We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive site”
Review of El Tajin

El Tajin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86.25*
and up
Tajin Ruins Day Trip and Vanilla Factory Experience
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papantla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These extensive ruins give a glimpse into Totonac society at its height.
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“impressive site”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have spent 4 days altogether at El Tajin and I think now we have seen all of it. Well maintained and obviously well loved by the local population, this is a lovely site to explore. The small museum is interesting and the voladores display outside the site several times a day is incredible!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sohappyincuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    84
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hot and muggy, but worth it”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I arrived via the Poza Rica to Martinez de la Torre bus and was let out at the gate. It was a few minutes walk to the actual entrance. I did not hire a guide but I did do my research beforehand, which is a good idea, because although there in signage in Spanish and some in English, it is better to have a guide or some previous knowledge. There is not an abundance of information available otherwise. Arrive as early as possible. The heat and humidity can get you if you are not used to it. The voladores (people flying around upside down from a central pole) are worth seeing. Again, know something about it ahead of time. They are widely imitated around Mexico but the ceremony here is longer and supposedly more authentic. ( I was disappointed watching the ceremony in Mexico City comparing it to what I had seen in El Tajin.) Many say the ceremony originated here. Check out the carvings in the ballcourts. They are quite interesting. There is a nice little museum which affords some relief from the heat at the entrance. Bring an umbrella and RUN for cover is the sky suddenly opens up in the afternoon. My umbrella was useless against the giant drops pelleting the pavement and bouncing back up onto my body. Afterwards, I went out the gate to the main road and caught a bus back to Poza Rica without much of a wait. I think they run every half hour or more frequently. I later visited nearby Papantla separately. It would be a good idea to do both at one time but perhaps a bit ambitious depending on what all you were interested in seeing in both places. A whirlwind tour of both in one day is easily accomplished.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A must see historic site”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Those who flock to Teotihuacan should give Tajin a thought. Its a stunning and huge site of a little understood pre-hispanic culture. The grounds contain several 'ball-courts' and the very impressive pyramid of the niches. The grounds are large and there is plenty to see. You can also usually catch a (admittedly touristic but impressive) performance of the 'danza de los voladores' that will provide you with added notions about the local culture and beliefs. The site is nowhere near as frequented by tourists and a bit of the beaten track in sweaty Northern Veracruz.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing place! great show by flying men”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful archaeological sight, amazing pyramids, make sure you have a good guide in order to appreciate it and stay for the 'flying men' show, well worth the 30 pesos to watch them too. The charge for the flying men show is additional to the entry fee to the pyramids.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“small ruins but big value”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The ruins can be seen in less than two hours. However the views warrent a longer visit. The museum is very good, and cool. There is a restaurant inside the complex, but the restaurants closer to the parking area have better value and choice. There are no end to the small gift shops and they will discount, but I found the first price to be fair.
Beware of people gathered at the far end of the ruins. They are just outside the boundry of the ruins. They are selling candy and drinks and I found them to be agressive and rude, but they never crossed the gate.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tajin also viewed

 

Been to El Tajin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing