We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hohe Gaisl
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Dolomiten(Dobbiaco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tre Cime(Dobbiaco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Tuscherhof(Braies)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Steiner(Braies)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laurin(Dobbiaco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
78
41
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
41
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomswimming poolwalksmountainsdolomitesdinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

All in all a very enjoyable place to stay. The rooms are spotless, we were given an (unsought) upgrade from standard to superior without any extra charge, the staff are very professional (if a little on the chilly side, but then this is more Austria than Italy!), the swimming pool and sauna are superb, the masseuse is highly skilled, and the scenery and setting of unparalleled beauty. The only reason I'm not giving it five stars is the food. You have to take half-board and the dinner, while posing as haute cuisine, isn't bad so much as boring. They tell you in the brochure that you can ask for a vegetarian or even "ethical" meal, but we certainly weren't ever asked our opinion... Still, all in all I can thoroughly recommend this place for a truly restful couple of days "far from the madding crowd" (especially after the daytrippers have all caught the last bus home). A couple of tips: Do try the barman's special bubbly and elderflower cocktail. And remember to print your confirmation e-mail and take it with you because the whole natural parl area is closed to normal traffic and you have to show your reservation at the bottom of the mountain. Otherwise they make you walk the SIX uphill kilometres to the hotel !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front. The view's amazing and the double glazing ensures things stay quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickonfotheringay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our family spent 4 nights here. We stayed in the Panorama suite and enjoyed the very spacious room with a stunning view of the mountains!
An old stylish place, but with everything (and more!) we could expect!
We spent the days hiking in the surrounding mountains after being served a big breakfast buffet. In the afternoon we would return for the lunch soup, before spending some time in the pool. Later we got ready for a the good 3-coarse dinner. PS: They also have a bar/cafe serving drinks and food outside. Right by the hotel is a shelter with a little playground for the kids.
Phone connection is (very) poor. Wifi in the reception area only. I guess that is good - time should be spent otherwise in a place like this :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutOfOffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

What a gem ! We were doing a 7 day trek and had been booked into the dormitory of the refuge next door which is absolutely abysmal. Fortunately, there was a room available here. It was delightful. The hotel is gorgeous, the service wonderful and the situation breathtaking.

The half-board dinner was excellent as was breakfast. The public areas, particularly the dining room, were very pleasant. The atmosphere is Austrian rather than Italian.

Although we were for only one night, we loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amenophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at Hotel Hohe Gaisl deep in the Dolomites where it feels more like Austria than Italy. The hotel is a friendly, family owned and run small hotel in the most perfect location surrounded by snow capped mountains, at an altitute of 6,500 feet. The hotel was spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained and the staff could not have been friendlier. The food was extremely good with a excellent salad bar to start the evening meal. The wine list was extensive, including many local wines, and very sensibly priced. One evening I had one of the best desserts I have ever tasted - white chocolate mousse with wild strawberries.

The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and attractively decorated in traditional alpine style. The ones at the front have stunning views across lush meadows to the mountains beyond and many have balconies.

There is a comfortable bar as well as several smaller cosy sitting areas, and also an outside terrace where you can have a drink or lunch. There are several family suites with sitting areas and kitchen facilities and there is also a children's play area.

Walkers of all abilities will love the wonderful walks of varying lengths that start from the hotel.

Other facilities include a sauna, steam room, solarium etc and there are plans to complete a swimming pool for 2007.

The summer season starts at the end of May and runs through to October. During the winter season guests can use the hotel's cross country skiing equipment. Downhill skiing is located nearby.

We highly recommend the hotel and look forward to returning again and again.

9  Thank happytourist44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews