We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, pretty basic”
Review of Hotel Central

Hotel Central
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Latacunga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hostel is surprisingly huge. The rooms are really spacious and relatively clean. We paid 10 bucks a night per person for a triple with private bathroom. I kind of wished we stayed at hostel tiana because breakfast isn't included here. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Overall it was a good place to stay and was relatively cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were directed to Hotel Central from another hostel that had mixed up our reservation. We got a double private room with ensuite bathroom for 18$/night. The room itself was simple and can be loud facing the busy street, but the service we received was excellent. My daughter was sick with a cold. They provided hot water for tea and endless rolls of tissue paper for blowing her nose all with a smile and great sincerity. What a lovely family! We really appreciated their kindness.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thuy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 3 occasions over the space of about 2 weeks. We we able to store our bags securely whilst we went off to hike the quilotoa loop. Very welcoming and helpful staff, especially the owner, she went out of her way to help us with bus times and other info. Cleaned room every day, good spacious rooms with comfy beds. Ok the hostel needs updating but then it wouldn't be $20 a night for a private room with bathroom. One small thing they could do to improve is replace the curtains with darker, thicker ones to block out the lights in the rooms facing the square as lights out there are very bright! Free use of a PC, wifi and breakfast if you like for $2.50pp - you can't go wrong! Room 104 was good with very hot shower. I cannot recommend this place enough - go check it out if you are heading to Latacunga! Thanks so much for a very pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigster5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everything you need is here and moved over after one expensive and sleepless noisy night in hostal tiana.

Ok the rooms are out of date and cleanliness isn't great but it's a bargain price and you can forgive this when the owner is so nice, stored our bags for free whilst we hiked the loop over four days, gave us help with bus timetables and the rooms are huge with tv and lovely views over square.

Hint, when we got back from the loop we got a room at the back. You lose the view but you also lose the super bright street lights lighting the room at night and noise from traffic in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed 1 night in a double room with private bathroom

+ it's cheap
+ centrally located
+ free luggage storage
+ nice view on plaza central
+ free and reliable wifi at all places

what could be improved in our view:
- rooms could be cleaner and better maintained
- refurbish the whole place and charge a few dollars more
- remove the ugly protection/carpet on the toilet box

our conclusion: okay and cheap place to stay if you do not find anything else.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I really want to write a nice review because the owners/family are super friendly and give good advice for the budget traveller. The hotel/room is basic. Al you need is there: good bed, wifi (in the room), warm water and tv in the room. Single room (2 beds) is $ 12 and free coffee/tea all day. breakfast is not included but you can buy it for $2,50. But it's an old hotel. A lot of street noise and not clean. The no outside to side or smoke

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are noisy
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I paid 12 $ for one person for a really nice room, nothing special, but bathroom, hot water, cable TV, good central location, friendly. I really don't think you can find anything better value than that in Latacunga. At the Rosim, they quoted 15 $. I don't even mention the ridiculous prices of Hostal Tiana.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latacunga
0.0 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 4 in Latacunga
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumipamba de las Rosas
Rumipamba de las Rosas
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Agustin Plaza
Hotel San Agustin Plaza
#4 of 4 in Latacunga
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 15 in Latacunga
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa
Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa
#3 of 4 in Quilotoa
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Sanchez de Orellana y Padre Salecedo, Latacunga 050150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Number of rooms: 309

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing