We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! FULLY recommended!”
Review of Rancho Encantado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rancho Encantado
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place! FULLY recommended!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here 1 night in March 2014. Too bad we only stayed 1 night since the place is AMAZING!
The staff is VERY friendly and helpful! We fully recommend to take the boat tour with Captain Javier. He is so passionate about showing the amazing places this magical Lagoon has to offer.
The hotel is very nice & very well maintained! The gardens are also very nice & well kept! The room (room next to the Lagoon) was perfect! Right next to the water and with a front area to sunbathe. The room was perfectly cleaned and very spacious!
Dinner at the hotel’s restaurant was very good as well!
We loved staying at this hotel and fully recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ornella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    162
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
189
416
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

One day we (2 adults + 1 child) stayed there for lunch only. A few days after, we spent one night in a cabana with a lake view. After another few days we spent one night in another cabana with lake view and private access to the Laguna Bacalar. Then, we finally moved to a garden view cabana. We also saw rooms in a new building on the first floor. We're pretty experienced ;-)

Laguna Bacalar is perfect for relaxing - much better then Costa Maya. Less tourists, more clean, beautiful.

We would definitely stay there one more time if we were traveling via Bacalar again.

Pros:
- Very pleasant and relaxing place.
- Great location, clear water in the lake, lovely view.
- Comfortable rooms.
- Helpful service.
- Restaurant: wonderfully located with a lake view, good service and decent food. Very good coffee from the coffee machine (!).
- Good selection of breakfasts (included). Generous portions.
- A few child activities
- You can see animals, plants, flowers there.
- Place for playing a ball with children (two small gates).
- Children menu in the restaurant.
- Two swings just above the water level among mangrove trees.
- Very clean hotel area.
- Unlimited drinking water in a room.
- Fridge in the room.
- Enough space to sit down and have a rest inside and outside the room.

Cons:
- Weak cocktail drinks.
- Bathrooms in cabanas are OK a bit old.

Room Tip: Four rooms we have seen are worth staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Amazing hotel facing the lagoon of Bacalar. The rooms are big, comfortable, quiet and charming. We had one with a direct view on the Laguna.The restaurant with lagoon view is really good andbuffet-breakfast is delicious.
It's clearly the best hotel of our trip in Mexico.
We did the 3h boat tour, the staff found another couple to share the price. The boat tour is definitely WORTH it !!! The guide was amazing, the boat comfortable and it is the best way to discover all the beauty of Bacalar especially as since last year part of the lagoon lost its famous colour due to rain. You must see the south part of the Laguna where you can still observe the hundred shades of blue. The boat tour includes the cenotes, mangrove, snorkelling, bird watching. Do not hesitate and book it !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Titili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is our second trip to Bacalar. We were here in 2013 also. Once again we wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed at Pehaltun ( right next door to Rancho Encantado) for the second time and it was even better then the first.
We have tried a few different restaurants in Bacalar but Rancho Encantado BY FAR has the BEST SERVICE & FOOD. We had tried Aluxes ,Cenote Azul and a few others. Cenote Azuls food was terrible & the place was dirty. GO to Aluxes for the beautiful scenery but DO NOT GO for service & food. The service is Absolutley terrible & food mediocre or worse. We even tried to give Aluxes one more chance on our last night. We waited for the ONE waiter to finally give us our menu ( 20 mins) to find out they did not even have Mineral water ( bad sign of not stocking fresh produce). So we got up and left and went to where we should have went in the first Place (Rancho Encantado). We were so happy we did.
My spouse had the Fillet minion ( house special) I had the breaded grouper. We ordered the house salad with the home made house dressing....Ohhh my god it was delicious!! They also bring you homemade bread which is the best we have had in Mexico...we travel allot.
With every bite of the fillet minion my spouse emitted MMMMMM out of his mouth. That is very rare he does that at a restuarant. He gave me a taste and I had the same reaction. My Grouper fish was very delcious as well. Fore desert we had the generous portion of cheese cake with their homemade sauce ontop. It was wonderful!!
We were in Bacalar for 3 days & nights. Each night we ate at R.E. and each night we had spectacular service from our main waiter Jose Luis. The waiters at this resort/ restaurant are very professional and give each client extreme respect. Jose's service was exceptional . He could serve in any upscale restaurant in the world. He puts allot of other waiters to shame.
When Jose was busy he had a back up waiter named Marcelino who also gave exceptional service. Marcelino did not speak as much english as Jose but if he did not understand he would make a point of getting our needs interperated before going any further.
These two fellows are an asset to any work place. They have been trained very well and I hope they care their work ethics with them where ever go.
With this in mind please concider this wonder place. The food =12...The service =12 ....the scenery...12.... Better then 10!!
Once more thing. Our compliments to the chef. Everything on our plates were delicious from the fish & meat to the potatoes & veges. They were all done perfectly. Whoever the owner is please give your staff a large "pat on the back". I hope you pay them & treat them well to keep them with you. Congradulations on a wonder establishment.
P.S. - I am very honest with my reviews and they are not all as positive as this. This is truly a wonderful place to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snaggybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I almost didn't write a review for this place because there are already so many rave reviews on Trip Advisor, but it truly was magnificent. It is not in town but located on a perfect lagoon location not too far from Bacalar. My wife and I travel a lot and this may be the place where we have felt the most relaxed of any other in the entire world. The cabins were clean, had mosquito netting and no TV or phone which was a plus for us. The front desk person Isabel was great and really knows her job and we were able to arrange transportation to the Chetumal airport at a reasonable rate. The food is fabulous and the serving staff friendly and very helpful. Check it out we certainly plan on coming back again and maybe again and again...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

very beautiful grounds on lake bacalar. a few minutes outside of town so it is quiet and peaceful. the service was good although you may have some issues if you don't speak spanish. the rooms are very simple. they are nothing to write home about, but met all of our needs. the true beauty of the place is not what's inside the cabins but the grounds on which they were built. there are swings hanging from a tree dangling over the shallow part of the lake, there is a boardwalk extending into the lake with a gazebo full of hammocks at the end. the food and service were both good and the outdoor restaurant looks stunning at night time. i would stay here again next time i pass through bacalar. i do believe this is the nicest accommodations in bacalar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What we enjoyed the most about the hotel was the service we received, it was outstanding. The food was excellent. The grounds were well kept. The location is wonderful for a getaway. We slept so soundly in the quiet surroundings. We woke to enjoy a beautiful sunrise. The reception was very helpful in arranging a four hour tour of the Laguna Bakalar which we would highly recommend. We plan to return to the hotel for a longer stay. Thoroughly enjoyed everything and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
2.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#5 of 9 in Bacalar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#2 of 9 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 39 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Encantado

Property: Rancho Encantado
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km. 24, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Encantado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a little more than half an hour away from the capital city of Chetumal and its airport, and about the same distance to the border with the country of Belize, Rancho Encantado is situated on the shores of the pristine waters of Laguna Bacalar. This area, in the southernmost part of the Yucatan Peninsula, is just at the point of developing as a tourist destination for the eco-minded traveler who seeks escape from the larger, often over-developed areas of the northern part of the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rancho Encantado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Encantado Hotel Bacalar
Rancho Encantado Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing