We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Hostal Tiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Tiana
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The staff is friendly and they have a cute cat that is going for sure in your room. Internet does not work at anytime, breakfast is simple but nice. The hostel has a great view on the last floor of Cotopaxi.
You can't have hot water everytime and sometimes you don't have any water.
They have an excellent "leaving pace", to meet other people. Kitchen is clean and you have everything you need to cook.
They have some tours a bit expensive (you can pay half price going by yourself).

Room Tip: take a private far from dormitories (they don't have sonoric isolation).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franciele_cwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent two nights at this hostel and it was nice enough if a little basic.

The staff do not speak a lot of English but try hard to assist where they can.

The breakfast was the usual bread and jam but was nice enough and it was good to have mugs to have the good coffee in.

We did a tour through the hostel to Lake Quilotoa which was good and very good value for money - I recommend it.

The room we were in was very big with two beds but the bathroom windows looked straight out onto the courtyard which was a bit odd when having a shower in the mornings although they were high up in the wall my Partner could look out at people - I am too small to!

It was centrally located and nice enough but as I say a bit basic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here before doing the Quilotoa Loop. The staff were very helpful providing me with a map for the trek and good advice. Unfortunately I didn't follow it all and had a bad fall on the trek near Insinlivi.
One of the staff in Llullu Llama hostel brought me to the hospital. A few days later a woman came into the hostel to collect me. She was from the sister hostel of Llullu Llama, hostel Tianna. This woman, Nora, looked after me like a mother for a week. She brought me three great,nutritious meals a day, got whatever medicine I needed, made sure I had whatever I needed and brought me back to the hospital to get check ups. When I had recovered I went to check out I was so sad to say goodbye as I felt so cared for by the staff..especially Nora.
The kindness with which I was treated was above and beyond anything I could have hoped for in the situation I was in. I and my family are eternally grateful to the staffs of both Lullu Llama and Hostel Tianna. I only stayed in Tianna and this staff create a lovely atmosphere in what is already a great hostel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
Thank diarmaidryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Based on our reports we decided to stay here for the Mama Negra festival. We recently stayed for 3 nights at this hostel and boy were we disappointed. Having paid for 3 nights when we arrived we were stuck. Can not imagine how this place got such high marks!

Here are our comments and you decide:

Pros
Close to the main square
People thatr work there are very friendly
Very close to a good Mexican restaurant

Cons
The place is filthy
The shared bathrooms were gross. When the place is full and the bathrooms are getting heavy use they should be cleaned 2-3 times per day. Floors were full of wet muddy foot prints, used toilet paper overflowing the trash cans.
One toilet leaked and there was lots of water on the floor, trash cans overflowed.
Hot water? What's that? We had to either shower before 7 am or after 9 pm and then it was just a crapshoot if we would be able to get hot water.
The rooms were never really cleaned. Tons of dirt on the window sills and floors.
Our room had a big problem with ants crawling all over.
The left luggage room was left unlocked and anyone could go in and go thru you bags. No control what so I ever here!

Lacking hot water and being just plain dirty I would say go spend your money somewhere else

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Having been highly recommended this hostel by multiple people, I was disappointed. My friend and I were greeted by greeters bored lady at the desk, who threw some information our way about the Quilotoa Loop. When we went back later to ask some questions, the responses were blunt, and no further information was offered. This resulted in us having to walk on very inadequate maps.

We were shown to our room, which was nice apart from the many ants in one corner.

The bathroom was dark and dingy, with water pouring down the wall whenever someone was showering upstairs.

Whilst the accommodation was adequate and there is little choice in Latacunga, I felt it necessary to lower expectations of this place a little.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Good hostal! It is possible to cook there, but the staff knows great places to eat. Breakfast is included and is really great.
My room was great, but some do not have windows (just on the patio). It can also be very cold, but the hostel gives additional blankets if needed.
The cleaness of the bathrooms is ok, but it could be better, and hot showers are not granted!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cancrelune84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great hostel at very good location with friendly staff. One can cook oneself and use fridge, and trips are being organized easily. Most often the very friendly staff will speak very little English, so visitors must try and speak Spanish. And the shower was hot in room 3, but not in room 1... :-( Find oneself a room with working shower, and speak some Spanish, and this place is highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Latacunga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 4 in Latacunga
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Sendero de Volcanes
Hostel Sendero de Volcanes
#2 of 9 in Latacunga
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Turista
La Posada del Turista
#10 of 16 in Latacunga
5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#2 of 16 in Latacunga
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rodelu
Hotel Rodelu
#1 of 16 in Latacunga
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tiana

Address: Luis. F. Vivero 1-31 y Sanchez de Orellana, Latacunga 050150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Latacunga
Price Range: £13 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal/cafe Tiana Home away from home in Latacunga, Ecuador! Budget accommodation for all travellers looking for a good bed to sleep in, a meeting place with other travellers and information about travelling in the area. Hostal/Cafe Tiana is located in the colonial centre of Latacunga, capital of the Cotopaxi province. From here you can easy visit the Cotopaxi National Park, Quilotoa Loop, Saquisili market and more! Make your reservation now to be sure of a bed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing