay was a daily treat. The table d'hôte dinner was excellent, the rooms comfortable and well serviced. Our host and hostess were charming and helpful but never intruded, true to their promise that this was like home for a week. A car is however indispensable as its calm and peace is balanced by its distance from the nearest town and facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had an extra night to spend on the island after chartering a boat for a week and wanted to see the atlantic ocean side. The owner, Laurent, was very helpful to us in planning as he was one of the few people I found whose english was good enough to really answer my questions. A gorgeous plantation setting overlooking the ocean and the Caravelle peninsula. We stayed in the Manor House in spacious rooms with plenty of character. Dinner was a gourmet event and the entire setting is peaceful and relaxing. We were disappointed that we were not staying at least a couple of more nights. They do not serve lunch and do not have a bar (except a pre dinner drink) or ability to buy drinks or snacks, so bring a cooler with drinks and snacks for in between breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Trinite
14.8 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,060 reviews
15.4 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
340 reviews
4.6 mi away
French Coco
French Coco
#1 of 3 in Tartane
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Diamant Beach
Diamant Beach
#1 of 4 in Le Diamant
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Bleu Marine
Hotel Villa Bleu Marine
#4 of 4 in La Trinite
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Residence Oceane Hotel
Residence Oceane Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Trinite
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine Saint Aubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Saint Aubin

Property: Le Domaine Saint Aubin
Address: Petite Riviere Salee, La Trinite 97220, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of La Trinite > La Trinite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Trinite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Domaine Saint Aubin 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Le Domaine Saint Aubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine Saint Aubin Martinique/La Trinite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing