We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds, peaceful & relaxing”
Review of Rancho Encantado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rancho Encantado
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds, peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

very beautiful grounds on lake bacalar. a few minutes outside of town so it is quiet and peaceful. the service was good although you may have some issues if you don't speak spanish. the rooms are very simple. they are nothing to write home about, but met all of our needs. the true beauty of the place is not what's inside the cabins but the grounds on which they were built. there are swings hanging from a tree dangling over the shallow part of the lake, there is a boardwalk extending into the lake with a gazebo full of hammocks at the end. the food and service were both good and the outdoor restaurant looks stunning at night time. i would stay here again next time i pass through bacalar. i do believe this is the nicest accommodations in bacalar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    170
    36
    11
    13
See reviews for
204
439
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What we enjoyed the most about the hotel was the service we received, it was outstanding. The food was excellent. The grounds were well kept. The location is wonderful for a getaway. We slept so soundly in the quiet surroundings. We woke to enjoy a beautiful sunrise. The reception was very helpful in arranging a four hour tour of the Laguna Bakalar which we would highly recommend. We plan to return to the hotel for a longer stay. Thoroughly enjoyed everything and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

last time i stayed here a year ago was perfect, now it was just more than that if possible. the romantic dinner is held just for one couple with the lagoon view just in the middle of the deck with all private service included: good music, excellent food, perfect service and the moon shining on top of us... will u ask for more? :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, Ont,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I come from an are of the world that has me access to probably the most lakes per square miles in all of North America so once I got to look around at Rancho Encantado, I got to realize that it's just a lake ....pretty much the same as what I get back home...a clear lake, with nice hues of blues but a lake is a lake...even the lake bottom is somewhat slimmy...I get those at home too and I get some with nicer bottoms...
On the positive side, it's warm, enjoyable to swim and the Rancho Encantado is a beautiful resort to stay in. The dock goes out in the water and they have this central area in the water with a roof and hammocks that is nice to relax in. They also have lots of lights at night, mostly for ambiance, little blue ones on the dock, not to bright, some around the trees, nice spotlights here and there etc... We had one of the rear cottages, they are extremely nice, the woodwork has lots of workmanship in it,the beds are very comfortable, the showers are adequate, their was a small fridge in our room and everything looks beautiful throughout.
The whole place runs on cement pathways, it's clean, the theme is troplical with lots of trees, foliage and singing birds.
The restaurant is very good, a bit pricey but very good. We ate there twice, once we went in town for a pizza and it was very good too.
There is very little to do around close by except Bacalar. Even spending a day at Bacalar is a stetch..it's not that big. One thing we like is go to the center square on sunday evening and watch the locals..the family life in rural mexico happens at center square and sunday evenings are even more interesting... We drove to Chetumal one day but it was Monday, all the shops alongside the ocean were closed and we weren't there for shopping so all and all, Chetumal was a bust.
Rancho Encantado is a great resort and they take very good care of you but since I don't go to Mexico for lakes and since there is a limited amount of things to do around Bacalar, I probably won't go back.
However, for those that want a prestine area to relax and enjoy some holiday time, it's a recommend all the way. The lake is beautiful, the staff is courteous and very forthcoming, the Rancho is a beautiful place all around...

Room Tip: We were hoping for a lake side hut but could only get a garden one and it was more than fine..we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucAlfred_Ont_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over christmas 2013 with our family, including small children. Staff were super friendly and acommodating. Food, especially the home made bread was great. The lagoon setting is just perfect. We went swimming, paddle surfing, kayaking, did yoga and just relaxed. The pirate museum in Bacalar is totally worth it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lsantibanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

+ Very nice place far away from tourists. It is a quiet place on the lake. Very nice for some kayak, a tour on the lake with abel (very nice guide) and reading a book in the hammacs. The place is clean and the rooms are very big. The food of the place is very good. The staff is nice and very helpful.
A nice place to stay and relax.

- Choose for a lake view room if you don't want a kitchen view.
There isn't a lot of attractions nor activities around the hotel.
I would not recommend the massage that aren't made by professionals with cheap ingredients.
The jacuzzi/pool is very badly maintained. The water has a very bad smell and the water has a green trouble aspect. Better to go for a swim in the lake.
You also hear the road from far away...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipessaLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in the suite. It was 4,788 pesos/400 USD total for both nights.

We checked in pretty easy. Pleasant service. They helped us with our bags to the room.

THE ROOM
We had splurged on the suite for our anniversary. It was pretty spacious and definitely clean. The room was actually quite nice. It had a living room and a king sized bed, a fan, AC, a nice, large shower. Our toilet wasn't working, but they fixed it as soon as we reported it. They gave us only 1 tiny bottle of shampoo for two people for two nights, which I found to be ridiculous. Thankfully, we had brought our own everything. The bed was very firm and so were the pillows. They made me wake up all achy. We had two closets, which were quite nice. Our room had a tiny, little private pool with an outdoor patio and a private hammock. We couldn't enjoy it because of the mosquitoes.

My husband was going to take a shower on one of the mornings, when he was startled by a GIANT spider in the corner of the shower. He smashed it with a shoe and left it there as evidence. It was huge/scary... like a medium sized, tarantula. We don't know how it got in. We were being paranoid over keeping the bugs outside! It is the jungle, though.

THE RESTAURANT/FOOD
We only ate there for breakfast, which was included in the room rate (which normally would cost $150 pesos/person). The orange juice was fresh squeezed orange juice. They served the basics in a buffet style: eggs, chilaquiles, beans, toast, fried plantains, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, etc). It was pretty tasty.

We considered eating there for the rest of the meals, but thought everything was WAAAAAY over priced compared to the prices in town. Both of us ate VERY well, in town, for the cost of half of one of their entrees.

DISAPPOINTMENT
Our room was over priced for what we got. We stayed at a nicer and bigger place for 3 nights for the cost of ONE night here at a much bigger city. It was a 3+ hour drive there.

It turns out that during our stay, there was some kind of weather issues that caused the water to lose its beautiful colors. All we saw was nasty green water. We were going to renew our vows there, based on all the beautiful pictures that we had seen of that place. It didn't happen. That is not the hotel's fault, I understand.

The mosquitoes there are a huge problem too. We would spray and respray ourselves with repellent and they would still eat us. We constantly had to kill them in our room, no matter how hard we worked to keep them out of there.

I couldn't wait to get out of there!

Our favorite part of the visit was the town of Bacalar and all the nice people we met. We also took a boat trip that was NOT part of the hotel for much cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't get the suite. Just get a simple room with AC. Make sure to check your room for possible o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizluvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacalar
2.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
78 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#8 of 9 in Bacalar
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
540 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 46 in Bacalar
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Encantado

Property: Rancho Encantado
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km. 24, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Encantado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a little more than half an hour away from the capital city of Chetumal and its airport, and about the same distance to the border with the country of Belize, Rancho Encantado is situated on the shores of the pristine waters of Laguna Bacalar. This area, in the southernmost part of the Yucatan Peninsula, is just at the point of developing as a tourist destination for the eco-minded traveler who seeks escape from the larger, often over-developed areas of the northern part of the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Rancho Encantado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Encantado Hotel Bacalar
Rancho Encantado Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing